Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Men's site

Regina Cougettes - 1976-77 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Sue Hilton-Higgs (6th season)
League:Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCWIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
11-50.688994-90762.1 - 56.715-100.6001500-148260.0 - 59.320-110.6451843-178959.5 - 57.7

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Kathy Clark Guard4Regina, SKThom Collegiate
 Susan Moore 2Moose Jaw, SKCentral Collegiate
 Theresa Phaneuf Guard3Regina, SKMarian High
 Cathy Reesor Forward2Moose Jaw, SKCentral Collegiate
 Bernie Riffel Forward4Regina, SKMarian High
 Rene Robertson Forward3Regina, SKSheldon-Williams Collegiate
 Debbie Smith Guard5-94Regina, SKCentral Collegiate
 Diana Stober Centre4Regina, SKMiller Comprehensive High
 Jan Tangjerd Erisman Guard1Regina, SKCampbell Collegiate
 Arlene Turner Centre6-02Regina, SKMarian High
 Patti Woods Guard1Regina, SKMartin Collegiate

Awards presented

Debbie Smith Regina President's Award, Great Plains First Team All-Star
Diana Stober Regina Women's Basketball Team MVP, Great Plains Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 22, 1976Regina, SKSaskatchewanWin68-63  
Sat Oct 23, 1976Regina, SKSaskatchewanWin48-36  
Fri Oct 29, 1976Winnipeg, MBSimon FraserWin50-47 Bisonette Invitational Tournament
Fri Oct 29, 1976Winnipeg, MBSt. VitalWin66-62 Bisonette Invitational Tournament
Sat Oct 30, 1976Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss45-76 Bisonette Invitational Tournament
Wed Dec 29, 1976Saskatoon, SKAlbertaWin62-52 Saskatchewan Women's Invitational
Wed Dec 29, 1976Saskatoon, SKSaskatoon All-starsLoss48-53 Saskatchewan Women's Invitational
Thu Dec 30, 1976Saskatoon, SKAlbertaLoss74-85 Saskatchewan Women's Invitational
Thu Dec 30, 1976Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin64-63 Saskatchewan Women's Invitational
Fri Jan 21, 1977Regina, SKMinot StateWin60-54  
Sat Jan 22, 1977Regina, SKMinot StateWin60-42  
Fri Feb 4, 1977Minot, NDMinot StateWin59-49  
Sat Feb 5, 1977Minot, NDMinot StateUnknown  
Sat Feb 19, 1977Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss52-53  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 12, 1976Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadWin63-62  
Sat Nov 13, 1976Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadWin57-55  
Fri Nov 19, 1976Regina, SKManitobaWin71-65  
Sat Nov 20, 1976Regina, SKManitobaWin66-61  
Fri Nov 26, 1976Brandon, MBBrandonWin55-43  
Sat Nov 27, 1976Brandon, MBBrandonWin43-31  
Fri Dec 3, 1976Regina, SKLakeheadWin60-43  
Sat Dec 4, 1976Regina, SKLakeheadWin78-52  
Fri Jan 7, 1977Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss37-63  
Sat Jan 8, 1977Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss65-67  
Fri Jan 14, 1977Regina, SKBrandonWin72-53  
Sat Jan 15, 1977Regina, SKBrandonWin63-47  
Sat Jan 29, 1977Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss64-66  
Sun Jan 30, 1977Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin80-71  
Sat Feb 12, 1977Regina, SKWinnipegLoss56-62OT 
Sun Feb 13, 1977Regina, SKWinnipegLoss64-66OT 
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 25, 1977Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss47-69 GPAC Championship (best of 3)
Sat Feb 26, 1977Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss46-78 GPAC Championship (best of 3)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Debbie Smith16                23914.9
Diana Stober16                19512.2
* Team Totals16                43427.1


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com