Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Women's site

Bishop's Gaiters - 1997-98 Season

Head Coach:Eddie Pomykala (14th season)
Other staff: Chris Forsythe (Assistant Coach), Jeff Harris (Assistant Coach), Tom Sutton (Manager), Stephen King (Athletic Therapist)
League:QSSF

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
18-20.9001623-124781.2 - 62.430-50.8572790-222879.7 - 63.730-60.8332857-230179.4 - 63.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
3Joel Sherbino Guard/Forward6-62003Woodbridge, ONAurora High
4Ryan Thorne Guard5-101754Pierrefonds, QCJohn Abbott College
12Jamie Woods Guard6-21854Elgin, QCDawson College
20Shawn Craik Guard6-21701Moncton, NBHarrison Trimble High
21Sam Menard Guard5-91782Orleans, ONColonel By Secondary
22Greg Southward Guard6-01805Ottawa, ONRidgemont High
23Markus Rodousakis Forward6-41802Potomac, MDThe Heights School
24Stewart Clark Forward6-52105Masonville, QCLisgar Collegiate
30Remi Aucoin Guard6-11652Sherbrooke, QCCegep de Sherbrooke
32Patrice Lemieux Guard/Forward6-31853Sherbrooke, QCCegep de Sherbrooke
33Rob Burns Centre6-82204Guelph, ONJohn F. Ross Collegiate
34Dwayne Ells Forward6-32051Lutes Mountain, NBHarrison Trimble High
40Kris Ruiter Forward6-52004Hudson Heights, QCJohn Abbott College
42Sam Rogers Centre6-52103Nepean, ONJ.S. Woodsworth Secondary
44Brian Woods Forward6-62001Howick, QCDawson College
50Andrew Carter Centre6-102602Toronto, ONTrinity College School

Awards presented

Eddie Pomykala RSEQ Coach of the Year, Stuart W. Aberdeen Memorial Trophy (CIS Coach of the Year)
Rob Burns RSEQ First Team All-Star
Stewart Clark RSEQ Second Team All-Star, MVP of CIAU Championship / Jack Donohue Trophy, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Patrice Lemieux RSEQ Second Team All-Star, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Ryan Thorne RSEQ First Team All-Star, CIS Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 17, 1997Montreal, QCMcGillWin83-55 Edouard Montpetit College Tournament
Fri Oct 24, 1997St. Catharines, ONBrockWin68-66  
Sat Oct 25, 1997Guelph, ONGuelphLoss68-69  
Sun Oct 26, 1997Hamilton, ONMcMasterWin95-78  
Sun Nov 2, 1997Colchester, VTSt. Michael's VTLoss67-73  
Fri Nov 7, 1997Fredericton, NBAcadiaWin70-64 Eric Garland Tournament
Sat Nov 8, 1997Fredericton, NBSaint MarysLoss64-81 Eric Garland Tournament
Sun Nov 9, 1997Fredericton, NBCarletonWin94-51 Eric Garland Tournament
Fri Jan 2, 1998Wolfville, NSUNBWin88-79 Stu Aberdeen Tournament
Sat Jan 3, 1998Wolfville, NSAcadiaWin75-57 Stu Aberdeen Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 14, 1997Lennoxville, QCLaurentianWin90-63  
Sat Nov 15, 1997Lennoxville, QCYorkWin95-61  
Fri Nov 21, 1997Lennoxville, QCQueensWin84-45  
Sat Nov 22, 1997Lennoxville, QCLavalWin89-42  
Fri Nov 28, 1997Toronto, ONTorontoWin73-54  
Sat Nov 29, 1997Toronto, ONRyersonWin75-71  
Fri Jan 16, 1998Lennoxville, QCCarletonWin73-44  
Sat Jan 17, 1998Lennoxville, QCOttawaWin78-60  
Fri Jan 23, 1998Lennoxville, QCMcGillWin84-49  
Sat Jan 24, 1998Lennoxville, QCConcordiaWin95-63  
Fri Jan 30, 1998Toronto, ONYorkWin75-62  
Sat Jan 31, 1998Sudbury, ONLaurentianLoss71-94  
Fri Feb 6, 1998Kingston, ONQueensWin78-74  
Sun Feb 8, 1998Montreal, QCConcordiaLoss63-81  
Fri Feb 13, 1998Lennoxville, QCRyersonWin98-55  
Sat Feb 14, 1998Lennoxville, QCTorontoWin82-75OT 
Tue Feb 17, 1998Quebec City, QCLavalWin84-65  
Fri Feb 20, 1998Ottawa, ONOttawaWin79-72  
Sat Feb 21, 1998Ottawa, ONCarletonWin76-67  
Fri Feb 27, 1998Montreal, QCMcGillWin81-50  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sun Mar 8, 1998Lennoxville, QCLavalWin81-56 QSSF Final (best of 3)
Tue Mar 10, 1998Quebec City, QCLavalLoss64-65 QSSF Final (best of 3)
Fri Mar 13, 1998Lennoxville, QCLavalWin90-46 QSSF Final (best of 3)
Fri Mar 20, 1998Halifax, NSAlbertaWin75-67 CIAU Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 21, 1998Halifax, NSVictoriaWin78-76StatsCIAU Semifinal
Sun Mar 22, 1998Halifax, NSMcMasterWin74-71StatsCIAU Championship

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Patrice Lemieux29 on Mar 21, 1998 vs Victoria  


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com