Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Winnipeg Wesmen - 1970-71 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Vic Pruden (3rd season)
Other staff: Bruce Enns (Assistant Coach), Grant Bjornson (Student Manager), Darryl Barker (Assistant Manager)
League:Western Canada IAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
10-80.5561257-133569.8 - 74.211-120.4781595-172869.3 - 75.111-120.4781595-172869.3 - 75.1

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
22Barry King Guard5-9 Delaware, OHRutherford B. Hayes High
24Craig Parker Guard  
30Terry Sellen Guard  
32Bob Allen Forward  
34Rick Stefanyshyn Forward  
40Walter Barg   
41Joe Dudar Centre6-3  
42Willie Reimer   
43Ed Bitz Centre  
45Bruce Peters Forward  
50Wayne Bradshaw Forward6-2 Winnipeg, MBDaniel McIntyre Collegiate
54Ron Unruh Forward  

Awards presented

Barry King WCIAA Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Mon Dec 28, 1970Winnipeg, MBWaterlooWin81-75 Golden Boy Tournament
Tue Dec 29, 1970Winnipeg, MBLoyola of MontrealLoss64-71 Golden Boy Tournament
Wed Dec 30, 1970Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss69-90 Golden Boy Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 20, 1970Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin78-77  
Sat Nov 21, 1970Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss58-73  
Mon Nov 23, 1970Calgary, ABCalgaryWin76-70  
Fri Nov 27, 1970Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss64-89  
Fri Dec 4, 1970Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin91-84  
Sat Dec 5, 1970Winnipeg, MBReginaWin63-53  
Fri Jan 8, 1971Vancouver, BCUBCLoss62-97  
Sat Jan 9, 1971Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss68-86  
Sat Jan 16, 1971Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin80-70  
Fri Jan 22, 1971Winnipeg, MBVictoriaWin70-68  
Sat Jan 23, 1971Winnipeg, MBUBCLoss61-79  
Fri Jan 29, 1971Winnipeg, MBAlbertaLoss69-76  
Sat Jan 30, 1971Winnipeg, MBCalgaryWin56-49  
Mon Feb 1, 1971Winnipeg, MBLethbridgeWin87-56  
Fri Feb 5, 1971Regina, SKReginaWin63-59  
Sat Feb 6, 1971Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss73-76  
Mon Feb 8, 1971Brandon, MBBrandonWin80-78  
Fri Feb 12, 1971Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss58-95  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 19, 1971Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss53-67 WCIAA Semifinals (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 20, 1971Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss71-90 WCIAA Semifinals (Best of 3)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Barry King18    113-00.064-9766.0        29016.1
* Team Totals18    113-00.064-9766.0        29016.1


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com