Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Winnipeg Wesmen - 1995-96 Season

Head Coach:Craig Kennedy (First season)
League:Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
9-60.600826-77455.1 - 51.618-150.5451993-192760.4 - 58.418-150.5451993-192760.4 - 58.4

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
1Lara Asplin Centre6-2 Headingley, MB 
2Shawna Cook Forward6-1 Brandon, MB 
3Heather Corby   
4Sandra Corby Centre6-0 Winnipeg, MB 
6Dallas English   
7Lynette Lafreniere   
8Natalie McVicar Forward5-11 Winnipeg, MB 
9Marnie Nechwediuk   
10Jody Rock   
12Anna-Marie Weber Guard5-6 Winnipeg, MB 

Awards presented

Lara Asplin Great Plains Second Team All-Star
Lynette Lafreniere Great Plains Second Team All-Star
Jody Rock Great Plains First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 20, 1995London, ONDalhousieLoss59-65 Western Homecoming Classic
Sat Oct 21, 1995London, ONBishopsWin83-69 Western Homecoming Classic
Sun Oct 22, 1995London, ONWesternLoss50-72 Western Homecoming Classic
Fri Oct 27, 1995Quebec City, QCTorontoLoss58-74 Laval Tournament
Sat Oct 28, 1995Quebec City, QCUNBWin87-53 Laval Tournament
Sun Oct 29, 1995Quebec City, QCLavalLoss51-65 Laval Tournament
Fri Nov 10, 1995Halifax, NSSaint MarysWin68-59 Subway Centennial Tournament
Sat Nov 11, 1995Halifax, NSAcadiaWin71-55 Subway Centennial Tournament
Sun Nov 12, 1995Halifax, NSDalhousieLoss51-83 Subway Centennial Tournament
Sun Dec 31, 1995Winnipeg, MBLakeheadWin69-44 Winnipeg Wesmen Classic
Mon Jan 1, 1996Winnipeg, MBLavalWin61-47 Winnipeg Wesmen Classic
Tue Jan 2, 1996Winnipeg, MBBrandonLoss59-60 Winnipeg Wesmen Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Jul 1, 1995UnknownBrandonWin2-0 For Brandon conference record of 1-14
Sat Jul 1, 1995UnknownManitobaLoss0-2 For Manitoba conference record of 13-2
Sat Jul 1, 1995Regina, SKReginaLoss0-2 For Winnipeg conference record of 9-6
Sat Jul 1, 1995Winnipeg, MBReginaWin2-0 For Winnipeg conference record of 9-6
Fri Jan 12, 1996Regina, SKReginaWin68-55  
Sat Jan 13, 1996Regina, SKReginaWin80-65  
Thu Jan 18, 1996UnknownManitobaLoss78-84  
Sun Jan 21, 1996UnknownManitobaLoss68-81  
Fri Jan 26, 1996UnknownBrandonLoss62-65  
Sat Jan 27, 1996UnknownBrandonWin82-64  
Sat Feb 3, 1996Winnipeg, MBReginaWin75-64  
Thu Feb 8, 1996UnknownManitobaWin73-71  
Sun Feb 11, 1996UnknownManitobaLoss71-91  
Fri Feb 16, 1996UnknownBrandonWin83-69  
Sat Feb 17, 1996UnknownBrandonWin82-61  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 23, 1996UnknownReginaWin76-60 GPAC Semifinal (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 24, 1996UnknownReginaLoss61-83 GPAC Semifinal (Best of 3)
Sun Feb 25, 1996UnknownReginaWin58-51 GPAC Semifinal (Best of 3)
Wed Feb 28, 1996UnknownManitobaWin77-66 GPAC Championship (Best of 3)
Fri Mar 1, 1996UnknownManitobaLoss58-73 GPAC Championship (Best of 3)
Sun Mar 3, 1996UnknownManitobaLoss70-74 GPAC Championship (Best of 3)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Jody Rock1500.00-00.0116-21853.251-7667.142-681107.332264202828318.9
Lynette Lafreniere1500.00-00.0103-16363.222-4153.748-43916.1439300522815.2
Lara Asplin1500.00-00.070-17739.527-4165.951-921439.534144102216711.1
Natalie McVicar1500.020-7028.638-12430.625-4259.516-30463.13844420201218.1
Sandra Corby1500.00-00.030-6645.526-3086.719-24432.9291617013865.7
Heather Corby1400.00-00.034-9934.311-2250.010-40503.6354363023795.6
Marnie Nechwediuk1300.01-812.59-2733.312-1770.65-15201.515232109312.4
Dallas English1500.02-450.011-2839.36-966.72-21231.5302528014302.0
Shawna Cook1400.00-00.011-3234.46-1250.010-11211.52131608282.0
Anna-Marie Weber1100.00-00.07-2429.25-862.52-12141.316912013191.7
* Team Totals1500.023-8228.0429-95844.8191-29864.1205-35656137.42932123120155107271.5


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com