Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

UNB Red Raiders - 1982-83 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Don Nelson (20th season)
Other staff: Dr. Phil Wright (Assistant Coach)
League:AUAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
9-70.5621302-118481.4 - 74.09-110.4501603-150880.2 - 75.410-120.4551752-166279.6 - 75.5

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Ed Crowe  Champlain Saint-Lambert
 Scott Devine Guard6-0 Hyde Park, NYFranklin D. Roosevelt High
 Ted DeWinter Forward6-5 Sussex, NBSussex Regional High
 Steve French   
 Phil Guthrie   
 Paul Holder Centre6-8 Newcastle, NBMiramichi Valley High
 Chris McCabe Forward6-5 Yonkers, NYCardinal Spellman High
 Don McCormack Forward6-4 Fredericton, NBFredericton High
 Dale McIsaac  PEI 
 Mike Mooney   
 Mark Newell  Fredericton, NBFredericton High
 Scott Nicholson   
 Mike Sherrard  Toronto, ON 
 Al Tramley   
 Tony Walker Forward6-5195 Fredericton, NBFredericton High

Awards presented

Scott Devine AUS Second Team All-Star
Paul Holder AUS Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Nov 11, 1982Fredericton, NBHusson CollegeLoss68-75  
Fri Jan 7, 1983Fredericton, NBOttawaLoss75-78 UNB Tournament
Sun Jan 23, 1983Bangor, MEHusson CollegeWin81-79  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 19, 1982Wolfville, NSAcadiaLoss71-72  
Sat Nov 20, 1982Halifax, NSDalhousieLoss74-88  
Tue Nov 23, 1982Fredericton, NBMount AllisonWin96-82  
Fri Nov 26, 1982Fredericton, NBSaint Mary'sLoss51-53  
Tue Jan 11, 1983Sackville, NBMount AllisonWin97-67  
Fri Jan 14, 1983Fredericton, NBUPEILoss77-81  
Sat Jan 15, 1983Fredericton, NBUPEIWin97-63  
Fri Jan 21, 1983Antigonish, NSStFXLoss78-87  
Sat Jan 22, 1983Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sWin66-63  
Wed Feb 2, 1983Sackville, NBMount AllisonWin108-52  
Fri Feb 11, 1983Fredericton, NBAcadiaWin71-67  
Sat Feb 12, 1983Fredericton, NBDalhousieWin79-70  
Wed Feb 16, 1983Fredericton, NBMount AllisonWin99-85  
Fri Feb 18, 1983Charlottetown, PEUPEILoss72-88  
Sat Feb 19, 1983Charlottetown, PEUPEIWin101-95  
Sat Feb 26, 1983Fredericton, NBStFXLoss65-71OT 
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 4, 1983Halifax, NSStFXLoss77-81 AUAA Semifinal
Fri Mar 11, 1983Fredericton, NBYorkLoss61-74 CIAU Regional Semifinal
Sat Mar 12, 1983Fredericton, NBBrockLoss88-91 CIAU Regional Consolation Final

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Chris McCabe16    120-20558.527-4264.335-751106.9282529  26716.7
Paul Holder16    96-17654.544-6567.745-901358.448825  23614.8
Don McCormack16    105-23245.318-2572.020-51714.4354742  22814.2
Scott Devine16    96-19449.535-4185.412-45573.64111063  22714.2
Scott Nicholson16    47-11740.234-4477.311-23342.1374843  1288.0
Tony Walker14    28-4562.27-1258.37-14211.521711  634.5
Mike Mooney4    4-666.75-683.31-341.0485  133.2
Phil Guthrie15    20-3754.17-887.56-9151.0171513  473.1
Ed Crowe15    16-3151.64-1040.012-14261.7141114  362.4
Ted DeWinter15    8-1457.110-1471.46-14201.31525  261.7
Dale McIsaac14    10-2245.53-3100.03-13161.1618  231.6
Mark Newell16    3-837.52-366.71-230.2539  80.5
Steve French4                00.0
Al Tramley2                00.0
* Team Totals16    553-108750.9196-27371.8159-35351232.0271285267  130281.4


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com