Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Windsor Lancers - 1997-98 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Mike Havey (7th season)
Other staff: Wayne Curtin (Assistant Coach), Tim Elcombe (Assistant Coach), Vince Landry (Assistant Coach), Shawn Whitney (Associate Coach)
League:OUA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
5-90.3571092-114378.0 - 81.66-120.3331400-147677.8 - 82.011-210.3442429-259875.9 - 81.2

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
10Sefu Bernard Guard5-101773Toronto, ONRunnymede Collegiate
12Ajamu Bernard Guard6-01654Toronto, ONRunnymede Collegiate (Georgia State)
14Kwame Boamah Guard6-01702Toronto, ONNorth Albion Collegiate
20Matt McMillan Guard6-31905Windsor, ONF.J. Brennan High
22Cameron Nekkers Guard6-0158 Oshawa, ONO'Neill Collegiate (Coppin State)
24Jey-son Edwards Guard6-21751Toronto, ON 
30Edward Moore Guard6-41561Windsor, ON 
32Michael Baggio Forward6-21801Tecumseh, ONSt. Anne High
34Robert Duffey Guard6-11801Brantford, ONPauline Johnson Collegiate
40John Veljanovski Forward6-32051Tecumseh, ONSt. Anne High
42Mark Baggio Forward6-42205Windsor, ON 
44Stephen Stead Forward6-31761Delhi, ONDelhi District Secondary
50Nathane Jackson Forward6-31981Fonthill, ON 
52Chet Wydrzynski Forward6-72203Windsor, ONAssumption College High
54Geoff Stead Forward6-71953Delhi, ONDelhi District Secondary
55Victor Sobieraj Forward6-52162Windsor, ONCatholic Central High

Awards presented

Geoff Stead OUA West First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Oct 18, 1997London, ONWesternLoss61-80  
Sat Oct 25, 1997Windsor, ONWindsor AlumniWin81-73  
Sat Nov 1, 1997UnknownWayne StateLoss63-91  
Wed Nov 5, 1997Windsor, ONLethbridgeLoss83-93  
Thu Nov 6, 1997Edmonton, ABWinnipegLoss76-80 Golden Bear Invitational
Fri Nov 7, 1997Edmonton, ABSaskatchewanWin88-80 Golden Bear Invitational
Sat Nov 8, 1997Edmonton, ABNorthern MontanaLoss61-81 Golden Bear Invitational
Fri Nov 14, 1997Windsor, ONWilberforceLoss88-99 Can-Am Invitational
Sat Nov 15, 1997Windsor, ONUrbana OHWin96-70 Can-Am Invitational
Tue Nov 18, 1997UnknownSiena HeightsLoss54-88  
Fri Nov 21, 1997UnknownAquinas CollegeLoss81-84  
Sat Nov 22, 1997UnknownAquinas CollegeLoss51-84  
Fri Nov 28, 1997UnknownHumber CollegeWin63-43  
Sat Nov 29, 1997UnknownBluefield College VALoss97-106  
Sun Nov 30, 1997UnknownSeneca CollegeWin69-66  
Sat Dec 20, 1997UnknownMalone College OHWin93-87  
Sun Dec 28, 1997UnknownSiena HeightsLoss68-71  
Sat Jan 3, 1998UnknownMt. Vernon NazareneLoss64-79  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Jan 10, 1998St. Catharines, ONBrockLoss65-67  
Wed Jan 14, 1998Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss65-99Stats 
Sat Jan 17, 1998Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss98-99  
Sat Jan 24, 1998London, ONWesternLoss79-81  
Wed Jan 28, 1998Windsor, ONWilfrid LaurierWin83-64  
Sat Jan 31, 1998Windsor, ONWaterlooLoss78-81OT, Stats 
Sat Feb 7, 1998Windsor, ONLakeheadLoss73-88  
Sun Feb 8, 1998Windsor, ONLakeheadLoss65-89  
Wed Feb 11, 1998Windsor, ONGuelphWin91-84OT 
Sat Feb 14, 1998Windsor, ONBrockWin71-66  
Wed Feb 18, 1998Windsor, ONMcMasterLoss75-86  
Sat Feb 21, 1998Guelph, ONGuelphWin78-73OT 
Wed Feb 25, 1998Windsor, ONWesternLoss78-81  
Sat Feb 28, 1998Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin93-85  

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Matt McMillan1445232.38-3026.798-21246.254-7275.012-20322.335314161525818.4
Cameron Nekkers1440328.826-7733.842-13231.860-8174.111-38493.546375442117012.1
Geoff Stead1443230.90-30.057-12944.245-6866.264-13920314.5414652132115911.4
Chet Wydrzynski1428720.52-1020.059-13244.731-4568.922-42644.633192614815110.8
Mark Baggio1430221.66-1637.544-8750.68-2138.135-36715.12616171131027.3
Sefu Bernard1437326.68-1942.129-6842.617-2665.48-24322.3362933 17835.9
Edward Moore1427319.51-119.124-7332.924-2982.88-21292.1252034214735.2
Kwame Boamah1214412.05-1533.314-3540.04-850.09-13221.822816111373.1
Stephen Stead5153.01-333.35-771.4  2-461.2  2 1112.2
Nathane Jackson1415711.2  11-3531.47-887.514-9231.624219 3292.1
Victor Sobieraj144.0  1-1100.00-30.00-333.011   22.0
John Veljanovski8405.00-20.02-922.27-887.53-7101.2533 2111.4
Robert Duffey242.00-10.01-250.00-20.01-010.5     21.0
Michael Baggio4123.00-10.01-520.01-250.0   1 11130.8
Jey-son Edwards144.00-10.00-10.00-20.01-011.0     00.0
* Team Totals142902207.357-18930.2388-92841.8258-37568.8190-35654639.029521229842127109177.9


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com