Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Saint Mary's Huskies - 1983-84 Season    <<Previous season

Head Coach:Gary Heald (5th season)
Other staff: Allan Waye (Assistant Coach), Rick Plato (Assistant Coach), John Landry (Manager), James MacDougall (Manager)
League:AUAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
11-70.6111260-114870.0 - 63.814-80.6361551-142570.5 - 64.814-80.6361551-142570.5 - 64.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Willie Hubbard   
 Greg Williams  Fort Lauderdale, FL 
4Warren Woods   
14Bill Marshall Guard6-1175 Gulfport, FL 
20Anthony Thomas   
22Ron Lardge  Fort Lauderdale, FL(Broward Junior College)
32Rod Buckland Forward6-41904Chatham, ONChatham Collegiate
34Brian (B.J.) Ross  Truro, NSCobequid Educational Centre
40John Murphy Forward6-71972Halifax, NSSt. Patrick's High
42Cliff Harris  Calgary, AB 
44Gary Bratty Forward6-42102Streetsville, ONStreetsville Secondary
52Rob Latter Centre6-72253Montreal, QCVanier College

Awards presented

Gary Heald AUS Coach of the Year
Ron Lardge AUS First Team All-Star
Rob Latter AUS First Team All-Star, Second Team All-Canadian

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Dec 2, 1983Montreal, QCYorkUnknown Concordia Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Dec 3, 1983Montreal, QCUnknownUnknown Concordia Tip-Off Tournament
Sun Dec 4, 1983Montreal, QCMcGillLoss71-72  
Thu Jan 5, 1984Wolfville, NSWaterlooWin69-68StatsAcadia Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Nov 19, 1983Charlottetown, PEUPEILoss61-79  
Tue Nov 22, 1983Halifax, NSDalhousieLoss0-1 SMU ineligible player, was 75-57
Tue Nov 29, 1983Halifax, NSAcadiaLoss0-1 SMU ineligible player, was 65-53
Tue Jan 10, 1984Halifax, NSDalhousieLoss70-73  
Sat Jan 14, 1984Halifax, NSUPEIWin93-54  
Tue Jan 17, 1984Wolfville, NSAcadiaWin73-68  
Thu Jan 19, 1984Antigonish, NSStFXLoss69-71  
Tue Jan 24, 1984Halifax, NSStFXWin71-69OT 
Fri Jan 27, 1984Halifax, NSMount AllisonWin90-70  
Sat Jan 28, 1984Halifax, NSUNBWin95-71  
Sat Feb 4, 1984Halifax, NSStFXWin80-75  
Tue Feb 7, 1984Wolfville, NSAcadiaWin78-74  
Fri Feb 10, 1984Fredericton, NBUNBWin79-66  
Sat Feb 11, 1984Sackville, NBMount AllisonWin80-64  
Tue Feb 14, 1984Halifax, NSDalhousieLoss81-86  
Sat Feb 18, 1984Halifax, NSAcadiaLoss62-64  
Tue Feb 21, 1984Antigonish, NSStFXWin82-71  
Sat Feb 25, 1984Halifax, NSDalhousieWin96-91  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 2, 1984Halifax, NSStFXWin73-70 AUAA Semifinal
Sat Mar 3, 1984Halifax, NSUPEIWin78-67 AUAA Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Rob Latter18    144-27153.173-13056.279-16824713.7514541  36120.1
Ron Lardge18    159-26859.329-3778.418-38563.1197748  34719.3
Greg Williams3    16-2564.04-4100.03-9124.01059  3612.0
Rod Buckland18    87-17649.433-4967.339-651045.8522149  20711.5
Bill Marshall18    57-11748.728-4168.310-33432.4285036  1427.9
Gary Bratty18    53-14237.325-3571.419-38573.2525434  1317.3
Cliff Harris14    33-7742.99-1656.215-30453.225912  755.4
Willie Hubbard3    3-560.04-4100.01-9103.31153  103.3
Brian (B.J.) Ross11    12-1963.28-988.91-670.6101416  322.9
John Murphy18    13-3834.26-1250.010-12221.228617  321.8
Warren Woods16    7-1546.73-742.92-460.481210  171.1
Anthony Thomas13    3-837.54-850.01-230.24 4  100.8
* Team Totals18    587-116150.6226-35264.2198-41461234.0298298279  140077.8


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com