Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Western Mustangs - 1967-68 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Jerry Gonser (4th season)
Other staff: Russ Holmberg (Manager), John Lewko (Trainer)
League:OQAA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
8-20.800849-74484.9 - 74.410-40.7141135-101081.1 - 72.110-50.6671176-111078.4 - 74.0

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
22Mac Bury   
23Dan Ross   
24Ron Zanin  Windsor, ONHon. W.C. Kennedy Collegiate
31Tom Sills   
32Greg Poole  London, ONSir Adam Beck Collegiate
35Dave McGuffin Guard  
41Doug Morton  London, ONSir Adam Beck Collegiate
42Bill Adams   
43Bob LaRose Forward6-4215  
44Marnix Heersink   

Awards presented

Marnix Heersink E.C. Lebel Plaque (Outstanding Player in OUA Playoffs)

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Jan 10, 1968Waterloo, ONWaterloo LutheranUnknown  
Wed Jan 17, 1968UnknownEastern MichiganLoss41-100  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Jul 1, 1967Hamilton, ONMcMasterWin110-85 For McMaster conference record of 3-7
Fri Dec 1, 1967London, ONGuelphWin88-67  
Fri Dec 15, 1967London, ONTorontoLoss89-90OT 
Sat Jan 13, 1968Toronto, ONTorontoWin91-87  
Fri Jan 26, 1968London, ONMcMasterWin80-69  
Wed Jan 31, 1968Guelph, ONGuelphWin74-55  
Sat Feb 3, 1968Windsor, ONWindsorLoss88-105  
Fri Feb 9, 1968Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin53-48Stats 
Fri Feb 16, 1968London, ONWaterlooWin79-66Stats 
Sat Feb 24, 1968London, ONWindsorWin97-72  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 1, 1968London, ONWaterlooWin75-57StatsOQAA Semifinal
Sat Mar 2, 1968London, ONWindsorWin84-62 OQAA Championship
Thu Mar 7, 1968Antigonish, NSSaint Mary'sLoss74-78StatsCIAU Semifinal
Fri Mar 8, 1968Antigonish, NSCarletonLoss53-69StatsCIAU Consolation Semifinal

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Dave McGuffin14 on Mar 7, 1968 vs Saint Mary's  
Mac Bury13 on Mar 7, 1968 vs Saint Mary's  
Bob LaRose13 on Mar 7, 1968 vs Saint Mary's  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com