Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Women's site

Acadia Axemen - 1989-90 Season

Head Coach:Dave Nutbrown (8th season)
Other staff: Chuck Goreham (Assistant Coach)
League:AUAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
11-70.6111341-125174.5 - 69.516-110.5932011-188274.5 - 69.716-110.5932011-188274.5 - 69.7

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Ted Byrne Forward6-82104St. John's, NL 
 Michael Dixon Guard6-32001Toronto, ON(Acadia)
 Danny Eveleigh Guard6-01751Greenfield Park, QCChamplain Saint-Lambert
 Rob Henry Forward6-71Dundas, ON 
 Eric James Guard5-91702Toronto, ONBathurst Heights Secondary
 Kevin Lee Forward6-72251Chatham, ON 
 Lars McDonald   
 Dave Moody Forward6-8180 Oakville, ON 
 Gerald (Skeeter) Mower Guard  
 John Shoemaker   
 John Sowerby   
 Danny Steele Guard6-2180 Lunenburg, NSPark View Education Centre
 Tim Taylor   
 Kevin Veinot Forward6-52175Mahone Bay, NSPark View Education Centre
 Duncan White Forward6-52202Wolfville, NSHorton District High

Awards presented

Ted Byrne AUS Second Team All-Star
Kevin Veinot AUS First Team All-Star, CIS Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 27, 1989Wolfville, NSSaint MarysWin72-65 Acadia Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 4, 1989Antigonish, NSSaint MarysLoss79-82 StFX Invitational
Fri Nov 10, 1989Waterloo, ONRyersonWin94-61 Naismith Classic
Sat Nov 11, 1989Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss61-67StatsNaismith Classic
Sun Nov 12, 1989Waterloo, ONTorontoLoss70-78 Naismith Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 17, 1989Wolfville, NSUNBWin81-65  
Sat Nov 25, 1989Antigonish, NSStFXLoss71-85  
Tue Nov 28, 1989Wolfville, NSSaint MarysLoss69-73  
Sun Dec 3, 1989St. John's, NLMemorialWin83-67  
Sat Jan 13, 1990Halifax, NSDalhousieLoss67-68  
Tue Jan 16, 1990Halifax, NSSaint MarysWin74-73  
Sat Jan 20, 1990Wolfville, NSUPEIWin62-59  
Tue Jan 23, 1990Wolfville, NSStFXWin68-63  
Sat Jan 27, 1990Fredericton, NBUNBWin96-74  
Sat Feb 3, 1990Wolfville, NSDalhousieWin86-70  
Tue Feb 6, 1990Wolfville, NSSaint MarysWin70-59  
Sun Feb 11, 1990Charlottetown, PEUPEILoss69-79  
Fri Feb 16, 1990Halifax, NSSaint MarysLoss64-66  
Sun Feb 18, 1990Halifax, NSDalhousieWin65-63  
Wed Feb 21, 1990Wolfville, NSStFXLoss72-74OT 
Sat Feb 24, 1990Wolfville, NSMemorialWin97-63  
Tue Feb 27, 1990Antigonish, NSStFXLoss74-81  
Fri Mar 2, 1990Wolfville, NSDalhousieWin73-69  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Mar 10, 1990Halifax, NSUPEIWin68-62 AUAA Semifinal
Sun Mar 11, 1990Halifax, NSStFXWin72-62 AUAA Championship
Fri Mar 16, 1990Halifax, NSAlbertaWin79-76OTCIAU Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 17, 1990Halifax, NSConcordiaLoss75-78StatsCIAU Semifinal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Kevin Veinot16  2-1216.7133-28746.354-7572.049-681177.3452327 232220.1
Ted Byrne18    118-19759.941-6068.354-921468.1601831  27715.4
Danny Eveleigh18  28-5749.166-13349.616-2176.23-18211.2274940 11769.8
Gerald (Skeeter) Mower14  13-3339.440-9940.413-2259.14-31352.5336525 21067.6
Kevin Lee17    45-9945.536-4973.546-671136.6581727 11267.4
Eric James14  1-425.034-8440.519-2965.53-23261.9375734 6886.3
Danny Steele18  4-1233.338-11034.524-2788.915-11261.4202023  1045.8
Duncan White17  0-10.037-9339.823-3860.519-30492.923217  975.7
Tim Taylor5  0-10.06-1346.2  0-661.2356  122.4
John Sowerby9    4-1330.83-475.04-150.611 6  111.2
John Shoemaker7  0-40.04-1330.8  0-220.3713  81.1
Lars McDonald7    2-366.73-560.05-160.9944  71.0
Dave Moody3    1-333.31-1100.0    11  31.0
Michael Dixon8  0-40.02-1020.00-10.00-881.0636  40.5
Rob Henry2    0-10.0          00.0
* Team Totals18  48-12837.5530-115845.8233-33270.2202-35856031.1339265250 12134174.5


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com