Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Women's site

Western Mustangs - 1990-91 Season

Head Coach:Craig Boydell (First season)
Other staff: Jim Allen (Assistant Coach), Lance Perkins (Administrative Assistant), Terri Todd (Trainer), Cindy Mar (Manager), Marli Pinnau Cline (Manager), Carl Grindstaff (Academic Advisor)
League:OUAA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
12-20.8571302-107393.0 - 76.618-20.9001844-154992.2 - 77.518-20.9001844-154992.2 - 77.5

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
11Glenn Eastland Guard/Forward6-2  
12Steve King Forward6-2  
15Brendan Noonan Guard5-11 Toronto, ON 
20Ryan Smith Guard6-0 Edmonton, ABRoss Sheppard High
21Aaron Czaja Guard6-0  
22James Green Guard6-0  
23Michael Lynch Forward6-5 Markham, ON 
32Dave Ormerod Guard5-10  
33Michael Partridge Forward6-3  
34Brian Does Forward6-5  
35Michael Yuhasz Forward6-5  
41John Stiefelmeyer Centre6-6 Niagara Falls, ONStamford Collegiate
45Robert Hitchon Forward/Centre6-6  
55Peter Vandebovenkamp Forward6-6 Essex, ONEssex District High

Awards presented

James Green OUA West First Team All-Star
Dave Ormerod Kitch MacPherson Trophy (MVP in OUA Wilson Cup)
John Stiefelmeyer E.C. Lebel Plaque (OUA West MVP), OUA West First Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian, MVP of CIAU Championship / Jack Donohue Trophy, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Peter Vandebovenkamp CIS Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 9, 1990Ottawa, ONUnknownUnknown House Laughton Classic
Sat Nov 10, 1990Ottawa, ONUnknownUnknown House Laughton Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Jan 9, 1991Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin104-87  
Sat Jan 12, 1991London, ONGuelphWin91-78  
Wed Jan 16, 1991UnknownMcMasterWin78-68  
Sat Jan 19, 1991UnknownBrockWin87-66  
Wed Jan 23, 1991UnknownWindsorWin102-79  
Sat Jan 26, 1991London, ONWilfrid LaurierWin107-65  
Wed Jan 30, 1991Guelph, ONGuelphLoss78-87  
Sat Feb 2, 1991UnknownWindsorWin107-77  
Fri Feb 8, 1991London, ONLakeheadWin78-65  
Sat Feb 9, 1991London, ONLakeheadWin97-73  
Wed Feb 13, 1991London, ONWaterlooWin83-70Stats 
Sat Feb 16, 1991UnknownMcMasterWin85-68  
Wed Feb 20, 1991UnknownBrockWin106-88  
Sat Feb 23, 1991Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss99-102Stats 
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 1, 1991Guelph, ONMcMasterWin111-81 OUAA West Semifinal
Sat Mar 2, 1991Guelph, ONGuelphWin83-80 OUAA West Final
Sat Mar 9, 1991London, ONConcordiaWin98-97 OUAA Championship
Fri Mar 15, 1991Halifax, NSLaurentianWin85-72StatsCIAU Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 16, 1991Halifax, NSVictoriaWin87-77StatsCIAU Semifinal
Sun Mar 17, 1991Halifax, NSGuelphWin78-69 CIAU Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
John Stiefelmeyer11  12-2450.085-16551.537-4288.1 807.324    21919.9
James Green14  26-4656.596-19349.738-4879.2 362.616    25618.3
Peter Vandebovenkamp14    72-12657.148-6771.6 856.139    19213.7
Brian Does14    67-12254.941-5771.9 745.335    17512.5
Dave Ormerod14  3-933.338-8843.239-6065.0 412.931    1188.4
Glenn Eastland12  4-944.429-5850.025-3180.6 554.623    877.2
Michael Yuhasz14    27-5152.922-3073.3 412.918    765.4
Michael Lynch12    25-6041.715-2462.5 373.119    655.4
Robert Hitchon3    7-977.82-540.0 62.04    165.3
Steve King8  8-1942.18-2433.33-475.0 60.89    273.4
Ryan Smith13  7-1741.217-3844.72-450.0 171.315    433.3
Michael Partridge2  0-10.01-425.02-450.0 31.5     42.0
Aaron Czaja8  1-1100.04-944.43-650.0 70.95    121.5
Brendan Noonan9  0-10.04-944.44-944.4 60.710    121.3
* Team Totals14  61-12748.0480-95650.2281-39171.9 49435.3248    130293.0

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
John Stiefelmeyer26 on Mar 15, 1991 vs Laurentian  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com