Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Saint Mary's Huskies - 1975-76 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Ed Hall (First season)
Other staff: Mickey Fox (Assistant Coach), Pete Potrykus (Head Manager), John Landry (Assistant Manager), Gerry Walsh (Trainer)
League:AUAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
13-01.0001189-82791.5 - 63.620-10.9521650-122178.6 - 58.120-30.8701722-134274.9 - 58.3

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Calvin Smith Guard6-0 Yarmouth, NSYarmouth Consolidated Memorial High
 Bob Yuhasz Forward6-6 Brantford, ONBrantford Collegiate
3Jim Collins Guard5-93Halifax, NS 
11Fred Perry Guard6-2 East Orange, NJEast Orange High
23Alastair MacDonald Guard5-11 Halifax, NSSt. Patrick's High (Saint Mary's)
31Ivan Ross 6-2 Halifax, NS 
33Ken Seaward Forward6-4 Toronto, ON 
35Willie Follette Swingman6-33Montreal, QC 
41Bob Taboski Forward6-5 New York, NY 
43Errol Bing Forward6-5 St. Peterburg, FL(Arizona State)
45Ivor Lewis Guard6-1 Montreal, QC(Dawson College)
51Lee Thomas Forward6-52104Newark, NJVailsburg High

Awards presented

Ed Hall AUS Coach of the Year
Errol Bing AUS First Team All-Star, Second Team All-Canadian, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Fred Perry AUS Second Team All-Star, All-Canadian (Honourable Mention)
Lee Thomas AUS First Team All-Star, Second Team All-Canadian, CIS Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Jul 1, 1975Knoxville, TNTennesseeLoss72-119  
Sat Nov 1, 1975UnknownOttawaWin81-70  
Fri Jan 9, 1976Halifax, NSUPEIWin2-0 National Basketball Festival
Sat Jan 10, 1976Halifax, NSRandolph MaconLoss0-2 National Basketball Festival
Sun Feb 1, 1976Halifax, NSConcordiaWin2-0  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Nov 8, 1975Halifax, NSMemorialWin94-38  
Fri Dec 5, 1975Charlottetown, PEUPEIWin85-69  
Sat Dec 6, 1975Sackville, NBMount AllisonWin82-66  
Wed Jan 14, 1976Halifax, NSDalhousieWin87-82  
Tue Jan 20, 1976Wolfville, NSAcadiaWin68-65  
Sat Jan 24, 1976Halifax, NSUNBWin107-53  
Sun Jan 25, 1976Halifax, NSUPEIWin96-79  
Wed Jan 28, 1976Antigonish, NSStFXWin101-58  
Sat Jan 31, 1976Halifax, NSMount AllisonWin83-70  
Wed Feb 4, 1976Halifax, NSDalhousieWin93-49  
Tue Feb 10, 1976Halifax, NSAcadiaWin79-74  
Tue Feb 17, 1976Halifax, NSStFXWin108-61  
Sat Feb 21, 1976Fredericton, NBUNBWin106-63  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 27, 1976Halifax, NSUPEIWin99-62 AUAA Semifinal
Sat Feb 28, 1976Halifax, NSAcadiaWin76-70 AUAA Championship
Thu Mar 4, 1976Halifax, NSConcordiaWin67-53StatsCIAU Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 5, 1976Halifax, NSLaurentianWin65-57StatsCIAU Semifinal
Sat Mar 6, 1976Halifax, NSManitobaLoss69-82StatsCIAU Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Lee Thomas12    103-17160.250-6280.6 15212.738    25621.3
Fred Perry12    112-18959.311-11100.0 252.117    23519.6
Errol Bing13    116-23050.421-3461.8 15612.030    25319.5
Bob Taboski4    18-2962.13-3100.0 153.86    399.8
Ivor Lewis11    39-8545.913-1872.2 242.223    918.3
Ken Seaward12    36-7846.214-1687.5 655.428    867.2
Ivan Ross9    31-6349.22-922.2 394.313    647.1
Jim Collins13    36-7846.26-785.7 312.412    786.0
Willie Follette11    22-5143.111-2347.8 312.89    555.0
Bob Yuhasz2    3-837.50-20.0 42.02    63.0
Alastair MacDonald9    9-2832.16-1154.5 91.010    242.7
Calvin Smith1    1-250.0   22.01    22.0
* Team Totals13    526-101252.0137-19669.9 55342.5189    118991.5

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Errol Bing32 on Mar 6, 1976 vs Manitoba11 on Mar 5, 1976 vs Laurentian 
Lee Thomas21 on Mar 4, 1976 vs Concordia18 on Mar 5, 1976 vs Laurentian 
Fred Perry14 on Mar 4, 1976 vs Concordia  
Ken Seaward11 on Mar 4, 1976 vs Concordia  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com