Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

St. Francis Xavier X-Men - 1977-78 Season

Head Coach:Steve Konchalski (3rd season)
Other staff: Owen Cameron (Assistant Coach), Brian Kelley (Manager), John Richard (Trainer)
League:AUAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
14-60.7001842-152692.1 - 76.318-80.6922372-198491.2 - 76.321-110.6562378-199074.3 - 62.2

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Varouj Gurunlian Guard6-2 Dawson College
 John McFarland Guard Antigonish, NS 
 Paul McGrath 6-4  
 Eddie Pomykala Guard6-2 Dawson College
 Chris Price Guard6-2 Kingston, ON 
 Peter (Doc) Ryan Forward6-3 (Florida A&M, UQTR)
 David Scott Forward6-5 Truro, NSCobequid Educational Centre
 Wayne Smith Guard Dawson College
20Pat Adrien Forward6-5 Dawson College
42Gil Green Guard6-23New York, NYChrist The King
45Tom Sullivan Centre6-82Moncton, NBMoncton High

Awards presented

Gil Green AUS Second Team All-Star
Varouj Gurunlian AUS Second Team All-Star
Peter (Doc) Ryan AUS First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Jul 1, 1977UnknownUnknownWin2-0 For StFX overall record of 21-11
Fri Jul 1, 1977UnknownUnknownWin2-0 For StFX overall record of 21-11
Fri Jul 1, 1977UnknownUnknownWin2-0 For StFX overall record of 21-11
Fri Jul 1, 1977UnknownCatholic UniversityLoss0-2 StFX Trip to USA
Fri Jul 1, 1977UnknownDukeLoss0-2 StFX Trip to USA
Fri Jul 1, 1977UnknownVirginia MilitaryLoss0-2 StFX Trip to USA
Fri Nov 11, 1977Ottawa, ONUQTRWin107-66 Gee-Gee Tip Off
Sat Nov 12, 1977Ottawa, ONOttawaWin90-76 Gee-Gee Tip Off
Sun Nov 13, 1977Ottawa, ONMcMasterWin85-63 Gee-Gee Tip Off
Tue Jan 3, 1978Halifax, NSSaint MarysLoss86-88 National Basketball Festival
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Jul 1, 1977UnknownUnknownUnknownStatsPaul McGrath 47 points
Fri Dec 2, 1977Antigonish, NSMount AllisonWin127-66  
Tue Dec 6, 1977Halifax, NSDalhousieWin100-73  
Sat Jan 7, 1978Sackville, NBMount AllisonWin119-67  
Wed Jan 11, 1978Antigonish, NSDalhousieWin95-77  
Sat Jan 14, 1978Antigonish, NSUPEIWin100-74  
Wed Jan 18, 1978Antigonish, NSSaint MarysWin78-74  
Sat Jan 21, 1978Wolfville, NSAcadiaLoss93-95OT 
Wed Jan 25, 1978Halifax, NSDalhousieWin76-75  
Mon Jan 30, 1978Halifax, NSSaint MarysWin86-75  
Wed Feb 1, 1978Wolfville, NSAcadiaLoss71-77  
Fri Feb 3, 1978Fredericton, NBUNBWin108-55  
Sat Feb 4, 1978Fredericton, NBUNBWin101-57  
Wed Feb 8, 1978Antigonish, NSSaint MarysLoss89-92  
Fri Feb 10, 1978Antigonish, NSUPEIWin108-83  
Tue Feb 14, 1978Antigonish, NSAcadiaLoss92-100  
Sun Feb 19, 1978Halifax, NSSaint MarysLoss88-96 Halifax Metro Centre Opener
Tue Feb 21, 1978Antigonish, NSDalhousieWin84-76  
Fri Feb 24, 1978Charlottetown, PEUPEIWin77-66  
Sat Feb 25, 1978Charlottetown, PEUPEIWin71-68  
Tue Feb 28, 1978Antigonish, NSAcadiaLoss79-80  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 3, 1978Wolfville, NSSaint MarysWin81-72 AUAA Semifinal
Sat Mar 4, 1978Wolfville, NSAcadiaLoss81-93 AUAA Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Paul McGrath20    148-29849.732-3982.175-761517.556    32816.4
Varouj Gurunlian20    135-25453.138-5371.748-721206.059    30815.4
Peter (Doc) Ryan20    133-26849.638-6063.356-831397.065    30415.2
Gil Green20    129-23654.731-6250.022-21432.150    28914.4
Pat Adrien16    79-14853.435-5959.353-841378.653    19312.1
Tom Sullivan20    91-17153.243-6566.245-571025.163    22511.2
Chris Price17    42-10042.03-650.09-9181.112    875.1
Eddie Pomykala7    12-2842.92-2100.00-440.69    263.7
David Scott13    17-5034.012-1770.614-29433.315    463.5
John McFarland6    9-1947.41-425.02-791.58    193.2
Wayne Smith6    6-2227.35-955.64-591.59    172.8
* Team Totals20    801-159450.3240-37663.8328-44777538.8399    184292.1

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Paul McGrath47 on Jul 1, 1977 vs Unknown  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com