Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

British Columbia Thunderbirds - 1966-67 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Peter Mullins (5th season)
Other staff: Bryan Griffiths (Manager)
League:Western Canada IAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
11-30.786969-74969.2 - 53.512-40.7501125-88770.3 - 55.417-130.5672099-194770.0 - 64.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Jack Turpin Centre6-6  
12Vic Rahn 5-11 Abbotsford, BCAbbotsford Senior Secondary
20Reinhard Blumenscheit 6-3  
22Phil Langley Guard6-0  
24Neil Murray Guard6-3  
30Ian Dixon Guard6-1 North Vancouver, BC 
32Dave Rice Forward6-2  
34Morris Douglas Forward6-4  
42Bob Molinski Guard/Forward6-3190 North Vancouver, BCNorth Vancouver High
44Ken Kern 6-3  

Awards presented

Ian Dixon WCIAA First Team All-Star, MVP of CIAU Championship / Jack Donohue Trophy, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Phil Langley WCIAA Second Team All-Star
Bob Molinski CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Neil Murray WCIAA First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 4, 1966Vancouver, BCUBC AlumniLoss59-64  
Fri Nov 18, 1966Vancouver, BCVancouver White SpotsWin63-59  
Fri Nov 25, 1966Vancouver, BCAlberni AthleticsWin78-57 Totem Tournament
Sat Nov 26, 1966Vancouver, BCGonzagaLoss73-89 Totem Tournament
Fri Dec 2, 1966Vancouver, BCPortland StateLoss69-81  
Sat Dec 3, 1966Vancouver, BCPortland StateLoss71-93  
Mon Dec 5, 1966Vancouver, BCVictoria AustraliaLoss58-69  
Sat Dec 10, 1966Vancouver, BCVictoria MacsWin63-53  
Wed Dec 28, 1966Nampa, IDNorthwest NazareneLoss59-75 Holiday Invitational
Thu Dec 29, 1966Nampa, IDEastern OregonWin76-65 Holiday Invitational
Mon Jan 2, 1967Portland, ORCascade CollegeWin78-74  
Tue Jan 3, 1967Portland, ORPortland StateLoss80-101  
Fri Feb 10, 1967Olympia, WASt. Martin's CollegeLoss66-87  
Sat Feb 11, 1967Olympia, WASt. Martin's CollegeLoss81-93  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Jul 1, 1966UnknownManitobaWin2-0 For Manitoba conference record of 1-15
Fri Jul 1, 1966UnknownManitobaWin2-0 For Manitoba conference record of 1-15
Fri Jan 6, 1967Vancouver, BCAlbertaLoss77-852OT 
Sat Jan 7, 1967Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin72-59  
Fri Jan 13, 1967Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss72-73  
Sat Jan 14, 1967Calgary, ABCalgaryWin62-58  
Fri Jan 20, 1967Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss49-63  
Sat Jan 21, 1967Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin81-51  
Fri Jan 27, 1967Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin92-63  
Sat Jan 28, 1967Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin104-60  
Fri Feb 3, 1967Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin106-48  
Sat Feb 4, 1967Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin91-49  
Fri Feb 24, 1967Vancouver, BCCalgaryWin90-73  
Sat Feb 25, 1967Vancouver, BCCalgaryWin69-67  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 10, 1967Calgary, ABWaterloo LutheranWin74-51StatsCIAU Semifinal
Sat Mar 11, 1967Calgary, ABWindsorLoss82-87StatsCIAU Championship

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Ian Dixon29 on Mar 11, 1967 vs Windsor  
Bob Molinski20 on Mar 10, 1967 vs Waterloo Lutheran  
Neil Murray19 on Mar 11, 1967 vs Windsor  
Phil Langley10 on Mar 10, 1967 vs Waterloo Lutheran  
Morris Douglas8 on Mar 10, 1967 vs Waterloo Lutheran  
Dave Rice6 on Mar 11, 1967 vs Windsor  
Vic Rahn2 on Mar 11, 1967 vs Windsor  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com