U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

British Columbia Thunderbirds - 1970-71 Season

Head Coach:Peter Mullins (9th season)
League:Western Canada IAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
15-30.8331334-97974.1 - 54.417-50.7731547-118470.3 - 53.821-60.7781939-161271.8 - 59.7

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Stan Callegari Guard6-1 Vancouver, BC 
 Bob Dickson Guard6-0  
 Peter Herd Centre6-6  
 Jack Hoy Forward6-2 Delbrook High
 Rod Matheson Guard/Forward6-1  
 Derek Sankey Forward  
11Darryl Gjernes Forward6-4  
23Ron Thorsen Guard6-1 Prince George, BCPrince George High
24Terry Mackay Centre6-8  
25John Mills Forward6-3 (Vancouver City College)

Awards presented

Terry Mackay WCIAA Second Team All-Star
Derek Sankey WCIAA First Team All-Star
Ron Thorsen WCIAA First Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 6, 1970Vancouver, BCUBC AlumniWin74-68  
Tue Dec 29, 1970Vancouver, BCPortland StateWin94-92  
Wed Dec 30, 1970Vancouver, BCPortland StateWin87-86  
Sat Jan 16, 1971Portland, ORPortland StateLoss71-120  
Sat Feb 13, 1971Vancouver, BCSimon FraserWin66-62 Buchanan Cup
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Jul 1, 1970Vancouver, BCCalgaryWin2-0 For UBC conference record of 15-3
Wed Jul 1, 1970Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin2-0 For UBC conference record of 15-3
Fri Nov 20, 1970Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin85-72  
Sat Nov 21, 1970Brandon, MBBrandonWin83-64  
Mon Nov 23, 1970Regina, SKReginaWin77-42  
Sat Nov 28, 1970Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin2-0 For UBC conference record of 15-3
Sat Dec 5, 1970Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin95-67  
Fri Jan 8, 1971Vancouver, BCWinnipegWin97-62  
Sat Jan 9, 1971Vancouver, BCManitobaLoss76-78OT 
Mon Jan 11, 1971Victoria, BCVictoriaWin92-72  
Fri Jan 22, 1971Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss70-82  
Sat Jan 23, 1971Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin79-61  
Fri Jan 29, 1971Vancouver, BCBrandonWin104-59  
Sat Jan 30, 1971Vancouver, BCReginaWin98-34  
Sun Jan 31, 1971Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin111-71  
Fri Feb 5, 1971Calgary, ABCalgaryWin74-59  
Sat Feb 6, 1971Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin122-89  
Mon Feb 8, 1971Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss65-67  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 19, 1971Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin82-67 WCIAA Semifinals (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 20, 1971Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin65-61 WCIAA Semifinals (Best of 3)
Fri Feb 26, 1971Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss66-75 WCIAA Finals (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 27, 1971Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss0-2 WCIAA Finals (Best of 3)