Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Saskatchewan Huskies - 1983-84 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Guy Vetrie (5th season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
1-90.100618-75261.8 - 75.29-200.3102066-225971.2 - 77.99-230.2812244-248770.1 - 77.7

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Chris Biegler Forward6-72051Regina, SKDr. Martin LeBoldus High
 John Cleland Guard6-1 Saskatoon, SKMount Royal Collegiate
 John Dewar Guard  
 Paul Humbert Guard4Saskatoon, SKEvan Hardy Collegiate
 Greg Jockims Forward6-5 Saskatoon, SKMount Royal Collegiate
 Rick Johnson   
 Kirk Jones Forward6-41Saskatoon, SKHoly Cross High
 David Karwacki Guard  
 Mike Nunn   
 Mark Peters   
 Byron Tokarchuk Centre6-9255 Saskatoon, SKWalter Murray Collegiate

Awards presented

Paul Humbert Canada West Second Team All-Star
Byron Tokarchuk Canada West Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 28, 1983Winnipeg, MBLethbridgeLoss72-79 Petro Canada Invitational
Sat Oct 29, 1983Winnipeg, MBCarletonWin78-65 Petro Canada Invitational
Sun Oct 30, 1983Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss79-94 Petro Canada Invitational
Fri Nov 4, 1983Saskatoon, SKLaurentianWin79-72 Ironman Classic
Sat Nov 5, 1983Saskatoon, SKLethbridgeWin80-57 Ironman Classic
Fri Nov 18, 1983Saskatoon, SKSimon FraserLoss73-80 Basketball Saskatchewan Tournament
Sat Nov 19, 1983Saskatoon, SKCalgaryLoss67-86 Basketball Saskatchewan Tournament
Sat Nov 19, 1983Saskatoon, SKReginaLoss80-90 Basketball Saskatchewan Tournament
Thu Nov 24, 1983Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss82-95  
Fri Nov 25, 1983Great Falls, MTGreat FallsLoss46-72 Great Falls Invitational
Sat Nov 26, 1983Great Falls, MTUBCWin74-72 Great Falls Invitational
Sun Nov 27, 1983Havre, MTMontana State-NorthernLoss59-76  
Fri Dec 2, 1983Brandon, MBBrandonLoss74-91 Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Dec 3, 1983Brandon, MBManitobaLoss68-74 Tip-Off Tournament
Mon Jan 2, 1984Calgary, ABBrandonLoss62-98 Calgary Basketball Classic
Tue Jan 3, 1984Calgary, ABAlbertaLoss77-84 Calgary Basketball Classic
Wed Jan 4, 1984Calgary, ABDalhousieWin83-81OTCalgary Basketball Classic
Tue Jan 10, 1984Saskatoon, SKReginaWin85-64  
Thu Jan 12, 1984Saskatoon, SKUBCLoss76-80OTCanada West Preseason Classic
Fri Jan 13, 1984Saskatoon, SKLethbridgeLoss59-63 Canada West Preseason Classic
Sat Jan 14, 1984Saskatoon, SKCalgaryWin82-81 Canada West Preseason Classic
Tue Feb 7, 1984Regina, SKReginaWin91-81 Saskatchewan Universities Challenge
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Jan 20, 1984Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss55-71  
Fri Jan 27, 1984Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss68-91  
Sat Jan 28, 1984Vancouver, BCUBCLoss76-77  
Fri Feb 3, 1984Saskatoon, SKCalgaryLoss72-96  
Sat Feb 4, 1984Saskatoon, SKLethbridgeLoss64-84Stats 
Sat Feb 11, 1984Saskatoon, SKAlbertaLoss81-87  
Fri Feb 17, 1984Saskatoon, SKUBCWin86-66  
Sat Feb 18, 1984Saskatoon, SKVictoriaLoss59-92  
Fri Feb 24, 1984Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss57-86  
Sat Feb 25, 1984Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss0-2  

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Paul Humbert9    57-11450.017-2181.017-14313.428    13114.6
Byron Tokarchuk9    44-10442.315-3246.931-34657.226    10311.4
Chris Biegler9    29-6048.317-2665.413-22353.922    758.3
Rick Johnson5    11-2937.914-1973.711-10214.215    367.2
Kirk Jones9    25-5942.411-1668.819-16353.918    616.8
David Karwacki9    24-7532.09-1464.315-18333.717    576.3
Mark Peters9    20-4841.713-2065.013-13262.915    535.9
John Cleland9    20-4742.64-850.08-18262.926    444.9
John Dewar9    14-4332.64-4100.07-7141.614    323.6
Greg Jockims9    10-2638.54-757.15-491.013    242.7
Mike Nunn3    0-30.02-2100.00-110.34    20.7
* Team Totals9    254-60841.8110-16965.1139-15729632.9198    61868.7


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com