Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Women's site

Calgary Dinosaurs - 1978-79 Season

Head Coach:Gary Howard (5th season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
13-70.6501487-152874.3 - 76.418-150.5452475-259775.0 - 78.718-170.5142605-273674.4 - 78.2

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Paul Babcock Guard6-0 Greenwood, NS 
 Jim Boldt   
 George Hardisty Guard6-0 Thunder Bay, ON 
 Mark Jorgenson Forward6-63 
 Cal Keil Guard5-10160 Guelph, ONJohn F. Ross Collegiate
 Pat Lee Forward6-3 Mission, BCTrinity Junior College
 Jeff Markert  Calgary, ABCrescent Heights High
 Scott Stevenson Guard  
 Geoff Thompson 2 
 John Thoutenhoofd   
 Greg Van Dolah Guard6-1 Vanderhoff, BC 
50Eric Duerksen Forward6-5  

Awards presented

Paul Babcock Canada West Second Team All-Star
Pat Lee Canada West First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 27, 1978Lethbridge, ABSaskatchewanWin75-71 Tri-University Classic
Sat Oct 28, 1978Lethbridge, ABAlbertaLoss73-78 Tri-University Classic
Sat Oct 28, 1978Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss60-77 Tri-University Classic
Fri Nov 3, 1978Edmonton, ABSimon FraserLoss73-75 Bear-Dino Classic
Sat Nov 4, 1978Edmonton, ABReginaWin74-41 Bear-Dino Classic
Wed Dec 27, 1978Brandon, MBYankton CollegeLoss57-64 Blue and Gold Classic
Thu Dec 28, 1978Brandon, MBSaskatchewanWin83-77 Blue and Gold Classic
Fri Dec 29, 1978Brandon, MBBrandonLoss72-83 Blue and Gold Classic
Thu Jan 4, 1979Calgary, ABUBCWin85-54 Dinosaur Basketball Classic
Fri Jan 5, 1979Calgary, ABAlbertaWin87-76 Dinosaur Basketball Classic
Sat Jan 6, 1979Calgary, ABSaint MarysLoss66-108 Dinosaur Basketball Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 10, 1978Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss54-81  
Sat Nov 11, 1978Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss65-68  
Fri Nov 17, 1978Calgary, ABUBCWin78-66  
Sat Nov 18, 1978Calgary, ABUBCWin97-76  
Fri Nov 24, 1978Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin70-67  
Sat Nov 25, 1978Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin75-70  
Fri Jan 12, 1979Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss67-84  
Sat Jan 13, 1979Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss47-85  
Fri Jan 19, 1979Calgary, ABAlbertaLoss62-84  
Sat Jan 20, 1979Calgary, ABAlbertaLoss62-77  
Fri Jan 26, 1979Vancouver, BCUBCWin68-63  
Sat Jan 27, 1979Vancouver, BCUBCLoss63-66  
Fri Feb 2, 1979Calgary, ABSaskatchewanWin72-71OT 
Sat Feb 3, 1979Calgary, ABSaskatchewanWin89-86  
Fri Feb 9, 1979Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin81-80  
Sat Feb 10, 1979Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin86-83  
Fri Feb 16, 1979Calgary, ABVictoriaWin83-81OT 
Sat Feb 17, 1979Calgary, ABVictoriaWin88-78  
Fri Feb 23, 1979Calgary, ABLethbridgeWin90-83  
Sat Feb 24, 1979Calgary, ABLethbridgeWin90-79  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 2, 1979Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss70-108 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Sat Mar 3, 1979Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss80-89 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Thu Mar 8, 1979Calgary, ABStFXLoss74-100StatsCIAU Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 9, 1979Calgary, ABWinnipegLoss89-107StatsCIAU Consolation Semifinal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Pat Lee20    122-26945.458-9064.458-1231819.158    30215.1
Eric Duerksen20    92-21542.840-5276.928-67954.848    22411.2
Geoff Thompson18    78-16048.828-3677.837-781156.456    18410.2
Paul Babcock18    68-14746.333-4278.69-29382.129    1699.4
Mark Jorgenson20    79-19041.619-3357.651-771286.453    1778.8
Scott Stevenson20    64-16538.832-5064.023-55783.947    1608.0
Greg Van Dolah20    41-12931.818-3452.925-27522.645    1005.0
Cal Keil18    20-4247.68-1080.03-7100.637    482.7
George Hardisty16    16-3545.77-1070.02-11130.817    392.4
Jeff Markert18    19-4443.23-742.910-16261.422    412.3
John Thoutenhoofd17    12-2646.28-1080.09-10191.19    321.9
Jim Boldt15    5-1145.51-333.32-460.46    110.7
* Team Totals20    616-143343.0255-37767.6257-50476138.0427    148774.3

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Pat Lee29 on Mar 9, 1979 vs Winnipeg7 on Mar 8, 1979 vs StFX 
Mark Jorgenson20 on Mar 9, 1979 vs Winnipeg  
Eric Duerksen12 on Mar 8, 1979 vs StFX  
Scott Stevenson12 on Mar 8, 1979 vs StFX  
Geoff Thompson12 on Mar 8, 1979 vs StFX  
Greg Van Dolah9 on Mar 9, 1979 vs Winnipeg  
Paul Babcock4 on Mar 8, 1979 vs StFX  
Cal Keil4 on Mar 9, 1979 vs Winnipeg  
Jim Boldt2 on Mar 8, 1979 vs StFX  
George Hardisty2 on Mar 8, 1979 vs StFX  
Jeff Markert2 on Mar 8, 1979 vs StFX  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com