Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Wilfrid Laurier Golden Hawks - 1982-83 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Chris Coulthard (2nd season)
Other staff: Tim Darling (Assistant Coach)
League:OUAA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
5-70.417914-96476.2 - 80.35-100.3331036-113269.1 - 75.55-100.3331036-113269.1 - 75.5

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Doug Aitchison Centre6-5  
 Leon Arendse Forward6-3 St. Catharines, ON 
 Peter Briglio Guard  
 Dave Byck   
 Steve Forden  Kitchener, ONKitchener Collegiate
 Pat Keane   
 Chuck Klassen Centre6-101Brockville, ONBrockville Collegiate
 Shawn O'Rourke  Tillsonburg, ON 
 Enzo Piazza Guard/Forward6-1 Windsor, ON 
 Mark Polischuk  Brantford, ONSt. John's College
40Dave Weaver Forward6-6 Niagara Falls, ON 

Awards presented

Chris Coulthard OUA West Coach of the Year
Doug Aitchison Laurier Men's Basketball Most Valuable Player

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 19, 1982Waterloo, ONWinnipegLoss49-72 Naismith Classic
Sat Nov 20, 1982Waterloo, ONWesternLoss0-2 Naismith Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Jan 5, 1983UnknownGuelphLoss51-57  
Fri Jan 7, 1983UnknownWindsorLoss73-92  
Sat Jan 15, 1983Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss76-83Stats 
Tue Jan 18, 1983UnknownMcMasterWin83-81  
Sat Jan 22, 1983UnknownWesternWin94-88  
Tue Jan 25, 1983UnknownBrockLoss69-86  
Sat Jan 29, 1983UnknownGuelphWin78-63  
Wed Feb 2, 1983UnknownWindsorWin88-80  
Tue Feb 8, 1983Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss84-96OT, Stats 
Fri Feb 11, 1983UnknownMcMasterLoss61-76  
Tue Feb 15, 1983UnknownWesternWin81-76  
Sat Feb 19, 1983UnknownBrockLoss76-86  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Feb 22, 1983Waterloo, ONWesternLoss73-94 OUAA West Quarterfinal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Dave Byck12    77-14453.528-4168.3 1018.447    18215.2
Doug Aitchison12    54-8662.833-4278.6 756.242    14111.8
Steve Forden12    45-10244.134-3987.2 363.039    12410.3
Mark Polischuk11    51-13637.510-1283.3 292.614    11210.2
Leon Arendse12    42-9842.920-3262.5 211.822    1048.7
Pat Keane10    35-8441.76-1346.2 333.318    767.6
Enzo Piazza11    37-9240.29-1369.2 282.59    837.5
Chuck Klassen12    32-6450.07-2035.0 574.831    715.9
Dave Weaver8    7-1258.33-650.0 111.422    172.1
Peter Briglio6    4-1428.6   10.211    81.3
Shawn O'Rourke3    1-333.30-10.0 10.33    20.7
* Team Totals12    385-83546.1150-21968.5 39332.8258    92076.7


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com