U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

British Columbia Thunderbirds - 1988-89 Season

Head Coach:Bruce Enns (4th season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
10-100.5001666-163383.3 - 81.713-120.5202095-208583.8 - 83.413-120.5202095-208583.8 - 83.4

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Mike Clarke   
 Paul Cohee   
 Chris Frye   
 Eric Kristiansen   
 Alan Lalonde   
 Jason Leslie   
 Diego Marchese   
 Gord Matson   
 Mark Osachoff   
 Aaron Point   
 Perrie Scarlett   
 Ken Scott   
 Jeff Strother   
 Reg Wiebe   

Awards presented

Alan Lalonde Canada West First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 18, 1988Vancouver, BCVictoriaLoss61-78  
Sat Nov 19, 1988Vancouver, BCVictoriaLoss83-84  
Fri Nov 25, 1988Calgary, ABCalgaryWin79-70  
Sat Nov 26, 1988Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss82-102  
Fri Dec 2, 1988Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin94-72  
Sat Dec 3, 1988Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss78-92  
Fri Jan 6, 1989Vancouver, BCLethbridgeLoss78-88  
Sat Jan 7, 1989Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin92-63  
Fri Jan 13, 1989Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin76-75  
Sat Jan 14, 1989Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss79-84  
Fri Jan 20, 1989Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss78-91  
Sat Jan 21, 1989Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss77-78  
Fri Jan 27, 1989Vancouver, BCCalgaryLoss77-83  
Sat Jan 28, 1989Vancouver, BCCalgaryWin77-69  
Fri Feb 3, 1989Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin92-77  
Sat Feb 4, 1989Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin82-70  
Fri Feb 10, 1989Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin102-87  
Sat Feb 11, 1989Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss89-94  
Fri Feb 17, 1989Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin97-84  
Sat Feb 18, 1989Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin93-92  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 24, 1989Calgary, ABCalgaryWin90-89 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Sat Feb 25, 1989Calgary, ABCalgaryWin95-92OTCanada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Fri Mar 3, 1989Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss89-101 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Sat Mar 4, 1989Victoria, BCVictoriaWin95-91OTCanada West Final (best of 3)
Sun Mar 5, 1989Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss60-79 Canada West Final (best of 3)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Alan Lalonde2000.042-10440.4141-29148.557-7180.336-58944.7694900038119.1
Mike Clarke2000.02-366.7118-23350.675-9281.547-841316.5861100031315.7
Aaron Point300.00-00.017-2470.85-683.32-10124.0810003913.0
Jason Leslie1900.00-00.084-15554.249-7169.052-651176.2712100021711.4
Perrie Scarlett2000.010-2934.575-17542.966-10165.314-25391.9458700022611.3
Diego Marchese2000.018-4639.153-12143.811-1764.712-18301.540240001356.8
Eric Kristiansen2000.00-00.041-8846.619-2867.933-42753.85870001015.0
Reg Wiebe2000.03-1520.037-8543.517-2763.023-51743.74724000944.7
Paul Cohee2000.01-425.033-6451.612-1866.75-16211.14122000794.0
Ken Scott700.00-00.07-2035.06-1442.98-11192.7141000202.9
Gord Matson1800.00-20.012-4626.111-1573.310-15251.4157000351.9
Jeff Strother1500.00-00.06-1637.58-1080.05-7120.8100000201.3
Chris Frye1000.00-10.01-520.01-250.02-240.42100030.3
Mark Osachoff600.00-20.00-20.00-20.01-010.21100000.0
* Team Totals2000.076-20636.9625-132547.2337-47471.1250-40465432.7507256000166383.2