Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Western Mustangs - 2015-16 Season

Head Coach:Brian Cheng (5th season)
Other staff: Tim Doherty (Assistant Coach), Scott Shaddick (Assistant Coach), Rob Angione (Basketball Operations)
League:OUA West
Website:Team website link

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
14-60.7001426-128271.3 - 64.120-130.6062325-211970.5 - 64.221-140.6002463-224170.4 - 64.0

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Madison Horst Guard5-72Baden, ONWaterloo-Oxford District Secondary
5Jayme Muir Guard5-82Chatham, ONUrsuline College
6Amanda Cosentino Forward6-44Strathroy, ONStrathroy District Collegiate
7Julia Curran Forward6-11Waterloo, ONBluevale Collegiate
8Laura Graham Guard5-81Sudbury, ONLasalle Secondary
9Caroline Wolynski Guard5-95London, ONRegina Mundi College
10Sasha Samardzija Forward6-23Mississauga, ONGordon Graydon Memorial Secondary
11Alex Van Heeswyk Forward6-32Strathroy, ONHoly Cross Secondary
12Sam Loucks Guard5-82Barrie, ONEastview Secondary
13Victoria Heine Forward6-13London, ONJohn Paul II Secondary
14Mackenzie Puklicz Guard5-93London, ONSt. Thomas Aquinas Secondary
15Meredith McLeod Guard5-74Lindsay, ONLindsay Collegiate
22Sonia Mijatovic Guard5-111Burlington, ON 
23Cassidy Crowe Guard5-111Sarnia, ONNorthern Collegiate

Awards presented

Julia Curran OUA Rookie of the Year, OUA All-Rookie Team, CIS All-Rookie Team
Mackenzie Puklicz OUA First Team All-Star
Caroline Wolynski OUA Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Sep 29, 2015London, ONFanshawe CollegeWin73-56  
Sat Oct 3, 2015London, ONLaurentianWin67-56 Game at Medway High
Sun Oct 4, 2015London, ONTrine UniversityLoss65-66 Played at Regina Mundi College
Fri Oct 9, 2015London, ONSaint MarysLoss67-69  
Fri Oct 16, 2015London, ONUBC OkanaganLoss62-64  
Sun Oct 18, 2015Toronto, ONUNBWin72-61  
Fri Oct 23, 2015Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss67-72  
Sat Oct 24, 2015Abbotsford, BCFraser ValleyLoss55-64  
Sun Oct 25, 2015Vancouver, BCUBCWin78-63  
Fri Oct 30, 2015Toronto, ONYorkWin55-40  
Sat Oct 31, 2015London, ONAcadiaWin81-65  
Mon Dec 28, 2015Toronto, ONTorontoLoss71-76 UofT Holiday Invitational
Tue Dec 29, 2015Toronto, ONVictoriaLoss69-73 UofT Holiday Invitational
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Nov 4, 2015London, ONWaterlooWin86-53  
Sat Nov 7, 2015Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin80-61  
Fri Nov 13, 2015Windsor, ONWindsorWin64-60  
Fri Nov 20, 2015London, ONRyersonLoss70-84  
Sun Nov 22, 2015London, ONTorontoLoss87-91  
Fri Nov 27, 2015Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss43-67  
Sat Nov 28, 2015Ottawa, ONOttawaWin75-66  
Sat Jan 9, 2016Guelph, ONGuelphWin64-57  
Fri Jan 15, 2016London, ONAlgomaWin86-65  
Wed Jan 20, 2016St. Catharines, ONBrockWin66-62  
Sat Jan 23, 2016Hamilton, ONMcMasterWin68-63  
Wed Jan 27, 2016Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin76-66  
Sat Jan 30, 2016London, ONWilfrid LaurierWin77-60  
Fri Feb 5, 2016London, ONNipissingWin70-59  
Sat Feb 6, 2016London, ONLaurentianWin63-48  
Fri Feb 12, 2016Kingston, ONQueensLoss64-69  
Sat Feb 13, 2016Toronto, ONYorkWin93-47  
Sat Feb 20, 2016London, ONWindsorLoss64-76  
Fri Feb 26, 2016London, ONLakeheadLoss71-79  
Sat Feb 27, 2016London, ONAlgomaWin59-49  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Mar 2, 2016London, ONTorontoWin91-51StatsOUA Playoff Preliminary Round
Sat Mar 5, 2016Toronto, ONRyersonLoss64-83StatsOUA Quarterfinal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Mackenzie Puklicz1961532.434-10333.0124-30041.371-9971.728-741025.420264244035318.6
Caroline Wolynski2067733.911-4922.4104-23943.552-6678.820-61814.021896605027113.6
Madison Horst1959531.326-6142.685-17947.533-4082.521-59804.233436713622912.1
Julia Curran1739823.40-10.043-11138.730-4961.260-681287.5554344211166.8
Victoria Heine1732218.94-1040.047-10246.19-2339.139-671066.2301115691076.3
Cassidy Crowe78812.64-1428.616-3842.13-650.00-881.1103719395.6
Meredith McLeod2035317.619-6230.635-10633.016-1984.213-43562.81919261271055.2
Laura Graham2033216.610-4025.026-7634.218-2475.09-33422.1401624418804.0
Alex Van Heeswyk2030515.20-00.021-5736.87-1450.021-43643.23641496492.5
Sam Loucks10727.26-2326.18-2927.62-2100.05-9141.435802242.4
Amanda Cosentino141148.10-00.012-3336.41-812.513-10231.6342524251.8
Jayme Muir12453.84-850.05-1145.50-00.01-340.352711141.2
Sonia Mijatovic6284.70-40.01-1010.03-3100.00-220.32120250.8
Sasha Samardzija10565.60-00.03-1225.02-2100.02-12141.410140080.8
* Team Totals204000200.0118-37531.5530-130340.7247-35569.6232-49272436.231822632133225142571.2

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Meredith McLeod26 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto5 on Mar 5, 2016 vs Ryerson3 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto
Caroline Wolynski17 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto5 on Mar 5, 2016 vs Ryerson6 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto
Victoria Heine16 on Mar 5, 2016 vs Ryerson10 on Mar 5, 2016 vs Ryerson2 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto
Mackenzie Puklicz16 on Mar 5, 2016 vs Ryerson8 on Mar 5, 2016 vs Ryerson4 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto
Laura Graham13 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto3 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto2 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto
Julia Curran9 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto7 on Mar 5, 2016 vs Ryerson5 on Mar 5, 2016 vs Ryerson
Sam Loucks7 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto2 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto1 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto
Alex Van Heeswyk6 on Mar 5, 2016 vs Ryerson3 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto 
Cassidy Crowe2 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto3 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto1 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto
Sonia Mijatovic2 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto1 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto 
Amanda Cosentino 3 on Mar 2, 2016 vs Toronto 
Sasha Samardzija   


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com