Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Women's site

Concordia Stingers - 1989-90 Season

Head Coach:John Dore (First season)
Other staff: Harvey Liverman (Assistant Coach)
League:OUAA East - East Section

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
15-30.8331723-142495.7 - 79.121-40.8402321-192092.8 - 76.821-40.8402321-192092.8 - 76.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Nick Arvanitis Forward6-5210 St. Laurent, QCVanier College
 Michael Baker Guard6-0165 Vankleek Hill, ONVankleek Hill Collegiate
 Michael Cohee Guard6-1155 Brossard, QCChamplain College
 Robert Ferguson Guard6-2190 LaSalle, QCVanier College
 Charlie Mason Guard6-3185 Plattsburgh, NYPlattsburgh High (Western Maryland)
 Dino Perin Centre6-8225 Chomedey, QCVanier College
 Ian Ployart   
 Ernest Rosa Forward6-5215 Montreal, QCVanier College
 Patrick Sullivan Guard5-11180 Verdun, QCChamplain College
 Raphael Tyrrell Guard5-9163 LaSalle, QCDawson College
 Hugh Wallace Forward6-3200 St-Bruno, QCChamplain College
 Trevor Williams   

Awards presented

Nick Arvanitis MVP of CIAU Championship / Jack Donohue Trophy, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Michael Cohee OUA East Second Team All-Star, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Dino Perin OUA East Second Team All-Star
Ian Ployart Concordia Male Rookie of the Year

Game results for the season

--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 24, 1989Ottawa, ONOttawaWin103-80  
Sat Nov 25, 1989Montreal, QCCarletonWin92-74  
Sun Nov 26, 1989Montreal, QCQueensWin115-86  
Fri Dec 1, 1989Montreal, QCLaurentianWin80-70  
Sun Dec 3, 1989Montreal, QCYorkWin118-78  
Fri Jan 5, 1990Montreal, QCTorontoWin96-85  
Sat Jan 6, 1990Montreal, QCRyersonWin111-91  
Tue Jan 9, 1990Ottawa, ONCarletonWin85-68  
Fri Jan 12, 1990Kingston, ONQueensWin77-52  
Sat Jan 13, 1990Toronto, ONYorkWin95-80  
Tue Jan 16, 1990Lennoxville, QCBishopsLoss86-87  
Fri Jan 26, 1990Toronto, ONTorontoWin83-66  
Tue Jan 30, 1990Montreal, QCBishopsWin101-85  
Fri Feb 2, 1990Toronto, ONRyersonWin130-69  
Sat Feb 3, 1990Sudbury, ONLaurentianLoss76-89  
Sat Feb 10, 1990Montreal, QCOttawaWin107-95  
Fri Feb 16, 1990Montreal, QCMcGillWin82-76  
Fri Feb 23, 1990Montreal, QCMcGillLoss86-93  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 2, 1990Montreal, QCOttawaWin109-71 OUAA East - Ottawa St Lawrence Semifinal
Sat Mar 3, 1990Montreal, QCBishopsWin76-60 OUAA East - Ottawa St Lawrence Final
Tue Mar 6, 1990Toronto, ONTorontoWin88-67 OUAA East Final
Sat Mar 10, 1990Montreal, QCGuelphLoss89-90OTOUAA Championship
Fri Mar 16, 1990Halifax, NSStFXWin78-71 CIAU Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 17, 1990Halifax, NSAcadiaWin78-75StatsCIAU Semifinal
Sun Mar 18, 1990Halifax, NSGuelphWin80-62 CIAU Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Trevor Williams5  1-520.034-6949.319-2673.1 153.019    8817.6
Michael Cohee17  7-1450.0108-18359.061-8472.6 985.849    28416.7
Nick Arvanitis18    120-22154.348-7663.2 1508.337    28816.0
Dino Perin18  1-1100.0116-19260.452-7074.3 1669.263    28515.8
Robert Ferguson18  19-6131.171-21133.640-5869.0 935.228    20111.2
Ernest Rosa18    64-11456.140-5572.7 915.148    1689.3
Michael Baker18  26-6043.348-12139.742-5280.8 452.541    1649.1
Patrick Sullivan17  15-4632.636-8442.98-1172.7 321.918    955.6
Charlie Mason16  2-1414.315-5726.329-4269.0 241.531    613.8
Raphael Tyrrell16  1-520.019-4740.416-1984.2 90.621    553.4
Hugh Wallace16    7-1353.818-2378.3 241.520    322.0
Ian Ployart3  0-10.01-425.0   10.32    20.7
* Team Totals18  72-20734.8639-131648.6373-51672.3 74841.6377    172395.7

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Nick Arvanitis27 on Mar 17, 1990 vs Acadia  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com