Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Women's site

Lethbridge Pronghorns - 1980-81 Season

Head Coach:Ken Olynyk (2nd season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
8-120.4001505-166575.2 - 83.210-140.4171735-189372.3 - 78.910-140.4171735-189372.3 - 78.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Dave Adams Guard6-0 Lethbridge, ABLethbridge Collegiate
 Bob Arnett Post6-7  
 Alan Chapple Centre7-1  
 Tom Elwood Guard6-2 Burnaby North Secondary
 Mike Girbav Guard6-0 Coaldale, ABKate Andrews High
 Kelly Goheen Forward6-5 Penticton, BCPenticton Secondary
 Bill Guevin   
 Todd Nelson   
 Art Neyland Guard6-1  
 Don Richards Guard5-10 Calgary, ABSir Winston Churchill High
 Garth Van Gaalen Forward6-6210 Foremost, ABForemost School
 Rob Wilson Forward6-5 Calgary, AB 

Awards presented

Rob Wilson Lethbridge Male Athlete of the Year, Canada West Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownManitobaLoss0-2 TSLU Dec/80 Manitoba win over Lethbridge
Fri Jan 2, 1981Calgary, ABWinnipegWin78-74 Calgary Classic
Sat Jan 3, 1981Calgary, ABBrandonLoss68-82 Calgary Classic
Sun Jan 4, 1981Calgary, ABGuelphWin84-70 Calgary Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 21, 1980Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss65-98  
Sat Nov 22, 1980Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss58-71  
Fri Nov 28, 1980Lethbridge, ABCalgaryWin69-66  
Sat Nov 29, 1980Lethbridge, ABCalgaryLoss82-95  
Fri Jan 9, 1981Lethbridge, ABAlbertaWin79-62  
Sat Jan 10, 1981Lethbridge, ABAlbertaWin80-79  
Fri Jan 16, 1981Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss66-108  
Sat Jan 17, 1981Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss57-78  
Fri Jan 23, 1981Lethbridge, ABUBCWin86-77  
Sat Jan 24, 1981Lethbridge, ABUBCWin81-80  
Fri Jan 30, 1981Lethbridge, ABSaskatchewanLoss82-87  
Sat Jan 31, 1981Lethbridge, ABSaskatchewanWin83-82  
Fri Feb 6, 1981Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss80-87  
Sat Feb 7, 1981Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss83-103  
Fri Feb 13, 1981Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin83-74  
Sat Feb 14, 1981Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin73-71  
Fri Feb 20, 1981Lethbridge, ABVictoriaLoss79-88  
Sat Feb 21, 1981Lethbridge, ABVictoriaLoss71-90  
Fri Feb 27, 1981Vancouver, BCUBCLoss78-92  
Sat Feb 28, 1981Vancouver, BCUBCLoss70-77  

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Rob Wilson20    139-26652.377-11268.856-1021587.954    35517.8
Alan Chapple16    91-15558.736-4678.333-761096.833    21813.6
Dave Adams20    105-22945.928-3482.411-38492.532    23811.9
Kelly Goheen19    90-22739.646-5780.713-61743.944    22611.9
Don Richards20    69-15544.514-2751.917-37542.743    1527.6
Garth Van Gaalen16    38-7749.410-2147.618-37553.422    865.4
Bob Arnett20    34-8042.516-3053.330-34643.236    844.2
Tom Elwood20    25-5446.310-1283.34-14180.913    603.0
Bill Guevin8    8-1457.16-1154.54-260.87    222.8
Art Neyland20    21-5042.06-785.77-15221.115    482.4
Todd Nelson4    1-1100.01-1100.00-110.21    30.8
Mike Girbav18    6-1346.21-1100.01-450.37    130.7
* Team Totals20    627-132147.5251-35969.9194-42161530.8307    150575.2


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com