U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

British Columbia Thunderbirds - 1973-74 Season

Head Coach:Peter Mullins (12th season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
13-70.6501388-128969.4 - 64.513-90.5911439-135065.4 - 61.419-110.6331919-172764.0 - 57.6

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Randy Allan   
 David Craig Guard  
 Bob Dickson Guard6-0  
 Darryl Gjernes Forward6-4  
 Greg Hoskins   
 Blake Iverson Guard (Vancouver City College)
 Frank Janowicz Guard  
 Norm Knowles   
 Mike McKay Centre6-11230 (East Texas College)
 Jim Patterson   
 Ralph Turner Forward  

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 2, 1973Vancouver, BCUBC AlumniWin86-76  
Fri Nov 9, 1973Vancouver, BCVictoria ScorpionsWin15-0 Win by 15, score unknown
Sat Nov 10, 1973Vancouver, BCVictoria ScorpionsWin87-79  
Fri Nov 16, 1973Vancouver, BCRichmond RamblersWin92-80  
Fri Nov 23, 1973Vancouver, BCNorth Shore MountaineersWin98-57  
Sat Nov 24, 1973Vancouver, BCBurnaby BroncosWin102-81  
Sat Dec 22, 1973Vancouver, BCVancouver CapilanosLoss0-2 UBC loss, score unknown
Wed Dec 26, 1973Victoria, BCWestern WashingtonLoss0-2 Viking Tournament, score unknown
Thu Dec 27, 1973Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss0-2 Viking Tournament, score unknown
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 30, 1973Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss56-68  
Sat Dec 1, 1973Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss63-68  
Fri Dec 7, 1973Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin68-64  
Sat Dec 8, 1973Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin62-54  
Fri Jan 4, 1974Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin56-46  
Sat Jan 5, 1974Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin87-60  
Fri Jan 11, 1974Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss60-61  
Sat Jan 12, 1974Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin71-59  
Fri Jan 18, 1974Vancouver, BCAlbertaLoss65-67  
Sat Jan 19, 1974Vancouver, BCAlbertaLoss66-78  
Fri Jan 25, 1974Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin82-70  
Sat Jan 26, 1974Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin86-69  
Fri Feb 1, 1974Victoria, BCVictoriaWin60-49  
Sat Feb 2, 1974Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss66-75  
Fri Feb 8, 1974Vancouver, BCCalgaryWin72-68  
Sat Feb 9, 1974Vancouver, BCCalgaryWin61-60  
Fri Feb 15, 1974Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin81-62  
Sat Feb 16, 1974Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin90-70  
Fri Feb 22, 1974Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss70-79 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Sat Feb 23, 1974Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin66-62 Canada West Final (best of 3)
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sun Feb 24, 1974Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss51-59 Canada West Final (best of 3)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Ralph Turner2000.00-00.094-24937.867-8281.747-681155.8390630025512.8
Blake Iverson2000.00-00.085-21140.366-9966.716-65814.0440660023611.8
Mike McKay2000.00-00.085-19443.840-6759.748-1271758.8550440021010.5
Bob Dickson2000.00-00.060-15638.535-5366.07-65723.635065001557.8
Darryl Gjernes2000.00-00.057-16634.340-6858.858-1071658.231050001547.7
Randy Allan1800.00-00.036-8840.920-2969.020-18382.12202100925.1
David Craig2000.00-00.029-6445.341-5870.712-26381.92003700995.0
Jim Patterson1800.00-00.035-8342.218-2475.014-29432.42201600884.9
Norm Knowles1900.00-00.024-5543.66-875.08-18261.41401300542.8
Frank Janowicz1000.00-00.06-1833.312-1580.01-780.860400242.4
Greg Hoskins800.00-00.07-1546.75-862.53-470.940200192.4
* Team Totals2000.00-00.0518-129939.9350-51168.5234-53476838.4292038100138669.3