U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

British Columbia Thunderbirds - 1986-87 Season

Head Coach:Bruce Enns (2nd season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
7-30.700780-72678.0 - 72.613-40.7651400-127982.4 - 75.213-40.7651400-127982.4 - 75.2

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Maurice Basso   
 Jamie Boulding   
 John Carlson   
 Mike Clarke   
 Kevin Hanson Guard North Delta, BCSeaquam Secondary
 J.D. Jackson Guard6-5 Vernon, BC 
 Paul Johansson   
 Eric Kristiansen   
 Alan Lalonde   
 Gord Matson   
 Aaron Point   
 Ken Scott   

Awards presented

Kevin Hanson CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Paul Johansson Canada West First Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian
Aaron Point Canada West Second Team All-Star, CIS Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Jan 9, 1987Vancouver, BCCalgaryWin63-46  
Sat Jan 10, 1987Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin70-63  
Fri Jan 16, 1987Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss71-91  
Sat Jan 17, 1987Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss68-73  
Sat Jan 24, 1987Victoria, BCVictoriaWin76-72  
Sat Jan 31, 1987Vancouver, BCVictoriaLoss61-82  
Fri Feb 6, 1987Calgary, ABCalgaryWin83-82  
Sat Feb 7, 1987Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin110-73  
Fri Feb 13, 1987Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin82-76  
Sat Feb 14, 1987Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin96-68  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 20, 1987Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin92-79 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Sat Feb 21, 1987Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin95-75 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Fri Feb 27, 1987Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin74-68 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Sat Feb 28, 1987Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin94-91 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Thu Mar 12, 1987Halifax, NSWesternWin93-76 CIAU Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 13, 1987Halifax, NSWinnipegWin106-90 CIAU Semifinal
Sat Mar 14, 1987Halifax, NSBrandonLoss66-74StatsCIAU Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Paul Johansson1000.02-540.079-15152.335-4381.417-20373.7322600019519.5
Aaron Point1000.00-00.058-9759.830-4665.240-7111111.127600014614.6
Alan Lalonde1000.01-333.348-9351.621-2972.414-29434.3221800011811.8
J.D. Jackson1000.04-757.139-9142.924-3177.49-16252.5291500010610.6
Kevin Hanson1000.04-1040.026-7236.111-2055.04-18222.22970000676.7
Mike Clarke1000.00-00.024-4158.512-1866.79-22313.1390000606.0
Eric Kristiansen1000.00-00.019-3751.418-2475.015-24393.9266000565.6
John Carlson1000.00-00.07-1643.82-450.03-10131.3290000161.6
Jamie Boulding900.00-00.02-825.04-666.72-680.92000080.9
Maurice Basso900.00-00.02-366.72-450.00-000.07200060.7
Ken Scott700.00-00.01-333.30-00.01-010.13000020.3
Gord Matson700.00-00.00-00.00-00.00-000.00100000.0
* Team Totals1000.011-2544.0305-61249.8159-22570.7114-21633033.024514400078078.0