Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Women's site

Toronto Varsity Blues - 1974-75 Season

Head Coach:John McManus (13th season)
League:OUAA East

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
7-70.5001088-93577.7 - 66.87-100.4121300-118676.5 - 69.87-100.4121300-118676.5 - 69.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Frank Cress Centre6-7240 Toronto, ONThistletown Collegiate
 Randy Filinski Guard6-2185 Toronto, ONBirchmount Park Collegiate
 Jon Fjeld Forward6-3185 Montreal, QC 
 Doug Fox Guard6-2175 Toronto, ONDon Mills Collegiate
 Bill Francis Guard6-1180 Toronto, ONOakwood Collegiate
 Walter Kucharczyk Centre6-4190 Toronto, ONHumberside Collegiate
 Richard Kurczyk Forward6-4195 Toronto, ONMichael Power
 Tim McGhie Guard6-0175 Richmond Hill, ONRichmond Hill High
 Glenn Scott Forward6-4180 Toronto, ONCedarbrae Collegiate
 Brian Skyvington Centre6-4190 Toronto, ONW.A. Porter Collegiate
 Bert VanCook Guard (Wilfrid Laurier)

Awards presented

Glenn Scott OUA East Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 29, 1974Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss78-101StatsNaismith Classic First Round
Sat Nov 30, 1974Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierLoss72-82 Naismith Classic Cons Semifinal
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 15, 1974Toronto, ONQueensWin93-55  
Sat Nov 23, 1974Toronto, ONLaurentianLoss50-52  
Tue Nov 26, 1974Toronto, ONRyersonWin109-69  
Sat Jan 11, 1975Toronto, ONRyersonWin81-67  
Fri Jan 17, 1975Ottawa, ONOttawaLoss73-89  
Sat Jan 18, 1975Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss64-67  
Tue Jan 21, 1975Toronto, ONYorkLoss68-78  
Sat Jan 25, 1975Toronto, ONCarletonWin81-69  
Tue Jan 28, 1975Sudbury, ONLaurentianWin83-68  
Fri Jan 31, 1975Toronto, ONOttawaLoss51-61  
Fri Feb 7, 1975Toronto, ONRMCWin108-48  
Tue Feb 11, 1975Toronto, ONYorkLoss61-76  
Fri Feb 14, 1975Kingston, ONQueensLoss70-81  
Sat Feb 15, 1975Kingston, ONRMCWin96-55  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Feb 22, 1975Ottawa, ONOttawaLoss62-68 OUAA Quarterfinal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Glenn Scott14    95-22741.934-5265.4 846.035    22416.0
Brian Skyvington14    67-17737.932-5756.1 926.634    16611.9
Jon Fjeld14    52-9952.534-5265.4 916.538    1389.9
Randy Filinski14    47-10743.918-3354.5 584.133    1128.0
Doug Fox14    46-10743.016-1984.2 191.432    1087.7
Bert VanCook14    44-9745.411-1384.6 171.220    997.1
Richard Kurczyk14    37-8941.610-2245.5 805.744    846.0
Tim McGhie14    28-6642.411-1573.3 171.212    674.8
Bill Francis14    19-5038.023-3076.7 221.614    614.4
Walter Kucharczyk14    8-1942.12-633.3 151.112    181.3
Frank Cress14    4-1233.33-1127.3 110.811    110.8
* Team Totals14    447-105042.6194-31062.6 50636.1285    108877.7


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com