Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Men's site

Saskatchewan Huskiettes - 1977-78 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Pat Jackson (7th season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCWIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
10-100.5001093-119254.6 - 59.613-100.5651287-135256.0 - 58.813-110.5421345-143756.0 - 59.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Linda Bent   
 Sherry Bowers   
 Sheila Brennan Beckie Guard Regina, SKMarian High
 Nancy Brentnell Guard3Swift Current, SKSwift Current Comprehensive High
 Sheryl Kleckner 1Saskatoon, SKBedford Road Collegiate
 Lorrie Kozicki  Regina, SKMarian High
 Unknown Maley   
 Patti Mayer   
 Theresa Surbey   
 Donna Veale  Yorkton Regional High
 Marj Wihak Centre6-1  
 Barb Wright   

Awards presented

Sheila Brennan Beckie Canada West Second Team All-Star
Nancy Brentnell Canada West First Team All-Star
Donna Veale Valerie Girsberger Trophy All-Round Female Athlete

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 28, 1977Saskatoon, SKReginaWin66-59 Saskatchewan Women's Invitational
Fri Nov 4, 1977Calgary, ABAlbertaWin59-54 Calgary Women's Invitational
Thu Dec 29, 1977Regina, SKReginaWin69-47 Queen City Classic
Fri Dec 30, 1977Regina, SKWinnipegLoss58-85 Queen City Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 11, 1977Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin58-51Stats 
Sat Nov 12, 1977Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin49-38  
Fri Nov 18, 1977Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin66-57  
Sat Nov 19, 1977Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin67-39  
Fri Nov 25, 1977Saskatoon, SKCalgaryWin61-53  
Sat Nov 26, 1977Saskatoon, SKCalgaryLoss52-56  
Fri Jan 6, 1978Saskatoon, SKVictoriaLoss51-96Stats 
Sat Jan 7, 1978Saskatoon, SKVictoriaLoss43-77Stats 
Fri Jan 13, 1978Vancouver, BCUBCWin66-65  
Sat Jan 14, 1978Vancouver, BCUBCWin63-59OT 
Fri Jan 20, 1978Saskatoon, SKAlbertaLoss55-73  
Sat Jan 21, 1978Saskatoon, SKAlbertaLoss50-54OT 
Fri Jan 27, 1978Saskatoon, SKLethbridgeWin2-0  
Sat Jan 28, 1978Saskatoon, SKLethbridgeLoss59-68Stats 
Fri Feb 3, 1978Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss66-68Stats 
Sat Feb 4, 1978Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss60-72  
Fri Feb 10, 1978Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss35-79Stats 
Sat Feb 11, 1978Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss43-84Stats 
Fri Feb 17, 1978Saskatoon, SKUBCWin69-55  
Sat Feb 18, 1978Saskatoon, SKUBCWin78-48  

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Nancy Brentnell20    133-37835.271-12258.229-68974.865 120  33716.9
Donna Veale20    64-21429.954-8960.749-571065.364 90  1829.1
Sheila Brennan Beckie20    72-24529.428-4562.216-68844.279 108  1728.6
Sheryl Kleckner18    54-15235.546-6570.838-50884.953 68  1548.6
Marj Wihak18    54-17231.430-8137.098-8418210.152 55  1387.7
Lorrie Kozicki18    27-9727.84-850.022-33553.125 34  583.2
Barb Wright20    15-4533.38-1266.77-8150.836 28  381.9
Patti Mayer20    9-4122.07-1838.93-030.19 24  251.2
Unknown Maley18    6-2425.010-1283.39-9181.025 16  221.2
Theresa Surbey16    4-3212.57-1258.311-14251.628 17  150.9
Linda Bent18    4-1526.78-1266.76-10160.918 18  160.9
Sherry Bowers12    1-812.5  2-240.3  3  20.2
* Team Totals20    443-142331.1273-47657.4290-40369334.6454 581  115958.0

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Nancy Brentnell20 on Jan 6, 1978 vs Victoria  
Donna Veale17 on Nov 11, 1977 vs Alberta  
Sheila Brennan Beckie12 on Feb 3, 1978 vs Calgary  
Marj Wihak11 on Jan 6, 1978 vs Victoria12 on Nov 11, 1977 vs Alberta 
Sheryl Kleckner10 on Feb 3, 1978 vs Calgary  
Lorrie Kozicki6 on Jan 7, 1978 vs Victoria  
Linda Bent4 on Jan 6, 1978 vs Victoria  
Barb Wright4 on Feb 10, 1978 vs Victoria  
Sherry Bowers2 on Jan 6, 1978 vs Victoria  
Patti Mayer2 on Jan 6, 1978 vs Victoria  
Theresa Surbey2 on Feb 10, 1978 vs Victoria  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com