Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Guelph Gryphons - 1989-90 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Tim Darling (4th season)
Other staff: Gary Balogh (Assistant Coach), Dave MacNeil (Assistant Coach), John Beechy (Manager), Melissa Leiskau (Manager), Kathy McKay (Trainer)
League:OUAA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
11-30.7861079-88877.1 - 63.417-40.8101594-136275.9 - 64.917-40.8101594-136275.9 - 64.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Linas Azubalis Forward6-6 Toronto, ONSt. Michael's
 Brent Barnhart Forward6-82Welland, ON 
 Ben Birstonas Forward6-6 Barrie, ON 
 Stephen Cuevas Guard6-4  
 Ray Darling Guard6-0  
 Eric Hammond Centre6-93Scarborough, ONCedarbrae Collegiate (St. Francis)
 Sean Kelly Forward6-8 Barrie, ONBarrie North Collegiate
 Kevin LaRose Guard5-11  
 Rene Luypaert Forward  
 Tim Mau Forward6-82Ottawa, ONSt. Pius X High
 Brian Moore Guard6-2 Scarborough, ONWest Hill Collegiate, Pickering High
 Chris O'Rourke Guard5-101Tillsonburg, ONGlendale Secondary
 Greg Scott   
 Tim Sprung   
 Shawn Taras Forward6-53Acton, ON 
 Kurt Vanclief   
 Fred Wood   

Awards presented

Tim Darling OUA West Coach of the Year
Eric Hammond OUA West First Team All-Star, Second Team All-Canadian
Tim Mau Guelph Male Athlete of the Year, Guelph President's Trophy - Male Student-Athlete, Kitch MacPherson Trophy (MVP in OUA Wilson Cup), E.C. Lebel Plaque (OUA West MVP), OUA West First Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian, CIS Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Nov 11, 1989Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanWin96-57 Golden Bear Invitational
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Jan 10, 1990UnknownWesternLoss60-62  
Sat Jan 13, 1990UnknownWilfrid LaurierWin87-67  
Wed Jan 17, 1990UnknownBrockWin92-61  
Sat Jan 20, 1990UnknownWindsorWin79-68  
Wed Jan 24, 1990Guelph, ONWaterlooLoss53-54OT, Stats 
Sat Jan 27, 1990UnknownBrockWin73-53  
Fri Feb 2, 1990Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadWin79-65  
Sat Feb 3, 1990Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadWin81-62  
Wed Feb 7, 1990UnknownMcMasterWin84-82OT 
Sat Feb 10, 1990UnknownWesternLoss48-58  
Wed Feb 14, 1990UnknownWilfrid LaurierWin85-70  
Sat Feb 17, 1990UnknownMcMasterWin88-66  
Wed Feb 21, 1990UnknownWindsorWin100-64  
Sat Feb 24, 1990Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin70-56Stats 
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 2, 1990London, ONBrockWin70-67 OUAA West Semifinal
Sat Mar 3, 1990London, ONWesternWin63-55 OUAA West Final
Sat Mar 10, 1990Montreal, QCConcordiaWin90-89OTOUAA Championship
Fri Mar 16, 1990Halifax, NSTorontoWin73-66 CIAU Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 17, 1990Halifax, NSVictoriaWin61-60 CIAU Semifinal
Sun Mar 18, 1990Halifax, NSConcordiaLoss62-80 CIAU Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Eric Hammond14    110-18758.837-7052.9 1228.741    25718.4
Tim Mau13    75-16046.962-10161.4 15612.026    21216.3
Ray Darling14  20-5139.247-11142.322-3366.7 453.227    1369.7
Linas Azubalis12    42-7357.58-1361.5 443.712    927.7
Rene Luypaert14  1-250.040-9840.826-4854.2 614.445    1077.6
Stephen Cuevas14  7-1258.333-7047.17-1450.0 211.526    805.7
Sean Kelly14    33-6055.09-1369.2 231.613    755.4
Brent Barnhart9  0-10.016-2857.11-250.0 202.211    333.7
Brian Moore8    10-2245.57-1070.0 141.812    273.4
Chris O'Rourke6  2-728.68-2138.12-366.7 50.87    203.3
Tim Sprung13    13-2552.07-1546.7 251.912    332.5
Greg Scott4    2-2100.0   10.23    41.0
Shawn Taras2    0-20.02-2100.0 10.51    21.0
Ben Birstonas2    0-10.01-714.3 42.02    10.5
Kevin LaRose     0-40.0   1      00.0
* Team Totals14  30-7341.1429-86449.7191-33157.7 54338.8238    107977.1


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com