Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Acadia Axemen - 1985-86 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Dave Nutbrown (4th season)
League:AUAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
12-60.6671301-123272.3 - 68.414-90.6091613-153970.1 - 66.915-90.6251615-153967.3 - 64.1

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Clive Anderson Forward6-7 Toronto, ONWest Humber Collegiate
 Dave Benson   
 Eugene Gibson   
 Rob Hahn Forward6-7 Halifax, NSPrince Andrew High
 Charles Ikejiani Guard6-11801Glace Bay, NSGlace Bay High
 Grant MacDonald Forward6-62202Cole Harbour, NSCole Harbour District High
 Rodney Martin   
 Peter Morris Forward6-72053Windsor, NS 
 Gerald (Skeeter) Mower Guard  
 Gary Towle   
 Kevin Veinot Forward6-52172Mahone Bay, NSPark View Education Centre
 Bill Whittaker   
 Jason Wilson  Hailfax, NSQueen Elizabeth High

Awards presented

Dave Nutbrown AUS Coach of the Year
Rodney Martin AUS First Team All-Star
Peter Morris Ernie Foshay Memorial Award (StFX Invitational Tourn MVP), AUS Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Mon Jul 1, 1985Antigonish, NSUnknownWin2-0 StFX Invitational Semifinal
Mon Jul 1, 1985Antigonish, NSStFXWin2-0 StFX Invitational Final
Fri Nov 22, 1985Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierLoss83-87 Naismith Classic
Sat Nov 23, 1985Waterloo, ONTorontoUnknown Naismith Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Nov 26, 1985Wolfville, NSStFXLoss79-852OT 
Fri Nov 29, 1985Wolfville, NSMount AllisonWin93-68  
Sat Nov 30, 1985Wolfville, NSDalhousieLoss59-74  
Sat Jan 11, 1986Wolfville, NSSaint Mary'sWin66-63  
Tue Jan 14, 1986Halifax, NSDalhousieWin75-66  
Fri Jan 17, 1986Sackville, NBMount AllisonWin78-66  
Sat Jan 18, 1986Fredericton, NBUNBWin77-62  
Tue Jan 21, 1986Wolfville, NSStFXWin79-63  
Fri Jan 24, 1986Wolfville, NSUPEILoss55-56  
Sat Jan 25, 1986Wolfville, NSUNBWin91-69  
Tue Jan 28, 1986Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sWin73-69  
Mon Feb 3, 1986Wolfville, NSSaint Mary'sWin61-60  
Wed Feb 5, 1986Antigonish, NSStFXWin81-79  
Sat Feb 8, 1986Halifax, NSDalhousieWin69-65  
Tue Feb 11, 1986Wolfville, NSDalhousieWin59-58  
Thu Feb 13, 1986Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sLoss68-72  
Sun Feb 16, 1986Charlottetown, PEUPEILoss54-66  
Fri Feb 21, 1986Antigonish, NSStFXLoss84-91  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 28, 1986Halifax, NSUPEILoss82-88OTAUAA Semifinal
Fri Mar 7, 1986Wolfville, NSYorkWin83-69 CIAU Regional Semifinal
Sat Mar 8, 1986Wolfville, NSWesternLoss62-63 CIAU Regional Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Peter Morris18    88-16553.358-7379.550-801307.2491330  23413.0
Rob Hahn18    103-18057.219-2673.132-781106.144533  22512.5
Rodney Martin18    65-14345.558-6687.98-35432.4402815  18810.4
Gary Towle18    83-17746.911-1861.14-28321.8332234  1779.8
Eugene Gibson18    60-11950.439-5570.955-631186.6411948  1598.8
Kevin Veinot18    43-8749.428-3775.719-40593.330626  1146.3
Jason Wilson18    42-10639.624-3568.618-31492.7341124  1086.0
Gerald (Skeeter) Mower13    18-3946.24-944.40-21211.6173622  403.1
Grant MacDonald17    16-3644.411-1478.610-26362.125215  432.5
Dave Benson4    1-250.00-10.0   2    20.5
Clive Anderson17    2-1216.73-560.01-450.31 6  70.4
Bill Whittaker15    1-1100.02-366.70-110.1  2  40.3
Charles Ikejiani17    0-20.00-20.0   314  00.0
* Team Totals18    522-106948.8257-34474.7197-40760433.6319143259  130172.3


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com