Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Guelph Gryphons - 1996-97 Season

Head Coach:Angela Orton (9th season)
Other staff: Eric Stewart (Assistant Coach), Christine East (Manager), Daelyn Woolnough (Manager), Cheryl Macedo (Trainer), Sarah Wills (Trainer), Bryn Ludlow (Ballgirl)
League:OWIAA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
8-60.571859-83761.4 - 59.815-170.4691972-203061.6 - 63.415-170.4691972-203061.6 - 63.4

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Skye Angus   
 Karen Arnott Centre6-0 Martintown, ON 
 Andrea Bielecki   
 Julie Donohue Forward5-8 Sarnia, ON 
 Aaryn Harris   
 Anne Herbison Guard5-9 Brantford, ON 
 Nicole Hogg Post6-0 Richmond Hill, ON 
 Jodi Jenkins Forward5-10 St. Thomas, ON 
 Pat Marcello Guard5-9 Toronto, ON 
 Kristy Newton Guard5-6 Niagara Falls, ON 
 Gina Tatti Guard5-9 Hamilton, ON 
 Laurie Townshend   
 Elise Volpe   
 Rena Wesolowski Guard5-8 Waterdown, ON 

Awards presented

Angela Orton OUA West Coach of the Year
Karen Arnott OUA West All-Star Team, Tracy MacLeod Award (Spirit)

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 25, 1996UnknownUBCWin66-64  
Sat Oct 26, 1996Guelph, ONMcGillLoss67-89  
Sun Oct 27, 1996UnknownYorkLoss69-76  
Fri Nov 1, 1996Montreal, QCConcordiaLoss60-87 McGill Redbird Classic
Sat Nov 2, 1996Montreal, QCMcGillLoss54-71 McGill Redbird Classic
Sun Nov 3, 1996Montreal, QCCape BretonWin70-39 McGill Redbird Classic
Thu Nov 7, 1996UnknownRyersonLoss48-57  
Fri Nov 15, 1996St. Catharines, ONMcMasterLoss52-82 Sneak Preview Tournament
Sat Nov 16, 1996St. Catharines, ONWaterlooLoss54-57 Sneak Preview Tournament
Sat Dec 28, 1996Waterloo, ONTorontoLoss62-73 Waterloo Tournament
Sun Dec 29, 1996Waterloo, ONRyersonWin64-62 Waterloo Tournament
Mon Dec 30, 1996Waterloo, ONQueensLoss46-49 Waterloo Tournament
Thu Jan 2, 1997Halifax, NSSaint MarysWin78-71 Sparkling Springs Tournament
Fri Jan 3, 1997Halifax, NSLavalLoss59-62 Sparkling Springs Tournament
Sat Jan 4, 1997Halifax, NSStFXWin77-71 Sparkling Springs Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Nov 20, 1996Guelph, ONWaterlooWin49-42  
Wed Jan 15, 1997Guelph, ONMcMasterLoss57-76  
Sat Jan 18, 1997London, ONWesternLoss69-75  
Wed Jan 22, 1997Guelph, ONWilfrid LaurierWin70-58  
Sat Jan 25, 1997Hamilton, ONMcMasterWin62-53  
Wed Jan 29, 1997Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin58-50  
Sat Feb 1, 1997Guelph, ONBrockWin61-51  
Wed Feb 5, 1997Guelph, ONWesternLoss64-75  
Sat Feb 8, 1997Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierLoss44-54  
Wed Feb 12, 1997Windsor, ONWindsorLoss56-58  
Wed Feb 19, 1997St. Catharines, ONBrockWin71-66  
Sat Feb 22, 1997Guelph, ONWindsorWin73-53  
Fri Feb 28, 1997Guelph, ONLakeheadWin74-68  
Sat Mar 1, 1997Guelph, ONLakeheadLoss51-58  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 7, 1997Waterloo, ONTorontoLoss59-76 OWIAA Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 8, 1997Waterloo, ONLakeheadWin66-51 OWIAA Consolation Semifinal
Sun Mar 9, 1997Waterloo, ONMcMasterWin62-56 OWIAA Consolation Final


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com