Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

York Yeomen - 1980-81 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Bob Bain (8th season)
Other staff: Gerry Barker (Assistant Coach), Terry Haggerty (Assistant Coach), Dominic Martino (Manager)
League:OUAA East

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
12-01.0001102-77791.8 - 64.832-20.9413023-232288.9 - 68.333-30.9173110-240886.4 - 66.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Tony Bone   
 John Christensen Centre6-91Pickering, ONPickering High
 David Coulthard Guard6-34Tillsonburg, ONGlendale Secondary
 Peter Greenway Centre6-6205 Burlington, ONNelson High
 Stan Hamstra   
 Mark Jones Guard6-0 Toronto, ONOakwood Collegiate
 Paul Jones Guard6-0 Toronto, ONOakwood Collegiate
 Ron Kaknevicius Forward6-5 Toronto, ONSt. Mike's
 Donovan Lawrence Forward6-6 Toronto, ONWest Humber Collegiate
 Grant Parobec Forward6-3 Toronto, ONKeiler McKay High
 Bo Pelech Forward6-4 Toronto, ONRunnymede Collegiate
 Dino Scagnetto 6-5  
 Lester Smith Forward6-4 Etobicoke, ONMimico High
 Enzo Spagnuolo Guard5-102Toronto, ONKipling Collegiate

Awards presented

David Coulthard E.C. Lebel Plaque (OUA East MVP), OUA East First Team All-Star, Mike Moser Memorial Trophy (CIS Outstanding Player), First Team All-Canadian
Paul Jones OUA East First Team All-Star, Kitch MacPherson Trophy (MVP in OUA Wilson Cup)
Bo Pelech OUA East First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Jul 1, 1980Hamilton, ONMcMasterWin89-60 McMaster Tournament
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownBrandonWin70-53 TSLU Dec/80 York win over Brandon
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownShaw CollegeWin2-0 TSLU Dec/80 York win over Shaw College
Tue Jul 1, 1980Toronto, ONConcordiaWin95-66 York Excalibur Classic
Tue Jul 1, 1980UnknownConcordiaWin75-62  
Fri Nov 7, 1980Montreal, QCUNBWin109-71 Redmen Invitational
Sat Nov 8, 1980Montreal, QCFranklin PierceLoss85-86 Redmen Invitational
Sun Nov 9, 1980Montreal, QCMcGillWin94-74 Redmen Invitational
Sat Nov 15, 1980Guelph, ONGuelphWin89-76 Guelph Tournament
Fri Dec 5, 1980Montreal, QCMcGillWin94-87 Concordia Centennial Pepsi Tournament
Sat Dec 6, 1980Montreal, QCConcordiaWin69-61 Concordia Centennial Pepsi Tournament
Fri Dec 26, 1980Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin101-68 Wesmen Classic
Sat Dec 27, 1980Winnipeg, MBDalhousieWin113-84 Wesmen Classic
Sun Dec 28, 1980Winnipeg, MBVictoriaLoss75-83 Wesmen Classic
Mon Dec 29, 1980Brandon, MBGuelphUnknown Bobcat Blue and Gold Classic
Fri Jan 2, 1981Calgary, ABAlbertaWin82-63 Calgary Classic
Sat Jan 3, 1981Calgary, ABGuelphWin94-84 Calgary Classic
Sun Jan 4, 1981Calgary, ABBrandonWin85-64 Calgary Classic
Wed Feb 4, 1981Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin78-62StatsMike Moser Game
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Jan 9, 1981UnknownCarletonWin82-64  
Sat Jan 10, 1981Ottawa, ONOttawaWin93-81  
Fri Jan 16, 1981UnknownQueen'sWin107-64  
Tue Jan 20, 1981Toronto, ONTorontoWin102-63  
Fri Jan 23, 1981UnknownLaurentianWin94-85  
Tue Jan 27, 1981UnknownRyersonWin90-72  
Fri Jan 30, 1981Toronto, ONOttawaWin101-67  
Sat Jan 31, 1981UnknownLaurentianWin75-45  
Tue Feb 3, 1981UnknownRyersonWin89-51  
Fri Feb 6, 1981Toronto, ONTorontoWin93-54  
Fri Feb 13, 1981UnknownCarletonWin80-70  
Fri Feb 20, 1981UnknownQueen'sWin96-61  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Feb 24, 1981Toronto, ONTorontoWin96-70 OUAA East Semifinal
Fri Feb 27, 1981Toronto, ONLaurentianWin92-71 OUAA East Final
Sat Mar 7, 1981Windsor, ONWindsorWin83-72 OUAA Championship
Thu Mar 12, 1981Waterloo, ONStFXLoss73-85StatsCIAU Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 13, 1981Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin89-55StatsCIAU Consolation Semifinal
Sat Mar 14, 1981Waterloo, ONWindsorWin76-74StatsCIAU Consolation Final

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
David Coulthard9    65-13050.013-1492.9 495.411    14315.9
John Christensen12    76-11765.032-5657.1 816.821    18415.3
Paul Jones12    71-13851.428-3775.7 605.033    17014.2
Ron Kaknevicius12    71-12059.218-2475.0 705.821    16013.3
Bo Pelech4    19-3161.310-1283.3 164.011    4812.0
Peter Greenway8    33-6749.313-1681.2 435.429    799.9
Grant Parobec12    44-9048.97-1258.3 836.938    957.9
Donovan Lawrence9    19-3652.814-2458.3 495.412    525.8
Lester Smith11    23-5145.111-1764.7 373.421    575.2
Enzo Spagnuolo10    14-3046.710-1855.6 292.915    383.8
Mark Jones12    16-5230.813-1681.2 191.614    453.8
Stan Hamstra4    7-1643.81-250.0 61.55    153.8
Tony Bone6    5-862.50-20.0 122.04    101.7
Dino Scagnetto4    1-812.54-666.7 20.51    61.5
* Team Totals12    464-89451.9174-25668.0 55646.3236    110291.8

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
David Coulthard30 on Mar 14, 1981 vs Windsor5 on Mar 14, 1981 vs Windsor6 on Mar 14, 1981 vs Windsor
Peter Greenway19 on Mar 13, 1981 vs Waterloo  
John Christensen16 on Mar 13, 1981 vs Waterloo  
Bo Pelech16 on Mar 12, 1981 vs StFX11 on Mar 12, 1981 vs StFX 
Ron Kaknevicius12 on Mar 13, 1981 vs Waterloo  
Paul Jones10 on Mar 12, 1981 vs StFX  
Enzo Spagnuolo4 on Mar 12, 1981 vs StFX  
Grant Parobec2 on Mar 12, 1981 vs StFX  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com