Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Calgary Dinosaurs - 1971-72 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Bob (Skip) Morgan (2nd season)
League:WCIAA Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
7-90.4381039-103264.9 - 64.57-110.3891171-120565.1 - 66.97-110.3891171-120565.1 - 66.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Larry Bates   
 Bud Coupland   
 Gary Elliot Guard6-0  
 Brent Farch Centre6-8 Calgary, ABCrescent Heights High
 Bob Herdman Forward Calgary, ABCrescent Heights High
 Mike Horner Guard Calgary, ABBishop Grandin High
 Bill Lathrop Guard Calgary, ABWestern Canada High
 Jim Lathrop Forward6-5 Calgary, ABWestern Canada High
 Warren Meyer   
 Ian Miller   
 John Powell Guard5-11 Hanna, AB 
 Danny Quance Centre6-8  
 Keith Recsky   
 Jim Watson  Calgary, ABHenry Wise Wood High

Awards presented

Jim Lathrop WCIAA Canada West Second Team All-Star
Danny Quance WCIAA Canada West First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Nov 6, 1971Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanLoss64-90 Tri-University Classic
Fri Dec 3, 1971Calgary, ABMalmstrom Air ForceUnknown  
Sat Dec 4, 1971Calgary, ABMalmstrom Air ForceUnknown  
Mon Dec 6, 1971Calgary, ABLakeheadLoss68-83  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 12, 1971Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss45-66  
Sat Nov 13, 1971Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss49-62  
Fri Nov 19, 1971Calgary, ABAlbertaLoss59-65  
Sat Nov 20, 1971Calgary, ABAlbertaWin57-53  
Fri Nov 26, 1971Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin78-60  
Sat Nov 27, 1971Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss56-66  
Fri Jan 7, 1972Calgary, ABVictoriaWin59-56  
Sat Jan 8, 1972Calgary, ABVictoriaLoss57-62  
Fri Jan 14, 1972Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin76-73  
Sat Jan 15, 1972Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss51-57  
Thu Jan 20, 1972Calgary, ABLethbridgeWin72-52  
Fri Jan 21, 1972Calgary, ABLethbridgeWin105-42  
Fri Feb 4, 1972Calgary, ABUBCLoss71-81  
Sat Feb 5, 1972Calgary, ABUBCWin67-59  
Fri Feb 11, 1972Vancouver, BCUBCLoss65-90  
Sat Feb 12, 1972Vancouver, BCUBCLoss72-88  

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Danny Quance16    87-21340.833-5955.971-15122213.954 66  20712.9
John Powell16    71-18937.630-4665.217-22392.442 47  17210.8
Gary Elliot14    55-14737.433-4082.512-27392.834 39  14310.2
Jim Lathrop16    59-16735.334-5660.752-771298.158 40  1529.5
Bill Lathrop16    46-12237.718-2766.77-12191.239 64  1106.9
Brent Farch16    36-10036.037-4582.243-701137.125 29  1096.8
Warren Meyer15    25-6141.03-3100.09-14231.510 10  533.5
Larry Bates4    6-875.02-450.00-882.03 4  143.5
Keith Recsky14    14-3243.81-425.05-9141.017 8  292.1
Bob Herdman16    14-3441.24-757.111-11221.414 11  322.0
Bud Coupland5    4-1330.8  0-330.62 3  81.6
Mike Horner14    3-1225.03-3100.01-230.25 7  90.6
Ian Miller5    0-110.02-540.00-440.83 5  20.4
Jim Watson3        0-110.3     00.0
* Team Totals16    420-110937.9200-29966.9228-41163939.9306 333  104065.0


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com