Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Acadia Axemen - 1964-65 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Stu Aberdeen (5th season)
Other staff: Gene Chatterton (Assistant Coach), Dr. Jim Logue (Assistant Coach), Don Meuse (Manager), Mike Trask (Manager), Denis Perlin (Manager)
League:Maritime IAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
11-10.917723-48760.2 - 40.615-10.938969-71660.6 - 44.817-10.9441129-82462.7 - 45.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Damon Pouyat Guard5-11 New York, NYArchbishop Molloy High
 Don Smith Centre6-7  
 Pete Travers Forward6-4  
10Peter Pike Guard5-8 Nashau, NHNashau High
12Scott Lumsden Forward6-42Saugus, MA 
13Brian Heaney Guard6-21Rockaway Beach, NYBishop Laughlin High
15Ward White Forward1Fredericton, NB 
21Steve Konchalski Guard5-113Queens, NYArchbishop Molloy High
23Jim Clark Guard2St. Thomas, ON 
24Dave Rode Centre6-6 Coatesville, PAMarple Newtown High (Pennsylvania)
25Andy Kranack Forward6-54Pittsburgh, PA 

Awards presented

Brian Heaney CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Steve Konchalski MVP of CIAU Championship / Jack Donohue Trophy, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Andy Kranack Acadia Athenaeum Male Athlete of the Year

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Jul 1, 1964UnknownLoring AFBWin106-55  
Wed Jul 1, 1964UnknownStFXWin2-0 Victory over StFX
Tue Feb 9, 1965Kentville, NSRicker CollegeWin54-53 Date unk
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Jan 13, 1965Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sWin77-72Stats 
Thu Jan 14, 1965Kentville, NSUNBWin84-58 Date unk
Sat Jan 16, 1965Kentville, NSDalhousieWin96-59  
Thu Jan 28, 1965Sackville, NBMount AllisonWin78-41 Date unk
Thu Jan 28, 1965Charlottetown, PESaint DunstansWin70-31 Date unk
Fri Jan 29, 1965Fredericton, NBUNBWin2-0 Date unk
Sat Jan 30, 1965Kentville, NSStFXWin63-62 Date unk
Fri Feb 5, 1965Kentville, NSSaint DunstansWin2-0 Date unk
Sat Feb 6, 1965Kentville, NSSaint Mary'sWin2-0 Date unk
Wed Feb 17, 1965Halifax, NSDalhousieWin68-612OT 
Sat Feb 20, 1965Kentville, NSMount AllisonWin122-41Stats 
Thu Feb 25, 1965Antigonish, NSStFXLoss59-62  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Mar 3, 1965Halifax, NSStFXWin69-63 Maritime Championship
Fri Mar 12, 1965Halifax, NSCarletonWin83-79OT, StatsCIAU Semifinal
Sat Mar 13, 1965Halifax, NSWindsorWin92-87OT, StatsCIAU Championship

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Dave Rode52 on Feb 20, 1965 vs Mount Allison23 on Mar 13, 1965 vs Windsor 
Steve Konchalski41 on Mar 12, 1965 vs Carleton  
Brian Heaney16 on Mar 13, 1965 vs Windsor  
Peter Pike16 on Mar 13, 1965 vs Windsor  
Andy Kranack15 on Mar 12, 1965 vs Carleton  
Jim Clark   
Scott Lumsden   
Ward White   


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com