Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Manitoba Bisons - 1996-97 Season

Head Coach:Coleen Dufresne (14th season)
Other staff: Laurie May (Assistant Coach), Carol Ploen-Hosegood (Assistant Coach), Mike Hickey (Assistant Coach), Liann Bailey (Athletic Therapist), Tracy Gordon (Athletic Therapist)
League:Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
11-40.7331207-102980.5 - 68.625-100.7142816-243580.5 - 69.625-100.7142816-243580.5 - 69.6

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Carla Bodnarus   
 Glenda Clark   
 Lorissa Crellin   
 Diana Dela Cruz   
 Megan Dixon   
 Terri-Lee Johannesson   
 Marjorie Kelly   
 Kyla Koskie Shore   
 Gabrielle Macra   
 Treena Moran   
 Victoria Neufeld   
 Laurie Ann Palmer   
 Anne Smith   
 Jana Taylor   

Awards presented

Terri-Lee Johannesson Great Plains First Team All-Star, CIS First Team All-Canadian, MVP of CIS Championship Tournament
Marjorie Kelly Great Plains First Team All-Star, CIS Second Team All-Canadian, CIS Championship Tournament All-Star Team
Victoria Neufeld R.W. Pugh Fair Play Award
Anne Smith Great Plains Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 25, 1996Thunder Bay, ONConcordiaWin64-61 Saxon Classic
Sat Oct 26, 1996Thunder Bay, ONLaurentianLoss63-71 Saxon Classic
Sun Oct 27, 1996Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadLoss46-52 Saxon Classic
Fri Nov 1, 1996Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanWin93-72 Panda Hoopfest
Sat Nov 2, 1996Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin80-75 Panda Hoopfest
Sun Nov 3, 1996Edmonton, ABReginaWin90-81 Panda Hoopfest
Fri Nov 8, 1996Winnipeg, MBWindsorWin99-51 Saxon Tournament
Sat Nov 9, 1996Winnipeg, MBVictoriaLoss45-51 Saxon Tournament
Sun Nov 10, 1996Winnipeg, MBAlbertaLoss67-70 Saxon Tournament
Sat Nov 23, 1996UnknownLakeheadWin92-61  
Sun Nov 24, 1996UnknownLakeheadWin91-80  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 29, 1996Regina, SKBrandonWin72-56 GPAC Tournament
Sat Nov 30, 1996Regina, SKReginaLoss62-71 GPAC Tournament
Sun Dec 1, 1996Regina, SKWinnipegLoss67-74 GPAC Tournament
Fri Jan 10, 1997Brandon, MBBrandonWin86-64  
Sat Jan 11, 1997Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin88-72  
Thu Jan 16, 1997Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin72-52  
Sun Jan 19, 1997Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin85-62  
Fri Jan 24, 1997Winnipeg, MBReginaWin102-81  
Sat Jan 25, 1997Winnipeg, MBReginaLoss77-82  
Sat Feb 8, 1997Brandon, MBBrandonWin79-57  
Sun Feb 9, 1997Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin84-71  
Thu Feb 13, 1997Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin87-61  
Sun Feb 16, 1997Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin91-73  
Fri Feb 21, 1997Regina, SKReginaWin82-79  
Sat Feb 22, 1997Regina, SKReginaLoss73-74  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Feb 27, 1997Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin95-73 Great Plains Semifinal (Best of 3)
Sat Mar 1, 1997Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss75-78 Great Plains Semifinal (Best of 3)
Sun Mar 2, 1997Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin88-65 Great Plains Semifinal (Best of 3)
Fri Mar 7, 1997Regina, SKReginaWin89-74 Great Plains Championship (Best of 3)
Sat Mar 8, 1997Regina, SKReginaLoss74-85 Great Plains Championship (Best of 3)
Sun Mar 9, 1997Regina, SKReginaWin92-89 Great Plains Championship (Best of 3)
Fri Mar 14, 1997Thunder Bay, ONStFXWin109-88 CIAU Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 15, 1997Thunder Bay, ONWesternWin84-67 CIAU Semifinal
Sun Mar 16, 1997Thunder Bay, ONYorkWin73-62 CIAU Championship


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com