Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Windsor Lancers - 1966-67 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Bob Samaras (5th season)
Other staff: Eddi Chittaro (Assistant Coach), Angelo Zaccheo (Manager)
League:OQAA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
9-10.900941-64594.1 - 64.515-10.9381487-105392.9 - 65.818-80.6922235-196486.0 - 75.5

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Peter Lapsley Guard  
14Angelo Mazzuchin Guard6-1190 Sudbury, ONSt. Charles College
20Garry Polano Forward6-1185  
24Martin Kwiatkowski Forward6-4205 Detroit, MI 
30Tom R. Elliott Forward6-3185  
32Doug Brown Guard5-11168 Windsor, ONJ.L. Forster Secondary
34Mike Taranczuk Forward6-4180 Hamilton, ON 
40Al Venette 6-2  
42Ed Lanktree Guard6-2 Windsor, ONAssumption College High
44Dave Service 6-2 Windsor, ONWalkerville Collegiate
50Bob Navetta Centre6-5195 Detroit, MINotre Dame High
52Andy Auch Forward6-4 Windsor, ONVincent Massey Secondary
54Dave McWha Centre6-8230  

Awards presented

Martin Kwiatkowski OUA First Team All-Star, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Angelo Mazzuchin CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Mike Taranczuk CIS Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Nov 26, 1966Windsor, ONWaterloo LutheranWin106-47  
Thu Dec 1, 1966Detroit, MIDetroit MercyLoss56-87  
Sat Dec 3, 1966Windsor, ONAdrian CollegeWin107-84  
Sat Dec 10, 1966Windsor, ONCalvin CollegeLoss92-109  
Thu Dec 15, 1966Ypsilanti, MIEastern MichiganLoss66-82  
Sat Dec 17, 1966Berea, OHBaldwin WallaceLoss57-100  
Tue Dec 27, 1966Chicago, ILLoyola UniversityLoss69-114  
Tue Jan 24, 1967Detroit, MIWayne StateWin89-70  
Fri Jan 27, 1967Rochester, MIOakland UniversityLoss66-107  
Tue Feb 7, 1967Buffalo, NYBuffaloLoss71-88  
Tue Feb 14, 1967Waterloo, ONWaterloo LutheranWin78-67  
Tue Feb 21, 1967Windsor, ONDetroit TechWin75-70  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Dec 6, 1966Guelph, ONGuelphWin106-44  
Wed Dec 7, 1966Hamilton, ONMcMasterWin91-47  
Sat Jan 14, 1967Windsor, ONGuelphWin110-35  
Wed Jan 18, 1967London, ONWesternWin89-76  
Sat Jan 21, 1967Windsor, ONWaterlooWin80-60Stats 
Sat Jan 28, 1967Toronto, ONTorontoLoss115-117OT 
Wed Feb 1, 1967Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin51-42Stats 
Sat Feb 4, 1967Windsor, ONWesternWin103-88  
Sat Feb 11, 1967Windsor, ONMcMasterWin103-55  
Sat Feb 18, 1967Windsor, ONTorontoWin93-81  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 24, 1967Windsor, ONTorontoWin108-80 OQAA Semifinal
Sat Feb 25, 1967Windsor, ONWesternWin92-80 OQAA Championship
Thu Mar 9, 1967Edmonton, ABUNBWin75-52StatsCIAU Semifinal
Sat Mar 11, 1967Calgary, ABUBCWin87-82StatsCIAU Championship

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Martin Kwiatkowski22 on Mar 11, 1967 vs UBC  
Angelo Mazzuchin21 on Mar 11, 1967 vs UBC  
Bob Navetta19 on Mar 9, 1967 vs UNB  
Mike Taranczuk11 on Mar 11, 1967 vs UBC11 on Mar 11, 1967 vs UBC 
Doug Brown10 on Mar 9, 1967 vs UNB  
Ed Lanktree6 on Mar 11, 1967 vs UBC  
Andy Auch4 on Mar 11, 1967 vs UBC  
Tom R. Elliott2 on Mar 9, 1967 vs UNB  
Al Venette2 on Mar 9, 1967 vs UNB  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com