Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Victoria Vikings - 1987-88 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Ken Shields (12th season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
17-30.8501848-167292.4 - 83.624-50.8282713-243093.6 - 83.825-60.8062805-250790.5 - 80.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Colin Brousson   
 Cord Clemens Centre7-0250 Surrey, BCQueen Elizabeth Secondary (Langara)
 Jerry Divoky Forward6-8185 Burnaby, BC 
 Rob Kreke Guard6-2175 Duncan, BC 
 Wade Loukes Forward6-51754Victoria, BC 
 Geoff McKay Guard6-41703Penticton, BCPenticton Secondary
 Spencer McKay Centre6-9 Oliver, BCSouthern Okanagan Secondary
 Dale Olson   
 Vito Pasquale Guard6-01655Sudbury, ONLockerby Composite
 Alan Phillips   
 Gord Schmidt Centre6-11 Nanaimo, BCNanaimo District Secondary (Weber State, Eastern Montana JuCo)
 Graham Taylor Guard6-21704Victoria, BCOak Bay Secondary

Awards presented

Cord Clemens Canada West First Team All-Star, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Geoff McKay Canada West Second Team All-Star
Spencer McKay Canada West First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Date unknownMoscow, IDIdahoLoss0-2 UVic loss, but score unknown
Mon Dec 28, 1987Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin96-94OTWesmen Classic
Sat Jan 2, 1988Calgary, ABReginaWin93-83StatsDinosaur Classic
Sun Jan 3, 1988Calgary, ABBishop'sWin92-75 Dino Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Nov 12, 1987Victoria, BCLethbridgeWin103-56  
Fri Nov 13, 1987Victoria, BCLethbridgeWin92-80Stats 
Fri Nov 20, 1987Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin80-79  
Sat Nov 21, 1987Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss75-90  
Fri Nov 27, 1987Calgary, ABCalgaryWin91-75  
Sat Nov 28, 1987Calgary, ABCalgaryWin90-80  
Fri Jan 8, 1988Victoria, BCAlbertaWin78-74  
Sat Jan 9, 1988Victoria, BCAlbertaWin87-76  
Fri Jan 15, 1988Vancouver, BCUBCLoss82-96  
Sat Jan 16, 1988Vancouver, BCUBCWin117-105  
Fri Jan 22, 1988Victoria, BCUBCWin90-87  
Sat Jan 23, 1988Victoria, BCUBCWin110-91  
Fri Jan 29, 1988Victoria, BCCalgaryWin96-67  
Sat Jan 30, 1988Victoria, BCCalgaryWin92-88  
Fri Feb 5, 1988Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin102-98  
Sat Feb 6, 1988Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin90-87  
Fri Feb 12, 1988Victoria, BCSaskatchewanWin97-89Stats 
Sat Feb 13, 1988Victoria, BCSaskatchewanWin108-93  
Fri Feb 19, 1988Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin97-84  
Sat Feb 20, 1988Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss71-77  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 26, 1988Victoria, BCAlbertaWin82-77 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Sat Feb 27, 1988Victoria, BCAlbertaWin110-81 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Fri Mar 4, 1988Victoria, BCSaskatchewanWin113-91 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Sat Mar 5, 1988Victoria, BCSaskatchewanLoss91-96 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Sun Mar 6, 1988Victoria, BCSaskatchewanWin96-76 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Fri Mar 11, 1988Halifax, NSUPEIWin101-74 CIAU Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 12, 1988Halifax, NSAcadiaLoss83-86 CIAU Semifinal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Cord Clemens20    125-21059.589-11974.853-921457.24822   33916.9
Geoff McKay20  23-3860.5116-20257.472-7892.328-32603.04337   32716.4
Spencer McKay20    119-21056.759-9661.551-811326.65315   29714.8
Graham Taylor19  17-2665.488-17650.076-9183.58-31392.15372   26914.2
Jerry Divoky20  1-1100.066-12951.230-4173.221-39603.05111   1638.2
Wade Loukes20  12-2646.256-11150.527-3479.424-46703.56351   1517.5
Rob Kreke12  1-333.322-4647.821-2487.59-8171.41118   665.5
Gord Schmidt10    18-4837.58-1457.110-16262.6245   444.4
Vito Pasquale20  7-2924.124-6636.429-3193.59-30391.93867   844.2
Dale Olson3    5-1050.02-450.04-6103.322   124.0
Colin Brousson20  0-20.017-3844.725-3083.34-9130.7208   593.0
Alan Phillips14    15-3050.07-977.82-680.6119   372.6
* Team Totals20  61-12548.8671-127652.6445-57177.9223-39661930.9417317   184892.4


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com