Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Winnipeg Wesmen - 1983-84 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Bruce Enns (11th season)
Other staff: Dave Crook (Assistant Coach)
League:Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
11-50.688543-49133.9 - 30.721-120.6361757-168953.2 - 51.222-130.6291900-186354.3 - 53.2

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Jim Bergman   
 Kurt Brenner   
 Craig Buss   
 Grant Greenwood Forward6-4 Dayton, OH(Rio Grande College)
 Wayne Harder   
 Wes Herbert   
 Mark Johannson Guard6-3  
 Tony Kaufmann Forward6-4 Winnipeg, MBVincent Massey Collegiate
 Art Koop Forward6-3 Winnipeg, MBRiver East Collegiate
 Scott McPherson  Winnipeg, MBWestwood Collegiate
 Will Parker Guard6-2  
 Russ Pedneault   
 Bruce Pirnie   
 Perrie Scarlett  Winnipeg, MBGordon Bell High
 Gord Tucker Forward6-6 Winnipeg, MBWestwood Collegiate

Awards presented

Mark Johannson Great Plains Second Team All-Star
Perrie Scarlett Great Plains First Team All-Star
Gord Tucker Great Plains Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 28, 1983Winnipeg, MBCarletonWin95-61 Petro Canada Invitational
Sat Oct 29, 1983Winnipeg, MBLethbridgeLoss71-77 Petro Canada Invitational
Sun Oct 30, 1983Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin92-77 Petro Canada Invitational
Fri Nov 4, 1983Winnipeg, MBLaurierWin76-74OT 
Sat Nov 5, 1983Winnipeg, MBLaurierWin70-68  
Sat Nov 12, 1983Grand Forks, NDNorth Dakota StateLoss51-87  
Fri Nov 18, 1983Waterloo, ONMcMasterWin59-55 Naismith Classic
Sat Nov 19, 1983Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss66-79StatsNaismith Classic
Sun Nov 20, 1983Waterloo, ONLaurierWin80-71 Naismith Classic
Fri Nov 25, 1983Trois Rivieres, QCUnknownWin2-0 UQTR Tournament
Sat Nov 26, 1983Trois Rivieres, QCMaisonneueve Senior MenWin92-87OTUQTR Tournament
Mon Dec 26, 1983Winnipeg, MBCalgaryLoss43-65 Wesmen Classic
Tue Dec 27, 1983Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin96-69 Wesmen Classic
Wed Dec 28, 1983Winnipeg, MBDalhousieLoss85-87 Wesmen Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Date unknownUnknownManitobaWin2-0 For Manitoba conference record of 2-14
Date unknownUnknownManitobaWin2-0 For Manitoba conference record of 2-14
Date unknownUnknownManitobaWin2-0 For Manitoba conference record of 2-14
Date unknownUnknownManitobaWin2-0 For Manitoba conference record of 2-14
Date unknownUnknownUnknownWin2-0 For Winnipeg conference record of 11-5
Date unknownUnknownUnknownWin2-0 For Winnipeg conference record of 11-5
Date unknownUnknownUnknownWin2-0 For Winnipeg conference record of 11-5
Date unknownUnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For Winnipeg conference record of 11-5
Date unknownUnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For Winnipeg conference record of 11-5
Date unknownUnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For Winnipeg conference record of 11-5
Fri Dec 2, 1983Winnipeg, MBLakeheadWin96-90  
Sat Dec 3, 1983Winnipeg, MBLakeheadLoss67-70  
Sat Jan 7, 1984Regina, SKReginaWin95-72  
Sun Jan 8, 1984Regina, SKReginaLoss76-79  
Fri Feb 10, 1984Winnipeg, MBReginaWin98-86  
Sat Feb 11, 1984Winnipeg, MBReginaWin97-88  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Date unknownUnknownLakeheadWin81-68 GPAC Semifinal
Date unknownUnknownBrandonLoss79-93 GPAC Championship (best of 3)
Date unknownUnknownBrandonLoss80-84 GPAC Championship (best of 3)
Thu Mar 8, 1984Calgary, ABCalgaryWin77-70 CIAU Regional Semifinal
Sat Mar 10, 1984Calgary, ABVictoriaLoss62-100 CIAU Regional Championship


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com