Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Victoria Vikettes - 1978-79 Season

Head Coach:Kathy Williams Shields (First season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
13-70.6501265-112263.2 - 56.117-120.5861686-155258.1 - 53.517-120.5861686-155258.1 - 53.5

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Michele Belanger Forward  
 Jane Boe   
 Marilyn Brain   
 Jane Favali Centre6-2 Kamloops, BCKamloops High
 Connie Hall   
 Luanne Hebb Krawetz 5-10 Prince Rupert, BC 
 Tracie McAra Sibbald Guard5-10 Victoria, BCReynolds Secondary
 Patti Pesklevits   
 Susan Shaw 6-2  
 Brenda Smith   
 Cindy Smith   
 Janis Turner   

Awards presented

Michele Belanger CIS Championship Tournament All-Star Team
Luanne Hebb Krawetz Canada West First Team All-Star, CIS Second Team All-Canadian

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Jul 1, 1978UnknownWinnipegLoss0-2  
Sat Jul 1, 1978UnknownWinnipegLoss0-2  
Sat Jul 1, 1978Calgary, ABCalgaryWin56-54 Calgary Invitational Tournament Championship
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 10, 1978Victoria, BCUBCWin81-47  
Sat Nov 11, 1978Victoria, BCUBCWin65-50  
Fri Nov 17, 1978Victoria, BCSaskatchewanWin80-44  
Sat Nov 18, 1978Victoria, BCSaskatchewanWin74-62  
Fri Nov 24, 1978Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin68-54  
Sat Nov 25, 1978Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin69-56  
Fri Jan 5, 1979Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss54-64  
Sat Jan 6, 1979Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss60-64  
Fri Jan 12, 1979Victoria, BCCalgaryLoss44-69  
Sat Jan 13, 1979Victoria, BCCalgaryWin67-59  
Fri Jan 19, 1979Vancouver, BCUBCWin76-37  
Sat Jan 20, 1979Vancouver, BCUBCWin54-48  
Fri Jan 26, 1979Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss62-64OT 
Sat Jan 27, 1979Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin50-48  
Fri Feb 2, 1979Victoria, BCLethbridgeWin64-45  
Sat Feb 3, 1979Victoria, BCLethbridgeLoss61-68  
Fri Feb 9, 1979Victoria, BCAlbertaWin60-52  
Sat Feb 10, 1979Victoria, BCAlbertaLoss50-56  
Fri Feb 16, 1979Calgary, ABCalgaryWin67-62  
Sat Feb 17, 1979Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss59-73  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 23, 1979Calgary, ABCalgaryWin66-59 Canada West Championship (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 24, 1979Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss57-72 Canada West Championship (Best of 3)
Sun Feb 25, 1979Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss71-73 Canada West Championship (Best of 3)
Thu Mar 1, 1979Regina, SKWinnipegWin55-47 CIAU Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 2, 1979Regina, SKGuelphWin63-60OTCIAU Semifinal
Sat Mar 3, 1979Regina, SKLaurentianLoss53-612OTCIAU Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Luanne Hebb Krawetz2000.00-00.0150-33045.545-6569.257-941517.565000034517.2
Jane Favali800.00-00.048-7564.039-7154.928-639111.415000013516.9
Michele Belanger2000.00-00.088-22040.039-5176.545-751206.049000021510.8
Susan Shaw2000.00-00.080-20139.847-9848.064-1011658.235000020710.3
Tracie McAra Sibbald2000.00-00.038-11732.541-6266.111-45562.87000001175.8
Jane Boe2000.00-00.032-8239.019-2965.515-33482.4250000834.2
Patti Pesklevits2000.00-00.022-6036.712-1675.018-23412.0280000562.8
Cindy Smith2000.00-00.020-6033.37-887.512-18301.550000472.4
Janis Turner2000.00-00.020-4940.83-560.07-9160.8130000432.1
Connie Hall1800.00-00.02-728.64-4100.02-350.32000080.4
Marilyn Brain1100.00-00.02-366.70-00.01-230.32000040.4
Brenda Smith1700.00-00.00-90.05-862.52-570.47000050.3
* Team Totals2000.00-00.0502-121341.4261-41762.6262-47173336.63160000126563.2


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com