Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Acadia Axemen - 1977-78 Season

Head Coach:Dick Hunt (5th season)
League:AUAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
18-20.9001796-144689.8 - 72.326-30.8972543-205187.7 - 70.727-70.7942628-213577.3 - 62.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Tony Aker Centre6-6 Kentville, NS 
 John Archibald Forward6-3 Milford, NS 
 John Grimmer  Fredericton, NB 
 Bruce Hunt Guard5-9 Wolfville, NSHorton District High
 Alvin Jessamy Forward6-6 Yonkers, NYYonkers High
 Steve Johnson Forward6-6 Yarmouth, NSYarmouth Consolidated Memorial High
 Ray Mapp Forward6-4 Halifax, NS 
 Dave Moffatt  Hardy Station, NB 
 Eric Skinner Guard6-2 Amherst, NS 
 Ted Upshaw Forward6-62Windsor, NSWindsor Regional High
 Chris Wentzell  Truro, NS 
 Gordie West Guard5-9 Liverpool, NSLiverpool Regional High
42Michael Hazard Guard/Forward6-3 Providence, RICentral High (Community College of Rhode Island)
44Victor Soares Forward6-8 East Providence, RIEast Providence High (Rhode Island)

Awards presented

Dick Hunt AUS Coach of the Year
Michael Hazard AUS First Team All-Star
Victor Soares AUS First Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Gordie West AUS Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Jul 1, 1977UnknownBrownLoss0-2 Acadia Trip to USA
Fri Jul 1, 1977UnknownCentral ConnecticutLoss0-2 Acadia Trip to USA
Fri Jul 1, 1977UnknownFairfieldLoss0-2 Acadia Trip to USA
Fri Jul 1, 1977UnknownRhode IslandLoss0-2 Acadia Trip to USA
Fri Nov 11, 1977Wolfville, NSConcordiaWin99-54 Acadia Tip-Off
Sat Nov 12, 1977Wolfville, NSHusson CollegeWin85-76 Acadia Tip-Off
Thu Jan 5, 1978Wolfville, NSMcGillWin75-52 Nova Scotia Invitational
Fri Jan 6, 1978Wolfville, NSDalhousieWin76-55 Nova Scotia Invitational
Sat Jan 7, 1978Wolfville, NSLaurentianWin77-68 Nova Scotia Invitational
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Nov 30, 1977Wolfville, NSDalhousieWin82-80  
Fri Dec 2, 1977Fredericton, NBUNBWin90-41  
Sat Dec 3, 1977Fredericton, NBUNBWin115-66  
Tue Dec 6, 1977Sackville, NBMount AllisonWin112-59  
Wed Jan 11, 1978Wolfville, NSSaint MarysWin81-72  
Sat Jan 14, 1978Halifax, NSDalhousieWin72-61  
Fri Jan 20, 1978Wolfville, NSMount AllisonWin101-60  
Sat Jan 21, 1978Wolfville, NSStFXWin95-93OT 
Tue Jan 24, 1978Halifax, NSSaint MarysLoss74-76OT 
Fri Jan 27, 1978Charlottetown, PEUPEIWin101-88  
Sat Jan 28, 1978Charlottetown, PEUPEIWin83-68  
Wed Feb 1, 1978Wolfville, NSStFXWin77-71  
Sat Feb 4, 1978Halifax, NSSaint MarysLoss83-93  
Wed Feb 8, 1978Wolfville, NSDalhousieWin80-67  
Sat Feb 11, 1978Wolfville, NSUPEIWin112-62  
Tue Feb 14, 1978Antigonish, NSStFXWin100-92  
Fri Feb 17, 1978Wolfville, NSUPEIWin79-78  
Wed Feb 22, 1978Wolfville, NSSaint MarysWin99-69  
Sat Feb 25, 1978Halifax, NSDalhousieWin80-71  
Tue Feb 28, 1978Antigonish, NSStFXWin80-79  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 3, 1978Wolfville, NSUPEIWin83-60 AUAA Semifinal
Sat Mar 4, 1978Wolfville, NSStFXWin93-81 AUAA Championship
Thu Mar 9, 1978Halifax, NSLaurentianWin71-65StatsCIAU Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 10, 1978Halifax, NSYorkWin82-71StatsCIAU Semifinal
Sat Mar 11, 1978Halifax, NSSaint MarysLoss91-99StatsCIAU Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Victor Soares20    182-28863.266-9966.7100-11821810.941    43021.5
Michael Hazard20    177-34151.975-9876.538-861246.246    42921.4
Ted Upshaw14    77-16546.722-3268.828-37654.635    17612.6
Alvin Jessamy20    111-27041.124-3863.272-1021748.761    24612.3
Gordie West18    62-14642.535-4872.918-42603.337    1598.8
Tony Aker18    58-10256.918-2378.340-47874.837    1347.4
John Archibald2    6-1346.21-250.05-384.01    136.5
Ray Mapp14    33-8240.210-2050.014-13271.925    765.4
Eric Skinner15    31-8138.313-2454.22-9110.733    755.0
John Grimmer5    8-2334.82-633.36-12183.612    183.6
Bruce Hunt8    7-2528.03-837.50-550.68    172.1
Steve Johnson11    9-4022.55-771.49-13222.013    232.1
* Team Totals20    761-157648.3274-40567.7332-48781941.0349    179689.8

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Michael Hazard25 on Mar 11, 1978 vs Saint Marys  
Alvin Jessamy25 on Mar 11, 1978 vs Saint Marys  
Victor Soares24 on Mar 10, 1978 vs York  
Ted Upshaw17 on Mar 10, 1978 vs York  
Tony Aker4 on Mar 11, 1978 vs Saint Marys  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com