Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Regina Cougars - 1996-97 Season

Head Coach:Christine Stapleton (4th season)
League:Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
12-30.8001162-101877.5 - 67.925-70.7812544-223979.5 - 70.026-70.7882613-228479.2 - 69.2

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Heather Dedman Guard5-91Regina, SK 
5Corrin Wersta Forward5-101Regina, SK 
6Medorann Harris Forward6-03Moose Jaw, SK 
7Becky Poley Forward6-01Regina, SK 
8Trena Mott Guard5-65Regina, SK 
9Krista Fowler Guard5-93Regina, SK 
10Andrea Gottselig Forward5-112Findlater, SKAlbert E. Peacock Collegiate
11Crystal Heisler Guard5-71Regina, SK 
12Jasmine Weseen Guard5-92Lake Lenore, SK 
13Amy Mickleborough Guard5-103Regina, SK 
14Cheryl Loeppky Forward6-24Calgary, AB 
15Janet Cook Forward5-103Regina, SK 
21Christa Howie Forward6-11Regina, SK 

Awards presented

Christine Stapleton Great Plains Coach of the Year, Peter Ennis Award (CIS Coach of the Year)
Andrea Gottselig Great Plains Second Team All-Star
Medorann Harris Great Plains First Team All-Star
Trena Mott Great Plains Player of the Year, Great Plains First Team All-Star, Regina Female Athlete of the Year, Regina President's Award, Regina Women's Basketball Team MVP, CIS First Team All-Canadian
Corrin Wersta Great Plains Rookie of the Year

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Oct 17, 1996UnknownBriercrest CollegeWin69-45  
Thu Oct 24, 1996UnknownSaskatchewanWin94-60  
Sat Oct 26, 1996UnknownSaskatchewanWin109-63  
Fri Nov 1, 1996Edmonton, ABCalgaryWin88-73 Panda Hoopfest
Sat Nov 2, 1996Edmonton, ABLethbridgeWin90-68 Panda Hoopfest
Sun Nov 3, 1996Edmonton, ABManitobaLoss81-90 Panda Hoopfest
Fri Nov 8, 1996Winnipeg, MBUBCWin78-68 Saxon Tournament
Sat Nov 9, 1996Winnipeg, MBAlbertaWin79-71 Saxon Tournament
Sun Nov 10, 1996Winnipeg, MBVictoriaWin83-71 Saxon Tournament
Fri Nov 15, 1996UnknownLakeheadWin64-54  
Sat Nov 16, 1996UnknownLakeheadLoss60-67  
Fri Dec 27, 1996Regina, SKCalgaryWin84-79 Queen City Classic
Sat Dec 28, 1996Regina, SKAlbertaWin87-77 Queen City Classic
Sun Dec 29, 1996Regina, SKLethbridgeWin67-64 Queen City Classic
Thu Jan 2, 1997Winnipeg, MBDalhousieWin70-61  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 29, 1996Regina, SKWinnipegWin85-71 GPAC Tournament
Sat Nov 30, 1996Regina, SKManitobaWin71-62 GPAC Tournament
Sun Dec 1, 1996Regina, SKBrandonWin90-46 GPAC Tournament
Fri Jan 10, 1997Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin86-65  
Sat Jan 11, 1997Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss74-86OT 
Fri Jan 17, 1997Regina, SKBrandonWin55-34  
Sat Jan 18, 1997Regina, SKBrandonWin58-54OT 
Fri Jan 24, 1997Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss81-102  
Sat Jan 25, 1997Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin82-77  
Fri Feb 7, 1997Regina, SKWinnipegWin77-70  
Sat Feb 8, 1997Regina, SKWinnipegWin74-67  
Fri Feb 14, 1997Brandon, MBBrandonWin87-72  
Sat Feb 15, 1997Brandon, MBBrandonWin89-57  
Fri Feb 21, 1997Regina, SKManitobaLoss79-82  
Sat Feb 22, 1997Regina, SKManitobaWin74-73  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 7, 1997Regina, SKManitobaLoss74-89 Great Plains Championship (Best of 3)
Sat Mar 8, 1997Regina, SKManitobaWin85-74 Great Plains Championship (Best of 3)
Sun Mar 9, 1997Regina, SKManitobaLoss89-92 Great Plains Championship (Best of 3)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Trena Mott1500.019-6230.6120-25746.784-13164.129-45744.937625534634322.9
Corrin Wersta1500.00-00.068-11161.341-7455.427-33604.040133732717711.8
Medorann Harris1500.00-10.066-13250.043-7557.353-541077.139845102117511.7
Andrea Gottselig1500.011-4425.067-17338.716-3053.337-801177.8543849184216110.7
Amy Mickleborough900.04-1625.033-8240.214-1973.716-20364.021253636849.3
Becky Poley300.01-250.011-2642.35-771.45-15206.775632289.3
Crystal Heisler1500.010-2441.739-9341.918-2572.015-45604.02347323391067.1
Krista Fowler1500.01-166.214-5226.94-4100.04-6100.71061309332.2
Heather Dedman1400.04-850.010-2638.52-450.02-25271.91182525261.9
Christa Howie1100.00-00.04-1233.36-966.74-150.530502141.3
Cheryl Loeppky1300.00-00.04-757.16-6100.03-9120.9151200141.1
Janet Cook100.00-00.00-00.01-1100.01-011.00111011.0
* Team Totals1500.050-17328.9436-97144.9240-38562.3196-33352935.326021430646199116277.5


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com