Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Victoria Vikings - 1989-90 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Guy Vetrie (First season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
16-40.8001691-152684.5 - 76.320-70.7412241-204183.0 - 75.620-70.7412241-204183.0 - 75.6

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Maurice Basso   
 Clint Hamilton Forward6-62104Armstrong, BCPleasant Valley Secondary
 Fraser Jefferson  Vancouver, BCMagee Secondary
 Tom Johnson Guard6-3 North Saanich, BCParkland Secondary
 David Lescheid   
 Vesa Linnamo   
 David McIntosh Guard6-1175 Halifax, NSSt. Patrick's High
 Geoff McKay Guard6-41705Penticton, BCPenticton Secondary
 Spencer McKay Centre6-9 Oliver, BCSouthern Okanagan Secondary
 Rick Mesich   
 Kevin Ottewell   
 Roger Rai Guard6-1 Vancouver, BC 
 Chris Schriek   

Awards presented

Guy Vetrie Canada West Coach of the Year
Tom Johnson Canada West First Team All-Star
Geoff McKay Canada West Second Team All-Star
Spencer McKay Canada West First Team All-Star, Second Team All-Canadian
Kevin Ottewell Canada West Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 17, 1989Victoria, BCUBCWin71-70  
Sat Nov 18, 1989Victoria, BCUBCLoss80-98  
Fri Nov 24, 1989Victoria, BCCalgaryWin75-65  
Sat Nov 25, 1989Victoria, BCCalgaryWin79-76  
Fri Dec 1, 1989Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin85-84  
Sat Dec 2, 1989Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin67-66  
Fri Jan 5, 1990Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin79-69  
Sat Jan 6, 1990Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin77-71  
Fri Jan 12, 1990Victoria, BCSaskatchewanWin94-52  
Sat Jan 13, 1990Victoria, BCSaskatchewanWin81-50  
Fri Jan 19, 1990Vancouver, BCUBCLoss98-104  
Sat Jan 20, 1990Vancouver, BCUBCLoss79-88  
Fri Jan 26, 1990Calgary, ABCalgaryWin93-88Stats 
Sat Jan 27, 1990Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss90-96  
Fri Feb 2, 1990Victoria, BCAlbertaWin86-78Stats 
Sat Feb 3, 1990Victoria, BCAlbertaWin78-72  
Fri Feb 9, 1990Victoria, BCLethbridgeWin87-74  
Sat Feb 10, 1990Victoria, BCLethbridgeWin113-63  
Fri Feb 16, 1990Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin87-80  
Sat Feb 17, 1990Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin92-82  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 23, 1990Victoria, BCCalgaryWin105-81 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Sat Feb 24, 1990Victoria, BCCalgaryWin82-79 Canada West Semifinal (best of 3)
Fri Mar 2, 1990Victoria, BCAlbertaWin74-57 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Sat Mar 3, 1990Victoria, BCAlbertaLoss67-71 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Sun Mar 4, 1990Victoria, BCAlbertaLoss69-81 Canada West Final (best of 3)
Fri Mar 16, 1990Halifax, NSBrandonWin93-85 CIAU Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 17, 1990Halifax, NSGuelphLoss60-61 CIAU Semifinal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Geoff McKay18  35-8541.2111-22848.776-8095.018-40583.23949   33318.5
Spencer McKay20    138-24057.562-10260.856-921487.45841   33816.9
Tom Johnson20  46-13035.4123-28742.931-4372.16-27331.64258   32316.1
Kevin Ottewell20  3-837.590-16753.938-5865.545-671125.65338   22111.1
David Lescheid20  0-20.055-10253.947-6869.135-49844.26115   1577.8
David McIntosh20  14-2751.939-7353.418-2378.39-21301.53536   1105.5
Clint Hamilton18    35-6851.512-1675.015-33482.72515   824.6
Vesa Linnamo20  4-1526.722-4647.83-560.010-7170.8126   512.5
Rick Mesich18    16-3348.510-1758.812-31432.44411   422.3
Chris Schriek10    5-955.62-366.73-12151.57    121.2
Maurice Basso18    7-2330.44-1040.06-8140.8348   181.0
Roger Rai12  0-10.01-616.71-250.01-010.111   30.2
Fraser Jefferson6  0-30.00-40.01-425.00-220.33    10.2
* Team Totals20  102-27137.6642-128649.9305-43170.8216-38960530.2414278   169184.5

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Tom Johnson  15 on Jan 26, 1990 vs Calgary


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com