Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Prince Edward Island Panthers - 1996-97 Season

Head Coach:Tracy MacEachern Ellsworth (4th season)
League:AUAA

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
10-100.5001415-136770.8 - 68.315-150.5002074-200869.1 - 66.915-150.5002074-200869.1 - 66.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
1Marie-Claude Couture   
2Shannon Walsh   
3Trisha Atkinson   
4Jennifer Johnston   
5Norma Palmer   
6Krista Connolly   
7Chelsea Martin   
8Tammy Muirhead   
9Kara Saunders   
10Eireann Rigby   
11Lyndsay Macrae   
12Tara Nogler   
13Krista Foreman   

Awards presented

Tracy MacEachern Ellsworth AUS Coach of the Year
Jennifer Johnston AUS Second Team All-Star
Eireann Rigby AUS First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 25, 1996Fredericton, NBLavalWin74-70 New Brunswick Fall Classic
Sat Oct 26, 1996Fredericton, NBUNBLoss63-78 New Brunswick Fall Classic
Sun Oct 27, 1996Fredericton, NBBishopsWin87-63 New Brunswick Fall Classic
Fri Nov 8, 1996Halifax, NSLaurentianLoss56-69 Subway Centennial Tournament
Sat Nov 9, 1996Halifax, NSCarletonWin80-35 Subway Centennial Tournament
Sun Nov 10, 1996Halifax, NSAcadiaLoss50-60 Subway Centennial Tournament
Thu Jan 2, 1997Halifax, NSLavalLoss63-81 Sparkling Springs Tournament
Fri Jan 3, 1997Halifax, NSSaint MarysWin62-59 Sparkling Springs Tournament
Sat Jan 4, 1997Halifax, NSUNBWin67-66 Sparkling Springs Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Nov 16, 1996Wolfville, NSAcadiaLoss55-59  
Sun Nov 17, 1996Halifax, NSDalhousieLoss70-92  
Sat Nov 23, 1996Charlottetown, PEMemorialLoss67-75  
Sun Nov 24, 1996Charlottetown, PEMemorialLoss70-73  
Sat Nov 30, 1996Charlottetown, PEUNBWin98-902OT 
Sun Dec 1, 1996Charlottetown, PEUNBWin66-62  
Sat Jan 11, 1997Charlottetown, PEDalhousieWin63-62OT 
Sun Jan 12, 1997Charlottetown, PEAcadiaLoss60-61  
Sat Jan 18, 1997Sydney, NSCape BretonLoss62-71  
Sun Jan 19, 1997Sydney, NSCape BretonWin78-52  
Sat Jan 25, 1997Charlottetown, PECape BretonWin77-48  
Sun Jan 26, 1997Charlottetown, PECape BretonWin80-59  
Sat Feb 1, 1997St. John's, NFMemorialWin72-58  
Sun Feb 2, 1997St. John's, NFMemorialWin62-59  
Sat Feb 8, 1997Halifax, NSSaint MarysWin76-66  
Sun Feb 9, 1997Antigonish, NSStFXWin82-81  
Sat Feb 15, 1997Charlottetown, PEStFXLoss74-77  
Sat Feb 22, 1997Charlottetown, PESaint MarysLoss72-73OT 
Sat Mar 1, 1997Fredericton, NBUNBLoss59-74  
Sun Mar 2, 1997Fredericton, NBUNBLoss72-75  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 7, 1997Fredericton, NBUNBLoss57-60 AUAA Quarterfinal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Jennifer Johnston20  32-8239.0133-27248.988-12172.731-721035.2684874 6638619.3
Eireann Rigby20  14-5625.0141-35040.356-9757.732-61934.7563474 3035217.6
Marie-Claude Couture18  14-5028.077-18142.527-4856.217-48653.6456765 3619510.8
Krista Connolly20  7-1546.768-15743.319-3652.845-721175.8471728 131628.1
Krista Foreman6    16-3053.36-785.712-26386.38610 6386.3
Kara Saunders20  1-425.046-11938.725-4555.642-53954.8451830 81185.9
Shannon Walsh4  4-944.46-2030.06-875.01-782.08613 5225.5
Lyndsay Macrae20    37-8643.08-2927.639-36753.856933 10824.1
Trisha Atkinson20  2-633.315-6025.03-1225.015-30452.2383333 9351.8
Chelsea Martin20    5-955.6  4-480.48110  100.5
Tammy Muirhead20    3-742.93-650.03-580.48 1 390.5
Tara Nogler11  0-10.01-616.72-633.30-110.13 1  40.4
Norma Palmer20    1-1100.0  4-370.32 5 220.1
* Team Totals20  74-22333.2549-129842.3243-41558.6245-41866333.1392239377 188141570.8


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com