Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Victoria Vikings - 1977-78 Season

Head Coach:Ken Shields (2nd season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
18-20.900949-75547.5 - 37.821-90.7001785-161959.5 - 54.022-100.6881888-169859.0 - 53.1

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Ted Anderson Forward6-4 Port Alberni, BCAlberni District Secondary
 Grant Boland   
 Gary Budd   
 Lorne Dakin Forward Terrace, BC 
 Rene Dolcetti Centre6-83Sudbury, ONSt. Charles College
 Craig Higgins Guard6-11Victoria, BCOak Bay Secondary
 Ian Hyde-Lay Guard6-1 Duncan, BCShawinigan Lake School
 Billy Turney-Loos Guard6-4 Hampden, CTAmity Regional High (Boston College)
 Robbie Parris Guard5-6 Victoria, BCOak Bay Secondary
 Mickey Welder Guard6-13Kelowna, BCKelowna Secondary
3Chris Hebb Forward6-4 Prince Rupert, BCPrince Rupert Secondary
24Brian Sutherland-Brown   

Awards presented

Rene Dolcetti Canada West Second Team All-Star
Billy Turney-Loos CIS Tournament All-Star Team, Canada West First Team All-Star
Robbie Parris Canada West First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Jul 1, 1977Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss83-93  
Fri Jul 1, 1977Winnipeg, MBNicolett InnLoss0-2  
Fri Jul 1, 1977Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss83-90  
Fri Jul 1, 1977Victoria, BCCalgaryLoss83-91 Pacific Rim Tourney
Fri Jul 1, 1977Victoria, BCVictoria DatatechWin103-77 Pacific Rim Tourney
Fri Jul 1, 1977Victoria, BCWinnipegWin80-77 Pacific Rim Tourney
Sun Jan 1, 1978Calgary, ABYorkLoss78-91 Calgary Basketball Classic
Mon Jan 2, 1978Calgary, ABLakeheadWin84-77 Calgary Basketball Classic
Tue Jan 3, 1978Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss85-90 Calgary Basketball Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 11, 1977Vancouver, BCUBCWin64-62  
Sat Nov 12, 1977Vancouver, BCUBCLoss58-65  
Fri Nov 18, 1977Victoria, BCCalgaryWin2-0  
Sat Nov 19, 1977Victoria, BCCalgaryWin2-0  
Fri Nov 25, 1977Victoria, BCAlbertaWin2-0  
Sat Nov 26, 1977Victoria, BCAlbertaWin88-71  
Fri Jan 6, 1978Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin89-60  
Sat Jan 7, 1978Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin82-74  
Fri Jan 13, 1978UnknownLethbridgeWin2-0  
Sat Jan 14, 1978UnknownLethbridgeWin2-0  
Fri Jan 20, 1978Victoria, BCUBCWin86-56  
Sat Jan 21, 1978Victoria, BCUBCWin96-62Stats 
Fri Jan 27, 1978Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss90-97  
Sat Jan 28, 1978Calgary, ABCalgaryWin89-85  
Fri Feb 3, 1978Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin2-0  
Sat Feb 4, 1978Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin2-0  
Fri Feb 10, 1978Victoria, BCSaskatchewanWin93-68  
Sat Feb 11, 1978Victoria, BCSaskatchewanWin96-55  
Fri Feb 17, 1978UnknownLethbridgeWin2-0  
Sat Feb 18, 1978UnknownLethbridgeWin2-0  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Mar 9, 1978Halifax, NSWilfrid LaurierWin100-79StatsCIAU Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 10, 1978Halifax, NSSaint MarysLoss79-82StatsCIAU Semifinal
Sat Mar 11, 1978Halifax, NSYorkLoss81-94StatsCIAU Bronze Medal Game

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Billy Turney-Loos20    193-40847.365-9369.985-13722211.152 61  45122.6
Rene Dolcetti18    107-20452.547-6869.166-881548.654 54  26114.5
Robbie Parris20    91-19247.447-5979.727-62894.540 52  22911.4
Chris Hebb20    90-18448.933-4278.635-48834.259 52  21310.7
Lorne Dakin20    80-17047.126-3770.344-691135.735 29  1869.3
Craig Higgins18    55-10850.917-2568.025-35603.323 19  1277.1
Ian Hyde-Lay20    37-9439.410-1283.39-30391.932 31  844.2
Ted Anderson20    29-5651.821-2584.018-15331.630 15  794.0
Brian Sutherland-Brown16    20-3951.314-2751.99-27362.218 11  543.4
Gary Budd6    5-1827.82-2100.01-671.27 4  122.0
Mickey Welder17    8-2138.18-8100.03-690.59 10  241.4
Grant Boland16    9-2634.64-580.00-770.46 5  221.4
* Team Totals20    724-152047.6294-40373.0322-53085242.6365 343  174287.1

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Billy Turney-Loos47 on Jan 21, 1978 vs UBC  
Chris Hebb18 on Mar 9, 1978 vs Wilfrid Laurier  
Lorne Dakin15 on Mar 11, 1978 vs York  
Robbie Parris15 on Mar 9, 1978 vs Wilfrid Laurier  
Rene Dolcetti14 on Mar 10, 1978 vs Saint Marys  
Craig Higgins14 on Mar 11, 1978 vs York  
Ted Anderson6 on Mar 9, 1978 vs Wilfrid Laurier  
Brian Sutherland-Brown6 on Mar 9, 1978 vs Wilfrid Laurier  
Mickey Welder4 on Mar 9, 1978 vs Wilfrid Laurier  
Grant Boland   
Ian Hyde-Lay   


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com