Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Women's site

Western Mustangs - 1986-87 Season

Head Coach:Doug Hayes (12th season)
League:OUAA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
7-50.583960-87080.0 - 72.513-70.6501633-150281.7 - 75.113-70.6501633-150281.7 - 75.1

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Pod Armstrong   
 Al Campbell   
 Chris Cavender   
 Brian Does Forward6-5  
 Rick Duyzer   
 James Green Guard6-0  
 Alex Kapassouris   
 John Mikhail   
 Jeff Petter  Stayner, ONStayner Collegiate
 Kyle Rysdale   
 John Stiefelmeyer Centre6-6 Niagara Falls, ONStamford Collegiate
 Mario Tarantino   
 Terry Thomson Forward6-2 Niagara Falls, ONWestlane Secondary
 Peter Vandebovenkamp Forward6-6 Essex, ONEssex District High

Awards presented

Chris Cavender OUA West First Team All-Star, All-Canadian (Honourable Mention)
Peter Vandebovenkamp OUA West Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Nov 13, 1986Toronto, ONSaskatchewanWin87-78 National Invitational Tournament
Fri Jan 2, 1987Calgary, ABLethbridgeWin94-64 Dinosaur Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Jan 7, 1987London, ONWaterlooLoss72-78Stats 
Sat Jan 10, 1987UnknownMcMasterLoss47-66  
Wed Jan 14, 1987UnknownBrockWin95-85  
Wed Jan 21, 1987UnknownGuelphLoss77-84  
Sat Jan 24, 1987London, ONWilfrid LaurierWin91-71  
Wed Jan 28, 1987Windsor, ONWindsorLoss75-78  
Sat Jan 31, 1987Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss60-71Stats 
Wed Feb 4, 1987UnknownMcMasterWin80-64  
Sat Feb 7, 1987UnknownBrockWin78-65  
Sat Feb 14, 1987UnknownGuelphWin88-52  
Wed Feb 18, 1987Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin90-64  
Sat Feb 21, 1987London, ONWindsorWin107-92  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Feb 24, 1987London, ONWindsorWin99-89 OUAA West Quarterfinal
Fri Feb 27, 1987St. Catharines, ONBrockWin91-80 OUAA West Semifinal
Sat Feb 28, 1987St. Catharines, ONMcMasterLoss79-93 OUAA West Final
Thu Mar 12, 1987Halifax, NSUBCLoss76-93 CIAU Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 13, 1987Halifax, NSTorontoWin74-63 CIAU Consolation Semifinal
Sat Mar 14, 1987Halifax, NSSaint MarysWin73-72 CIAU Consolation Final

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
John Stiefelmeyer12  1-1100.074-14351.738-4879.2 857.134    18715.6
Chris Cavender12  1-714.363-16338.745-5188.2 625.234    17214.3
Peter Vandebovenkamp12  0-10.060-13145.849-7862.8 625.239    16914.1
Terry Thomson12  0-10.044-6468.820-3360.6 514.227    1089.0
John Mikhail12    42-10042.015-2075.0 221.820    998.2
Jeff Petter12    30-5851.718-2669.2 504.223    786.5
Mario Tarantino11  1-333.315-3740.518-2281.8 282.524    494.5
Pod Armstrong10  0-10.011-2544.017-2085.0 212.127    393.9
James Green11    13-2650.010-1376.9 80.710    363.3
Al Campbell2    2-366.72-2100.0 21.01    63.0
Brian Does5    3-3100.05-683.3 61.29    112.2
Rick Duyzer1    1-250.0          22.0
Kyle Rysdale3    2-540.0   51.72    41.3
Alex Kapassouris1    0-10.0          00.0
* Team Totals12  3-1421.4360-76147.3237-31974.3 40233.5250    96080.0


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com