Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Women's site

Ottawa Gee Gees - 1979-80 Season

Head Coach:John Restivo (First season)
League:OUAA East

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
5-70.417936-101378.0 - 84.48-160.3331703-193871.0 - 80.88-160.3331703-193871.0 - 80.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Rob Ashe Guard6-4 Ottawa, ON 
 Brian Coburn Guard5-101 
 Phil Davies Forward6-4 Burlington, ON 
 Mark Hareljac Forward6-3 Lively, ON 
 Mike Havey Forward6-3  
 Steve Huck Centre6-7 Ottawa, ONGlebe Collegiate
 Charles Hurdon Forward6-3 Thunder Bay, ON 
 Steve Jackson Forward6-21Ottawa, ONBell High
 Jim Kent Guard6-0  
 Denis Masson Guard5-10  
 Jeff McPhee Guard6-1 Montreal, QC 
 Peter Paulsen Forward6-5 Kingston, ON 
 Rene St. Fort Forward6-2 Montreal, QC 

Awards presented

Rob Ashe OUA East Second Team All-Star
Steve Huck OUA East Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sun Jul 1, 1979UnknownMount AllisonWin2-0 TSLU Dec/79
Sun Jul 1, 1979UnknownRyersonWin2-0 TSLU Dec/79
Fri Nov 9, 1979Ottawa, ONBrockLoss78-86 Gee-Gee Tip Off Tournament
Sat Nov 10, 1979Ottawa, ONDalhousieWin89-76 Gee-Gee Tip Off Tournament
Sat Nov 10, 1979Ottawa, ONWilfrid LaurierLoss83-84 Gee-Gee Tip Off Tournament
Fri Nov 30, 1979Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss93-107Stats 
Fri Dec 7, 1979Montreal, QCConcordiaLoss63-113 Pepsi Centennial Tournament
Sat Dec 8, 1979Montreal, QCLaurentianLoss84-94 Pepsi Centennial Tournament
Thu Dec 27, 1979Ottawa, ONWindsorLoss70-100 Raven Invitational
Fri Dec 28, 1979Ottawa, ONBishopsLoss76-85 Raven Invitational
Sat Dec 29, 1979Ottawa, ONGuelphLoss70-91 Raven Invitational
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Dec 1, 1979Toronto, ONRyersonWin101-78  
Fri Jan 11, 1980Ottawa, ONYorkLoss73-111  
Tue Jan 15, 1980Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss72-81  
Sat Jan 19, 1980Ottawa, ONLaurentianWin68-67  
Tue Jan 22, 1980Kingston, ONQueensWin78-73  
Fri Jan 25, 1980Ottawa, ONTorontoLoss63-88  
Fri Feb 1, 1980Toronto, ONYorkLoss64-95  
Sat Feb 2, 1980Toronto, ONTorontoLoss62-77  
Sat Feb 9, 1980Ottawa, ONRyersonWin102-45  
Tue Feb 12, 1980Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss72-124  
Sat Feb 16, 1980Ottawa, ONQueensWin94-85  
Sat Feb 23, 1980Sudbury, ONLaurentianLoss87-89  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Feb 26, 1980Toronto, ONYorkLoss57-89 OUAA East Semifinal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Rob Ashe12    83-18445.135-5761.4 625.238    20116.8
Steve Huck12    71-13453.022-4055.0 816.832    16413.7
Steve Jackson12    51-10648.143-5381.1 463.830    14512.1
Peter Paulsen12    52-11644.822-3073.3 12410.333    12610.5
Brian Coburn12    43-12434.726-2989.7 363.038    1129.3
Mark Hareljac12    28-5749.113-2065.0 484.033    695.8
Jeff McPhee12    14-3638.96-6100.0 100.819    342.8
Mike Havey12    14-2850.05-1241.7 211.814    332.8
Rene St. Fort12    9-3030.015-2462.5 70.613    332.8
Charles Hurdon12    5-1827.83-742.9 181.56    131.1
Jim Kent12    3-837.5   20.25    60.5
* Team Totals12    373-84144.4190-27868.3 45537.9261    93678.0


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com