U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

British Columbia Thunderbirds - 1976-77 Season

Head Coach:Peter Mullins (15th season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
11-90.550985-86149.2 - 43.013-110.5421192-106949.7 - 44.513-120.5201287-116651.5 - 46.6

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Bill Berzins Guard  
 Jan Bohn Centre6-7  
 Rob Cholyk Forward  
 Jim Coady Guard  
 David Craig Guard  
 Ed Lewin Forward  
 Ross MacDonald   
 Mike McKay Centre6-11230 (East Texas College)
 Doug Mosher Guard6-0  
 Chris Trumpy Forward6-2 Victoria, BCOak Bay Secondary
 Ralph Turner Forward  
 Bruce Wright Guard5-10 (Calgary, UBC)

Awards presented

Jan Bohn Canada West Second Team All-Star
David Craig Canada West Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Jul 1, 1976Victoria, BCVictoria ScorpionsLoss95-97 Victoria Tournament
Thu Jul 1, 1976Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss71-73 Victoria Tournament
Sun Jan 2, 1977Calgary, ABWaterlooWin66-65StatsCalgary Classic
Mon Jan 3, 1977Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss0-2 Calgary Classic
Tue Jan 4, 1977Calgary, ABLakeheadWin70-68 Calgary Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Jul 1, 1976Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss0-2  
Thu Jul 1, 1976Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss0-2  
Thu Jul 1, 1976Vancouver, BCCalgaryWin2-0  
Thu Jul 1, 1976Vancouver, BCCalgaryWin2-0  
Fri Nov 19, 1976Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin90-50  
Sat Nov 20, 1976Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin91-76  
Fri Nov 26, 1976Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin98-60  
Sat Nov 27, 1976Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin107-71  
Fri Jan 7, 1977Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss86-93  
Sat Jan 8, 1977Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss77-84  
Fri Jan 14, 1977Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin78-74  
Sat Jan 15, 1977Vancouver, BCVictoriaLoss59-62  
Fri Jan 28, 1977Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin81-68  
Sat Jan 29, 1977Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss70-79  
Fri Feb 4, 1977Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin73-72  
Sat Feb 5, 1977Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin69-62  
Fri Feb 11, 1977Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin2-0 UBC/Alberta split weekend pair
Sat Feb 12, 1977Vancouver, BCAlbertaLoss0-2 UBC/Alberta split weekend pair
Fri Feb 18, 1977Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss0-2 Victoria win
Sat Feb 19, 1977Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss0-2 Victoria win

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Jan Bohn1900.00-00.0132-27548.053-7471.666-1131799.40000031716.7
Mike McKay1700.00-00.070-14349.034-5463.035-41764.50000017410.2
Ed Lewin2000.00-00.077-15749.042-7159.259-851447.2000001969.8
Ralph Turner2000.00-00.086-19843.415-2365.216-35512.5000001879.3
David Craig2000.00-00.070-16941.436-5170.69-43522.6000001768.8
Bill Berzins1900.00-00.059-14241.521-2295.519-20392.1000001397.3
Chris Trumpy2000.00-00.059-16835.125-3571.417-46633.1000001437.2
Jim Coady2000.00-00.037-9937.428-4168.36-10160.8000001025.1
Rob Cholyk2000.00-00.023-7231.915-2755.616-29452.200000613.0
Bruce Wright1800.00-00.019-4839.62-1020.05-10150.800000402.2
Ross MacDonald1100.00-00.05-1241.74-1136.47-13201.800000141.3
Doug Mosher1100.00-00.03-650.04-4100.00-330.300000100.9
* Team Totals2000.00-00.0640-148943.0279-42366.0255-44870335.100000155978.0