Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Men's site

Victoria Vikettes - 1972-73 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Mike Gallo (2nd season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCWIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
16-40.800868-63543.4 - 31.816-40.800868-63543.4 - 31.816-40.800868-63543.4 - 31.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Laury Atkinson Grimston Guard  
12Diana Brozek   
21Lorna McHattie Forward2 
 Cathy Auburn Forward  
 Donna Blackstock Guard  
 Lynda Braun   
 Mary Clarkson   
 Rita Clarkson   
 Bev Draper   
 Lydia Gledhill   
 Rose Jossul   
 June Piggott  Salmon Arm, BC 
 Edna Ritchie Centre Campbell River, BC 

Game results for the season

--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 17, 1972Victoria, BCAlbertaWin46-26Stats 
Sat Nov 18, 1972Victoria, BCAlbertaWin34-19Stats 
Thu Nov 23, 1972Vancouver, BCUBCLoss40-53Stats 
Fri Nov 24, 1972Vancouver, BCUBCLoss25-49Stats 
Fri Dec 1, 1972Victoria, BCLethbridgeWin41-19Stats 
Sat Dec 2, 1972Victoria, BCLethbridgeWin62-14  
Fri Jan 5, 1973Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin48-27Stats 
Sat Jan 6, 1973Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin50-27Stats 
Fri Jan 19, 1973Calgary, ABCalgaryWin69-40  
Sat Jan 20, 1973Calgary, ABCalgaryWin61-46  
Fri Jan 26, 1973Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin42-40OT, Stats 
Sat Jan 27, 1973Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin54-46  
Fri Feb 2, 1973Victoria, BCSaskatchewanWin48-43Stats 
Fri Feb 2, 1973Victoria, BCSaskatchewanWin1-0 Four point game Feb 2
Sat Feb 3, 1973Victoria, BCSaskatchewanLoss45-47Stats 
Sat Feb 3, 1973Victoria, BCSaskatchewanWin1-0 Four point game Feb 3
Fri Feb 9, 1973Victoria, BCUBCLoss32-34Stats 
Sat Feb 10, 1973Victoria, BCUBCWin47-40Stats 
Fri Feb 16, 1973Victoria, BCCalgaryWin65-33Stats 
Sat Feb 17, 1973Victoria, BCCalgaryWin57-32Stats 

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Lorna McHattie18                22612.6
Diana Brozek18                19310.7
* Team Totals18                41923.3

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Lorna McHattie25 on Jan 6, 1973 vs Alberta  
Diana Brozek16 on Nov 17, 1972 vs Alberta  
Edna Ritchie12 on Feb 10, 1973 vs UBC  
Laury Atkinson Grimston10 on Feb 2, 1973 vs Saskatchewan  
Rose Jossul8 on Nov 18, 1972 vs Alberta  
June Piggott8 on Feb 2, 1973 vs Saskatchewan  
Mary Clarkson6 on Feb 16, 1973 vs Calgary  
Donna Blackstock5 on Feb 16, 1973 vs Calgary  
Cathy Auburn4 on Jan 6, 1973 vs Alberta  
Lynda Braun4 on Dec 1, 1972 vs Lethbridge  
Lydia Gledhill4 on Jan 5, 1973 vs Alberta  
Rita Clarkson3 on Feb 10, 1973 vs UBC  
Bev Draper2 on Feb 16, 1973 vs Calgary  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com