Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Concordia Stingers - 1996-97 Season

Head Coach:Keith Pruden (2nd season)
Other staff: Christine Durrant (Manager), Ron Rappel (Head Athletic Therapist), Sandy Anderson (Student Therapist), Amy Vermilyea (Student Therapist)
League:QSSF

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
16-40.8001355-121067.8 - 60.523-100.6972286-203769.3 - 61.724-100.7062361-207669.4 - 61.1

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Amy MacDonald Post5-112Truro, NS 
5Cauline Penney Guard5-91Whitby, ONAnderson Collegiate
6Julie Nadeau Guard5-92Mascouche, QCCollege Ahuntsic
7Wanda Vieira Guard5-43Montreal, QCVanier College
8Guylaine Blanchette Forward6-03St. Leonard, QCCollege Ahuntsic (Manhattan College)
10Carol-Ann Tull Guard5-31St. Hubert, QCSt. Exupery
11Jennifer Smith Guard5-74Pembroke, ONJohn Abbott College
12Isabelle Bernier Forward6-05Drummondville, QCCollege Ahuntsic
13Marie-Helene Heroux Forward5-113Trois-Rivieres, QCCollege Ahuntsic
14Jaime Sochasky Guard5-53Kingston, ONLa Salle Secondary
15Wanita Jones Guard5-103Montreal, QCDawson College
20Patricia Demers Forward5-115St. Laurent, QCCollege Ahuntsic

Awards presented

Guylaine Blanchette RSEQ Premiere equipe d'etoiles (First Team All-Star)
Patricia Demers RSEQ Premiere equipe d'etoiles (First Team All-Star)

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 25, 1996Thunder Bay, ONManitobaLoss61-64 Saxon Classic
Sat Oct 26, 1996Thunder Bay, ONBrandonWin82-80 Saxon Classic
Sun Oct 27, 1996Thunder Bay, ONAlbertaLoss51-65 Saxon Classic
Fri Nov 1, 1996Montreal, QCGuelphWin87-60 McGill Redbird Classic
Sat Nov 2, 1996Montreal, QCCape BretonWin109-45 McGill Redbird Classic
Sun Nov 3, 1996Montreal, QCMcGillLoss54-61 McGill Redbird Classic
Fri Nov 8, 1996Montreal, QCWilfrid LaurierWin94-76 Concordia Classic
Sat Nov 9, 1996Montreal, QCBishopsWin85-57 Concordia Classic
Sun Nov 10, 1996Montreal, QCMcGillLoss65-74 Concordia Classic
Sun Jan 5, 1997Montreal, QCKeene State CollegeWin75-39  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 15, 1996Montreal, QCQueensWin81-67  
Sat Nov 16, 1996Montreal, QCTorontoLoss63-83  
Fri Nov 22, 1996Ottawa, ONCarletonWin80-49  
Sat Nov 23, 1996Ottawa, ONOttawaWin74-57  
Fri Nov 29, 1996Montreal, QCBishopsWin69-48  
Sat Nov 30, 1996Montreal, QCLavalWin66-61  
Fri Jan 10, 1997Sudbury, ONLaurentianLoss62-74  
Fri Jan 17, 1997Montreal, QCRyersonWin57-50  
Sat Jan 18, 1997Montreal, QCYorkWin60-52  
Fri Jan 24, 1997Quebec City, QCLavalWin53-49  
Sat Jan 25, 1997Lennoxville, QCBishopsWin62-52  
Fri Jan 31, 1997Toronto, ONTorontoLoss60-71  
Sat Feb 1, 1997Kingston, ONQueensLoss55-58  
Fri Feb 7, 1997Montreal, QCOttawaWin73-65  
Sat Feb 8, 1997Montreal, QCCarletonWin84-55  
Tue Feb 11, 1997Montreal, QCMcGillWin79-78  
Sun Feb 16, 1997Montreal, QCLaurentianWin60-55  
Fri Feb 21, 1997Toronto, ONYorkWin63-54  
Sat Feb 22, 1997Toronto, ONRyersonWin69-61  
Fri Feb 28, 1997Montreal, QCMcGillWin85-71  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Mar 8, 1997Montreal, QCMcGillWin59-57 Quebec Championship
Fri Mar 14, 1997Thunder Bay, ONYorkLoss47-70 CIAU Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 15, 1997Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadWin78-45 CIAU Consolation Semifinal
Sun Mar 16, 1997Thunder Bay, ONVictoriaLoss59-73 CIAU Consolation Final


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com