Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Dalhousie Tigers - 1977-78 Season

Head Coach:Al Yarr (14th season)
League:AUAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
6-140.3001544-160677.2 - 80.39-190.3212096-224574.9 - 80.29-200.3102151-230874.2 - 79.6

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Tim Crowell Forward6-7 Hants West High
 Dave Fagan   
 Ken Fells Guard5-112Yarmouth, NS 
 Peter Fougere Guard2Halifax, NSSt. Pat's High
 Jeff Gray   
 Erik Haughn Forward6-6  
 Phil Howlett Forward6-52Middleton, NSWest Kings High
 Alastair MacDonald Guard5-11 Halifax, NSSt. Patrick's High (Saint Mary's)
 Murray Steeves 6-7 Champlain College
21Mike Donaldson Forward6-6  
41Bob Fagan Forward6-6 Fredericton, NBFredericton High

Awards presented

Bob Fagan Climo Award - Dalhousie Male Athlete of the Year, AUS First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Jul 1, 1977Fredericton, NBUNBWin84-73  
Fri Nov 25, 1977Waterloo, ONLakeheadWin79-75 Naismith Classic First Round
Sat Nov 26, 1977Waterloo, ONSaint MarysLoss63-93 Naismith Classic Semifinal
Wed Dec 28, 1977Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss81-90 Wesmen Classic
Thu Dec 29, 1977Winnipeg, MBGuelphLoss64-90 Wesmen Classic
Thu Jan 5, 1978Wolfville, NSWaterlooWin63-61StatsNova Scotia Invitational
Fri Jan 6, 1978Wolfville, NSAcadiaLoss55-76 Nova Scotia Invitational
Sat Jan 7, 1978Wolfville, NSSimon FraserLoss55-63 Nova Scotia Invitational
Tue Jan 10, 1978Halifax, NSLaurentianLoss63-81  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Nov 16, 1977Halifax, NSSaint MarysLoss72-87  
Sat Nov 19, 1977Halifax, NSUPEILoss86-93  
Sun Nov 20, 1977Halifax, NSUPEIWin90-89  
Wed Nov 30, 1977Wolfville, NSAcadiaLoss80-82  
Sat Dec 3, 1977Sackville, NBMount AllisonWin93-60  
Tue Dec 6, 1977Halifax, NSStFXLoss73-100  
Wed Jan 11, 1978Antigonish, NSStFXLoss77-95  
Sat Jan 14, 1978Halifax, NSAcadiaLoss61-72  
Fri Jan 20, 1978Halifax, NSUNBWin100-72  
Sat Jan 21, 1978Halifax, NSUNBWin75-57  
Wed Jan 25, 1978Halifax, NSStFXLoss75-76  
Fri Jan 27, 1978Halifax, NSSaint MarysLoss69-90  
Fri Feb 3, 1978Charlottetown, PEUPEILoss58-80  
Sat Feb 4, 1978Charlottetown, PEUPEIWin67-58  
Wed Feb 8, 1978Wolfville, NSAcadiaLoss67-80  
Sat Feb 11, 1978Halifax, NSMount AllisonWin104-66  
Mon Feb 13, 1978Halifax, NSSaint MarysLoss75-105  
Tue Feb 21, 1978Antigonish, NSStFXLoss76-84  
Sat Feb 25, 1978Halifax, NSAcadiaLoss71-80  
Tue Feb 28, 1978Halifax, NSSaint MarysLoss75-80  

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Bob Fagan20    200-41648.165-10561.950-1071577.854    46523.2
Phil Howlett20    120-24149.834-5561.868-921608.049    27413.7
Mike Donaldson20    93-22641.239-6361.996-761728.643    22511.2
Alastair MacDonald20    74-18140.939-4979.614-54683.456    1879.3
Murray Steeves20    64-11456.117-2665.428-30582.932    1457.2
Ken Fells19    58-11749.68-1172.72-18201.122    1246.5
Tim Crowell11    21-3461.84-666.715-10252.319    464.2
Peter Fougere20    30-8037.55-683.37-39462.339    653.2
Dave Fagan4    2-1118.24-666.70-330.85    82.0
gray-unknown1    0-20.01-250.00-111.0     11.0
Erik Haughn6    2-825.0  3-140.72    40.7
* Team Totals20    664-143046.4216-32965.7283-43171435.7321    154477.2


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com