U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

British Columbia Thunderbirds - 1969-70 Season

Head Coach:Peter Mullins (8th season)
League:Western Canada IAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
16-01.0001485-98192.8 - 61.323-01.0002128-146192.5 - 63.528-40.8752867-215789.6 - 67.4

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Alex Brayden Guard  
 Stan Callegari Guard6-1 Vancouver, BC 
 Jack Hoy Forward6-2 Delbrook High
 Joe Kainer Guard  
 Rod Matheson Guard/Forward6-1  
 John Mills Forward6-3 (Vancouver City College)
 Bill Ruby Guard  
13Bob Molinski Guard/Forward6-3  
20John Hawkins   
21Derek Sankey Forward  
23Ron Thorsen Guard6-1 Prince George, BCPrince George High
24Terry Mackay Centre6-8  

Awards presented

Alex Brayden WCIAA Second Team All-Star
Terry Mackay WCIAA Second Team All-Star
Bob Molinski WCIAA First Team All-Star, Second Team All-Canadian
Derek Sankey CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Ron Thorsen WCIAA First Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian, MVP of CIAU Championship / Jack Donohue Trophy, CIS Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 7, 1969Vancouver, BCUBC AlumniWin88-68  
Sat Dec 27, 1969Vancouver, BCSt. Martin's CollegeWin98-81  
Sun Dec 28, 1969Vancouver, BCSt. Martin's CollegeWin77-69  
Tue Dec 30, 1969Vancouver, BCWestern WashingtonWin83-73  
Fri Jan 2, 1970Seattle, WASeattle PacificLoss61-77  
Sat Jan 3, 1970Seattle, WASeattle PacificLoss65-72  
Mon Jan 5, 1970Portland, ORPortland StateLoss88-111  
Tue Jan 6, 1970Portland, ORPortland StateLoss76-78  
Sat Feb 14, 1970Vancouver, BCSimon FraserWin103-67 Buchanan Cup
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 21, 1969Vancouver, BCManitobaWin59-48  
Sat Nov 22, 1969Vancouver, BCWinnipegWin107-70  
Fri Nov 28, 1969Regina, SKReginaWin91-54  
Sat Nov 29, 1969Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin110-66  
Fri Jan 9, 1970Vancouver, BCCalgaryWin109-73  
Sat Jan 10, 1970Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin92-57  
Fri Jan 16, 1970Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin72-65  
Sat Jan 17, 1970Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin78-71  
Fri Jan 23, 1970Calgary, ABCalgaryWin87-60  
Sat Jan 24, 1970Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin91-63  
Mon Jan 26, 1970Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin112-49  
Fri Jan 30, 1970Vancouver, BCReginaWin94-54  
Sat Jan 31, 1970Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin109-70  
Mon Feb 2, 1970Victoria, BCVictoriaWin76-69  
Sat Feb 7, 1970Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin107-47  
Thu Feb 12, 1970Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin91-65  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 20, 1970Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin96-74 WCIAA Semifinal (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 21, 1970Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin97-56 WCIAA Semifinal (Best of 3)
Fri Feb 27, 1970Vancouver, BCManitobaWin82-74OTWCIAA Final (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 28, 1970Vancouver, BCManitobaWin91-68 WCIAA Final (Best of 3)
Thu Mar 12, 1970Hamilton, ONSaint MarysWin74-55 CIAU Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 13, 1970Hamilton, ONLaurentianWin107-78 CIAU Semifinal
Sat Mar 14, 1970Hamilton, ONMcMasterWin96-75StatsCIAU Championship

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Derek Sankey30 on Mar 14, 1970 vs McMaster  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com