Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Women's site

British Columbia Thunderbirds - 1971-72 Season

Head Coach:Peter Mullins (10th season)
Other staff: Dr. Derek Swain (Manager), Jack Hoy (Trainer), Al Larson (Trainer)
League:WCIAA Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
13-30.8121315-102782.2 - 64.221-50.8082199-177484.6 - 68.222-100.6882620-226681.9 - 70.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Tom Allison   
 Mike Ireland Forward (Simon Fraser)
 Doug Kineer 6-6 Winston Churchill (Vancouver City College)
 Pat Lee Forward6-3 Mission, BCTrinity Junior College
4Doug Kripps Guard6-2  
13Bob Dickson Guard6-0165 Burnaby, BC 
14Rod Matheson Guard6-1170 Burnaby, BC 
15Darryl Gjernes Forward6-4200 Vancouver, BC 
20Peter Herd Centre6-6175 Richmond, BC 
21Stan Callegari Guard6-11653Vancouver, BC 
22Jack Hoy Forward6-2185 Edmonton, ABDelbrook High
23Ron Thorsen Guard6-11754Prince George, BCPrince George High
24Bob Philips Forward6-4 (Vancouver City College)
25John Mills Forward6-32003Vancouver, BCVancouver City College

Awards presented

Stan Callegari WCIAA Canada West Second Team All-Star
John Mills WCIAA Canada West Second Team All-Star
Ron Thorsen Bobby Gaul Memorial Trophy - UBC Graduating Male Athlete, WCIAA Canada West First Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 5, 1971Vancouver, BCUBC AlumniWin79-53  
Sat Dec 4, 1971Vancouver, BCSimon FraserLoss64-71 Totem Tournament
Mon Dec 27, 1971Edmonton, ABMontana TechLoss86-89 Klondike Classic
Tue Dec 28, 1971Edmonton, ABLaurentianWin96-76 Klondike Classic
Wed Dec 29, 1971Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin73-69 Klondike Classic
Thu Dec 30, 1971Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss85-91 Klondike Classic
Fri Dec 31, 1971UnknownPortland StateLoss64-104  
Fri Dec 31, 1971UnknownPortland StateLoss60-94  
Mon Jan 17, 1972Vancouver, BCSimon FraserLoss68-81 Buchanan Trophy Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 12, 1971Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin94-63  
Sat Nov 13, 1971Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin99-75  
Thu Nov 18, 1971Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin77-56  
Fri Nov 19, 1971Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin93-55  
Sat Nov 20, 1971Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin115-37  
Fri Dec 3, 1971Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin88-64 Totem Tournament
Fri Jan 7, 1972Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss64-78  
Sat Jan 8, 1972Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss69-72  
Fri Jan 28, 1972Victoria, BCVictoriaWin75-63  
Sat Jan 29, 1972Victoria, BCVictoriaWin71-70  
Fri Feb 4, 1972Calgary, ABCalgaryWin81-71  
Sat Feb 5, 1972Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss59-67  
Wed Feb 9, 1972Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin67-62 Rescheduled from Jan 21
Thu Feb 10, 1972Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin85-57 Rescheduled from Jan 22
Fri Feb 11, 1972Vancouver, BCCalgaryWin90-65  
Sat Feb 12, 1972Vancouver, BCCalgaryWin88-72  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 18, 1972Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin79-51 WCIAA Western Final (best of 3)
Sat Feb 19, 1972Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin74-59 WCIAA Western Final (best of 3)
Fri Feb 25, 1972Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanLoss71-74 WCIAA Final (best of 3)
Sat Feb 26, 1972Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin105-88 WCIAA Final (best of 3)
Sun Feb 27, 1972Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin97-75 WCIAA Final (best of 3)
Thu Mar 2, 1972Vancouver, BCWindsorWin117-84StatsCIAU Semifinal
Sat Mar 4, 1972Vancouver, BCAcadiaWin87-80StatsCIAU Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Ron Thorsen16    123-00.054-00.0        30018.8
Stan Callegari16    98-00.018-00.0        21413.4
John Mills16    82-00.047-00.0        21113.2
* Team Totals16    303-00.0119-00.0        72545.3

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Ron Thorsen43 on Mar 2, 1972 vs Windsor  
John Mills27 on Mar 4, 1972 vs Acadia14 on Mar 4, 1972 vs Acadia 
Stan Callegari22 on Mar 4, 1972 vs Acadia  
Darryl Gjernes13 on Mar 4, 1972 vs Acadia  
Jack Hoy12 on Mar 2, 1972 vs Windsor  
Bob Dickson10 on Mar 2, 1972 vs Windsor  
Bob Philips10 on Mar 2, 1972 vs Windsor  
Peter Herd6 on Mar 2, 1972 vs Windsor  
Rod Matheson6 on Mar 2, 1972 vs Windsor  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com