Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Saskatchewan Huskies - 1977-78 Season

Head Coach:Tom Thompson (2nd season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
3-170.1501201-159760.0 - 79.83-220.1201458-190758.3 - 76.33-240.1111555-201557.6 - 74.6

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Stu Bauck Guard-Forward6-2 Calgary, ABHenry Wise Wood High (Mount Royal, Guelph)
 Wayne Bishop Centre6-4 Calgary, AB 
 Clair Campbell Guard6-1 Sault Ste. Marie, ONSault Collegiate
 Unknown Chabot   
 Roger Ganes Centre6-65 
 Tom Groat Centre  
 Kim Gross   
 Kevin McDuffie Guard  
 Max Minor Guard  
 Stan Oleksinski  Regina, SKMiller Comprehensive High
 Gord Pepper   
 Unknown Smith   
 Unknown Vanderham   

Awards presented

Roger Ganes Canada West Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 21, 1977Regina, SKReginaLoss48-50  
Fri Oct 28, 1977Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss59-80 Tri-University Classic
Sat Oct 29, 1977Edmonton, ABCalgaryLoss72-76 Tri-University Classic
Sat Oct 29, 1977Edmonton, ABLethbridgeLoss60-80 Tri-University Classic
Fri Dec 30, 1977Brandon, MBBrandonLoss66-72  
Sat Dec 31, 1977Brandon, MBBrandonLoss0-2 Score not available
Tue Jan 10, 1978Saskatoon, SKReginaLoss49-58  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 11, 1977Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss70-71  
Sat Nov 12, 1977Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss48-77  
Fri Nov 18, 1977Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss42-69  
Sat Nov 19, 1977Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin71-69OT 
Fri Nov 25, 1977Saskatoon, SKCalgaryLoss54-55  
Sat Nov 26, 1977Saskatoon, SKCalgaryLoss52-73  
Fri Jan 6, 1978Saskatoon, SKVictoriaLoss60-89  
Sat Jan 7, 1978Saskatoon, SKVictoriaLoss74-82  
Fri Jan 13, 1978Vancouver, BCUBCLoss40-60  
Sat Jan 14, 1978Vancouver, BCUBCLoss54-78  
Fri Jan 20, 1978Saskatoon, SKAlbertaWin78-77  
Sat Jan 21, 1978Saskatoon, SKAlbertaLoss63-91  
Fri Jan 27, 1978Saskatoon, SKLethbridgeWin65-58  
Sat Jan 28, 1978Saskatoon, SKLethbridgeLoss62-91  
Fri Feb 3, 1978Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss87-108  
Sat Feb 4, 1978Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss49-115  
Fri Feb 10, 1978Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss68-93  
Sat Feb 11, 1978Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss55-96  
Fri Feb 17, 1978Saskatoon, SKUBCLoss58-70  
Sat Feb 18, 1978Saskatoon, SKUBCLoss51-75  

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Roger Ganes20    140-27750.573-11066.4100-14824812.448 77  35317.6
Stu Bauck20    91-31628.829-5058.063-981618.170 102  21110.6
Wayne Bishop20    75-18839.925-3767.620-27472.431 21  1758.8
Clair Campbell20    64-21130.342-7357.511-58693.556 90  1708.5
Stan Oleksinski20    53-13439.626-3770.334-711055.237 45  1326.6
Gord Pepper14    20-6232.36-966.71-13141.017 32  463.3
Kevin McDuffie20    22-7628.91-911.117-25422.141 47  452.2
Max Minor18    14-5127.53-650.08-8160.913 29  311.7
Unknown Chabot4    2-2100.02-366.70-110.21 2  61.5
Unknown Smith18    6-2030.05-771.42-460.34 12  170.9
Unknown Vanderham18    1-714.36-6100.01-890.59 4  80.4
Kim Gross16    2-633.3  3-9120.87 3  40.2
Tom Groat2                00.0
* Team Totals20    490-135036.3218-34762.8260-47073036.5334 464  119859.9


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com